We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT USE THEM”
Review of Blues City Tours

Blues City Tours
Ranked #21 of 30 Tours in Memphis
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blues City Tours is a locally owned business. We have been in business for 25 years and received several awards such as, 2012 Quality Excellence Award from Mid South Minority Council and 2010 Memphis City Schools Outstanding Service Award.We pick up at most hotels in Memphis, West Memphis and Tunica area. We offer VIP tours, sightseeing tours, shuttle service and corporate transportation.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I, like others, wish I would have read the reviews before signing up with this company. I can see today that their website was inactivated for lack of payment, so maybe they are going bankrupt, which would not be surprising in the least.

A few things that turned us off:
1) they were extremely disorganized and that is putting it nicely
2) they were late to leave for the tour and late to pick us up --a 90 minute tour took almost 4 hours because we were waiting for them to leave and waiting for them to pick us up.
3) the buses were uncomfortable & small (could barely fit in the seats and I am 5 feet tall- 125 lbs.)
4) the buses were not in good working condition (it broke down in the middle of the interstate).
5) they are not consistent in what they charge-- for example, to see only the mansion at Graceland was $30 (which is the same as what they charge at Graceland)- so basically their transportation is "free"-- although I still would NOT recommend. But if you "upgrade" to a platinum tour with Blue's City, they charge you $44 and at Graceland it cost $34) so it costs $10 more for their tour, which is silly b/c we could have just bought the mansion tour from them (no transport fees) and then upgraded for $4 for the platinum tour. When asked why they were inconsistent, they could not provide an answer.

Normally I would not mind paying for transport, but I do not understand why it costs nothing for the mansion tour and $10 for the platinum when you will take the same bus & and are at graceland for the same amount of time either way.

Please please please do not waste your time with this company. We took a bus tour on backbeat which was fantastic! I recommend that one.

2  Thank AJS180581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6109, Manager at Blues City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2010

Blues city tours have been in busines fo 22 yrs. our web site is up and running some time site do go down , right now we don't have that problem.Our bus didn't break down on the highway,
However when you on an organize tour bus , boat, plane ,train or horse buggy , it is impossible to prevent all and any problem. This seen to have been a lots about how much profit this company make or don't make.
If you have a problem with our company tell us so we can fix it .Tell us we aim to please.
give us a chance. We're in good standing with the local BBB .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"included lunch"
in 2 reviews
"great driver"
in 2 reviews
"great overview"
in 2 reviews
"peabody ducks"
in 6 reviews
"visitor center"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 7 reviews
"peabody hotel"
in 6 reviews
"sun records"
in 3 reviews
"lorraine hotel"
in 2 reviews
"the national civil rights museum"
in 2 reviews
"jude"
in 5 reviews
"exploration"
in 2 reviews
"itinerary"
in 2 reviews
"facts"
in 3 reviews
"tennessee"
in 2 reviews
Filter

258 - 262 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

Previous comments sum it up. Disorganized, slow, late in pickup, confused, and we had to change busses 3 times on a 3 hour tour..

Avoid at all costs. They are awful.

2  Thank ripkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6109, Manager at Blues City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2010

Blues city tours offer free pick up service at most hotels in the Memphis area,that mean when you get back to main terminal you get on the bus with the tour you pick, at the end,
Of your tour you go back with the bus that is going to your area. I think that is where some people get confuse. They don't have to use the pck up service , you can drive to terminal for the start of the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This company is totally disorganized and chaotic. The buses do not have a working sound system and the tour guide had to yell the whole time. Could hardly understand the tour guide. At the end of the tour, it took us an hour to get back from Graceland to the ticket office. Worst tour I've ever been on!

2  Thank Palehose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6109, Manager at Blues City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2010

Some tour guides have deep voices and rather use there on voice then the microphone,
If the driver used the mircophone then must adjust it so that the people in the back can here.
On some tours the driver must tell the guest not to talk while he or she is giving information about different point of interest. Yes , Graceland is about 20 mins drive from downtown.
If you park your car at our terminal , then you may not be the frist off bus at the end of your tour.
we would like to know about any problem that you might have before you leave the city , that we can try and do something for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

you don't see anything that you couldn't see on your own,why would anyone want to see st.judes children hospital and shop at their gift shop on a tour,or go to a information tourist building outside mud islands entrance way,the airconditioners didn't work the buses had no bathrooms,no tinted windows,crappy sound system and they were reading every thing from a sheet of paper!!! Their are better tour companys in MEMPHIS

4  Thank timandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2009

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blues City Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing