We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this where they film most of the first 48 episodes?”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #106 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is this where they film most of the first 48 episodes?”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Cheap and located right off the highway. Also includes the most obxious guests and guests of guests that Memphis has to offer. Rooms are barely furnished, it looks as though they've pawned the soap dishes, blankets and trash cans for
extra cash. I'm writing this review from my bed, where I've been sleepless for the past 3 hours, because of the constant yelling outside, cars pulling up (I'm sure they're just here saying a quick hi to friends) and car alarms (not mine yet, fingers crossed!) So all in all.... Spend the extra $20 at any of the other well run hotels you pass by right before reaching this sesspool.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whitney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    3
    21
See reviews for
10
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sachse, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure what that one reviewer was talking about. The rooms were very clean and small but decent. It did smell a tiny bit like smoke but so little that I didn't even really notice it only my husband did. And the parking lot was very quiet and very well lit and overall an excellent deal for the money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stopped over at the Motel 6, Memphis on a West to East coast return drive due to it's convenient location and competitive pricing. It sits on the highway out of Memphis on the East side. It is absolutely comfortable and clean with hot water for a good shower. There are good food outlets too nearby. Surrounding locality is really good and can recommend for a family stay too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Unfortunately, didn't read reviews, was tired, and wanted a cheap room. Got it! A/C just barely worked on Medium Fan and noise was horrible. Not one waste basket in room and when wife went to office to get one, they didn't have one and gave her a little plastic bag. Half a roll of toilet paper was all there was. Non-smoking room that smelled of smoke and the one humorous incident of our stay was the ashtray in the room. Since it was a non-smoking room, it had an ashtray turned upside down on the nightstand, with a No Smoking sticker on it. Outside the room there were cigarette and cigar butts all over...and a chicken bone!! Hadn't stayed in a Motel 6 in over 20 years and felt they had to have improved as they weren't too bad 20 years ago. Wrong!! The lights by the bed were a safety hazard as the bulb on one side didn't work and the other was missing! To be fair and balanced, it was a handicapped room and a person could get to the sink w/a wheelchair as well as being able to get into the shower area which had a handicapped bench to use. You also didn't "stick" to the floor in the room. But, don't stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixieyankdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This motel is horrible do not stay here. The rooms are supposed to be non smoking they smelled like smoke there were cigrette burn holes in the covers on the bed. The tile in the bathroom had holes in it. It was noisy, Clerk at the front desk was very nice. We did not stay we got are money back and left. We could not get away from there fast enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likestobake50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had booked a non-smoking room. When we checked in the room reeked of smoke! This was the coldest night on record for May in Memphis and the heat was turned off!!
The bathroom was filthy. I could not wait to get out of there in the morning. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm so sorry I didn't read the reviews before staying here. First off, we had to wash the bathroom floor, cause we kept sticking to it. We also had to wash the outside of the toilet...fortunately we had vinyl gloves along. Then when I pulled down the bedcovers to climb into bed...I discovered what looked like a scab...and then a dirty sock. We immediately went to the front desk to complain. The poor clerk was so apologetic..and gave us another room. I was so glad to be able to leave at first light this morning. I couldn't get rid of the creepy crawly feelings all night. Shame on you cleaning staff....this isn't fair to travelers!

Room Tip: A very old hotel....in rough shape...but the filth was unimaginable. I wish I had thought to take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMary63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
#62 of 136 in Memphis
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#66 of 136 in Memphis
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Memphis Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#72 of 136 in Memphis
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Memphis - I40 and Sycamore View
0.4 mi away
Gardentree Hotels
Gardentree Hotels
#67 of 136 in Memphis
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1321 Sycamore View Rd, Memphis, TN 38134-7646 (Formerly Motel 6 Memphis East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Memphis
Motel 6 Memphis
Memphis Motel 6
Memphis Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing