We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Wonderful Service”
Review of Char Restaurant

Char Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 6/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #66 of 1,690 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Description: Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday. Private dining and catering are available for groups.
Restaurant details
Description: Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday. Private dining and catering are available for groups.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Staff was friendly. Our waiter was (Matt or Max). He was funny and attentive. The food was outstanding. I got a filet and it was so tasty and tender. Every single bite was equally good. There was no gristle or fat to pick through. The creamed spinach was wonderful. My companion got salmon and said it was seasoned to perfection. The manager came over 2 or 3 times to check that our food was to our satisfaction. I will definitely go back.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juanita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Hi Juanita,

Thank you for your recent visit to Char! We're delighted to hear that you and your guest enjoyed such a memorable meal with us. It sounds like you made excellent menu choices-- the Pan-Seared Atlantic Salmon is one of our most popular entrees! Thanks again for the review; we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Allison Williams
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Make a reservation because this restaurant draws a crowd. We had a fantastic lunch.
I had the Sorte which was delicious with just enough spice. My father had shrimp and grits that he said was the best He ever had. Everyone’s meals were delicious.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Dreynolds261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for the recommendation! It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Char. It sounds like a lovely lunch was had-- the shrimp & grits is one of our most popular dishes! Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback; we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Allison Williams
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

I had always thought of Char as a steakhouse. But, it’s much more. The seafood selections were excellent and the gelato and sorbet were a nice finish

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank diver520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for the review! It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed such a memorable evening at Char. Our gelato and sorbet selections are sourced locally through our partnership with Sweet Magnolia Gelato Co., and the featured flavors are always worth checking out! Thanks again for your feedback; we hope to see you back again soon!

Allison Williams
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

We had a celebration and every plate from appetizer to dessert was unreal...portions are generous but every bite is amazing.....Redfish....fried green tomatoes...chocolate pecan pie were huge winners but many others came close. We've lived and dined in Memphis for 30 years...this tops them all.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank jwarren122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words! Our goal is to provide an outstanding dining experience to each and every guest, so it's wonderful to know that yours was no exception. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again for another slice of pecan pie in the near future!

Allison Williams
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Reservation for four. We started with the chili fried oyster and fried green tomato appetizers which were delicious. We split a caesar salad which was very good. Husband ordered the filet and substituted potatoes for creamed spinach, He thought all was good but creamed spinach wasn't great. I ordered the 16oz redeye and creamed spinach and was less than satisfied. The steak was very fatty and tough. spinach was mushy and tasted like it was from a frozen package. Our Daughter order cornbread dusted redfish and her partner ordered salmon and they thought all was good. I found the chardonnay selection very limited.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RuthS319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Top_Hospitality, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Hi Ruth, thank you for your recent visit to Char. I am sorry to learn that some of your selections fell short and regret for how this affected your overall experience with us. Please know that we will happily replace or take care of anything you are not fully satisfied with. I have shared your feedback regarding the ribeye and creamed spinach with our culinary team for review; we are always open to hearing from our guests! If there is ever anything we can do to make your meal perfect, please let us know so we can make it right. Our goal is for each and every guest to leave with a memorable experience. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will return soon for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch.

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Char Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing