We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late arrival”
Review of Blues City Tours

Blues City Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
City of Memphis Tour
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Memphis Hop On and Hop Off Tour
Ranked #17 of 30 Tours in Memphis
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blues City Tours is a locally owned business. We have been in business for 25 years and received several awards such as, 2012 Quality Excellence Award from Mid South Minority Council and 2010 Memphis City Schools Outstanding Service Award.We pick up at most hotels in Memphis, West Memphis and Tunica area. We offer VIP tours, sightseeing tours, shuttle service and corporate transportation.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The bus was 15 minutes late to our hotel. Then at the depot, they decided that they needed a larger bus. So the driver got under the hood of the bigger bus (to connect the battery cables??). So that wasted another 15 minutes.
So 30 minutes of our trip to Graceland was gone. Still got to see most of everything. Didn't allow time for my wife to souvenir shop (so I guess that's a good thing!).
Bus left very promptly. (My wife thinks some ppl may have been left behind.)
Driver kindly dropped us off at Sun Sudio on our return.
Disappointed overall w/ the tardiness.

Thank jjp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6109, General Manager at Blues City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Good Morning, My response here is ,sometime picking up at different hotels, some quest are not ready when drivers get there then you get behind with time, when he got a bigger bus , now that he have more people, we always do inspection on bus before he can drive any bus that is the law. That is the reason for him going under the hood. We are glad that you got to see everything. If more time was needed at Graceland ,we would have giving you an option time for departure. Thank you Melvin ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Blues City Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

we used blues city tours for all our tours while we stayed in memphis and they were very reasonably priced and reliable give or take 10 minutes for pick-up times at your hotel! very friendly and informative drivers who will share all their local knowledge while you are being dropped at your tour location.

Thank maroDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We used Blues City Tours on July 24, 2010. We had a very nice day on our tour. We had not read up on Blues City Tours prior to our arrival in the Memphis area. We found them in one of the pamplets available in our hotel lobby. We had planned to tour on our own but it was extremely hot and we thought it might just be easier to have someone else drive us around. Our hotel was outside of Memphis proper but they still picked us up along with several other people in outlying hotels. We signed up for the Memphis/Graceland combo tour. The hotel bus took us to their depot where we immediately changed to a bus heading out on the city portion of the tour. We toured around the city with a very nice driver who was informative and willing to share his knowledge of the city. The bus then took us back to Beale Street for a lunch included in the tour price. No problem with the lunch. We had time to eat leisurely and even some time to visit more of Beale Street. We were then picked up by another bus to take us to Graceland. A tour representative met us at Graceland and gave us our tickets for all portions of the Graceland activities. We were advised that we would be picked up at 5:30 and be delivered directly to our hotel. We had plenty of time to see Graceland and they picked us up right on time and delivered us to our hotel. I did not hear any complaints from the people we had been with on the buses. At each stop the driver knew who should be on his shuttle and made sure everyone was accounted for. I have no complaints about the tour itself or the service.

Thank Toots123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This tour was fine. After reading old reviews, I was somewhat concerned so maybe my expectations were low. Here's a breakdown of our day. We took the Memphis/Graceland combo tour from Tunica on a Saturday in June. Blues City bus picked us up in front of the Harrah's Casino Tower promptly at 9am. The bus then picked up people at the other Harrah's towers. It then took us to the company's Tunica office (in an outlet center a couple miles away) to buy tickets for the various tours. We got back on the same bus and were driven to the main Blue City Tours office in downtown Memphis. More buses were there that brought people from other hotels I guess. At that point, people got on and off buses and onto the appropriate bus for the tour they were taking. The buses left this office by 10:45. Our bus happened to do the Memphis city tour before Graceland. (I wish it would have gone to Graceland in the morning. I did find out afterward that there was a bus which did so they must alternate.) We made stops to see the ducks at the Peabody hotel, the St. Jude Hospital and a visitor's center with statues of Elvis and BB King. We were given about 20-30 mins per stop. The bus drove by several other Memphis landmarks and the driver told us about them. These included Sun Studios and the Lorraine Hotel. I really wish it would have stopped at Sun, the civil rights museum or the Lorraine hotel but it did not. If you want to get a picture of Sun or the Lorraine sit on the side of the bus behind the driver. I was on the other side so couldn't get a good shot. We were then dropped off at Beale Street for lunch and some exploration time (90min-2hrs). Lunch was included in the tour. It was a nice BBQ with 2 sides and a drink at Pork with Attitude. The bus picked us up on Beale St. at 2pm to go to Graceland. We got there around 2:30 and had to wait in line to get shuttled to the mansion. By the time we got done with the mansion and back to the other side we only had about 1 hour to explore the rest of Graceland...not nearly enough time. We had platinum tickets but didn't get to see a few of the exhibits included. The bus picked us up at 5-5:30 and drove us back to the Blues City Memphis office. We picked up a couple more people and then we were driven back to Tunica. Arrived back at the Tunica hotel by 6:30pm. The tour guides had knowledge of the areas and were friendly. They seemed to care that everyone had a nice time. The buses we were on had working air conditioning and were clean. Although, some aspects of the tour weren't ideal (I would have liked more time at Graceland) I still think it is a great way to see some Memphis sites if staying in Tunica. Some areas of Memphis and around Graceland are not ideal for visitors to drive/explore on their own.

9  Thank DearJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My wife and I booked this 2:00pm city tour on June 2, 2010. It was a terrible disappointment. The hotel pick-up bus to the the terminal had no AC and it was 90 degrees outside. The first 20 minutes of the tour, which included a riverboat drop off for some on the bus, was without any commentary. The driver/tour guide later read from 3X5 cards and was a poor speaker who had very little, if any, knowledge of Memphis. He also answered personal calls on his cell and never used his turn signals. There were constant, loud interuptions by the terminal dispatcher. The vehicle was out of fuel so he dropped us at the Graceland gift shop for 20 minutes while he fueled the vehicle. Finally, he dropped us on Beale Street and instructed us to be back at the bus by 4:50 pm for the short ride to the Peabody Hotel for the 5:00pm 'duck march'. We returned to the point of drop-off at 4:48pm and he had left. We walked to the Peabody, located him and asked him why he left us there. He had no answer, so we walked back to our hotel.

1  Thank Chuck18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6109, Manager at Blues City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2010

Sorry about your displeasure we do have some new tour guides, we do train them but we know sometime we have to retrain, there is lots of construction going on memphis roads and Highways. Some travel get off bus and we can't find them. Then we must leave.
In the summer it is very hot in Memphis,tour buses doors open many times on the tours ,
Which allow all cool air to go out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blues City Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing