We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #4 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Elegant, beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and I spent Labor Day weekend at the Peabody. I have wanted to stay here for years and there was a very good rate available for the dates we would traveling through Memphis. We arrived around 1:00 and were not surprised to find our reserved room was not ready. The very pleasant lady at the desk offered us an upgrade if that was alright. We were happy to say yes. We can't compare our upgraded room to any others as we had never stayed here before, but the King suite was fantastic!!! A very open room with a couch, chair and coffee table as well as a desk and suit butler. The dresser served as the tv stand and the tv was very large. The bed was the most comfortable bed we slept in our entire 9 day trip. The bathroom was very large and had everything you could need. Lovely toiletries and large fluffy towels. There was a small tv if you enjoy such a thing. We had very friendly bellmen both to help us with check=in and check-out. We were on the 12th floor which is a club floor. The breakfast and afternoon snacks were the nicest we have ever had on a club level. The afternoon cheeses and fruit were very high quality and a what a selection. We especially enjoyed the large shrimp and chicken empanadas on Sunday. The complimentary wine was a very appreciated touch. The lobby bar is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy each others company. This is such a stately hotel, you need to come just to look at the lobby and bar.
Lanskys is a nice place to shop and there is a large variety of goods available for purchase. Our only downturn to our stay here was that the fine restaurant Chez Phillipe was not open. We would have so much liked to have tried it. This is a very special hotel and worth the extra cost to have such nice amenities. I hope to come back again one day. Our one caution for visiting Memphis, don't come over a holiday. This was our second holiday weekend here and so many things are closed. We were happy to have a beautiful hotel to relax in, it made us okay with just hanging out in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear Hawaiimama,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. I am pleased to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us. Our Peabody Dream Beds are definitely among the most luxurious and comfortable available in any hotel. I'm sure they are responsible for many missed morning meetings here.

I am sorry that you did not get to experience Chez Philippe. The restaurant is closed on Sundays and Mondays, but I hope you will visit us again soon so that you can dine there.

Thank you again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    804
    331
    138
    92
See reviews for
668
1,118
102
628
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg, south africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed at the Peabody for one night on our drive to Chicago from New Orleans. The hotel is an impressive sight from the street and that continues once you go inside.

Check in was quick and easy as was the check out. The rooms were luxurious and the beds were amazing!

Absolutely loved the lobby and the piano player.

Parking was easy and not too expensive - plenty of space and large bays.

Would have loved to have stayed longer!!

Definatley recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear bigb77,

Thank you for the review and for staying with us. There are more than 50 attractions in Memphis, along with the best blues and BBQ in the country. I hope you will stay longer and have time to enjoy all that Memphis has to offer next time you are here.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We "won" a trip to Memphis, with 3-night stay at the Peabody, at an auction. It was the best auction money we've ever spent! It's understated elegance from the first step into the living-room lobby. Staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are divine (bathrooms small but it IS an old hotel, after all), and the location is 5*****. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, or catch the trolley or a carriage. Of course, the DUCKS are a huge attraction. My husband was so captivated by those ducks that he had a table staked out for watching for each morning and each afternoon.

The Peabody is the perfect destination for your trip to Memphis!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emgTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear emgTX,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Peabody Memphis. I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Peabody but have patience. Took an extended time for luggage to arrive at our room and to check in. Staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel restaurant served a wonderful breakfast. Absolutely watch the 11:00 or 5 Pm duck show, but get their early, it gets crowded on the weekends. Also see the ducks night time home on the roof. Great views of the Mississippi River from the roof and its fun to see the ducks without the crowds. The Peabody is expensive and much like older hotels everywhere, has small rooms and bathrooms but the little details (duck soap, ducks on the pillow shams) are really nice. Have fun

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear Janly,

I'm so pleased to hear that you had a great stay at the "South's grand hotel" and that you got to see the duck march. The ducks attract a large crowd, especially on the weekends, so we like to recommend arriving in the lobby 15-30 minutes prior to the ceremony to get a primo spot along the red carpet.

I apologize that it took a while for your bags to be delivered to your room. We always strive to provide fast and efficient service along with the generous Southern hospitality people have come know The Peabody for.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is simply a classic hotel. The accomodations are elegant and comfortable and what you would expect from a great old Southern hotel. That said, the toiletries could be updated to nicer products and there was not one single open outlet in my large room (#634, Peabody people!). Had to unplug a light to plug in my computer. This is all minor compared to the outstanding service- the concierge and valet staff (Kemp, Josh, Helen, etc) are outstanding and not to be beat anywhere. Love the free internet (I still can't believe other hotels charge for this, and when I had a problem connecting, the hotel had tech support on line immediately).
The Duckmasters take their job VERY seriously and the security on site is professional and unobtrusive. It felt like home and worth paying a little bit more than you would at a nearby Westin, etc.
I would have given 5 stars save for: mediocre coffee in shop, outlet issue, cheap soap.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckysuenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Dear beckysuenyc,

Thank you so much for the kind words about our professional and outstanding staff. I will be sure to share your compliments with them. Also, thank you for bringing the issue about the electrical outlets in room #634 to my attention. The desk lamps in all of our guest rooms have an electrical outlet on them for plugging in computers and charging cell phones, but it's always handy to have another option so I'll see if we can move some things around to free up a wall outlet in that room. In addition, we just completed a major upgrade to all of our coffee and tea services. If you return to The Peabody, I think you will be impressed.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We drove up from New Orleans with no Memphis hotel booked. Called into the Peabody for a drink and loved the place so much we stayed the night. This is a GRAND hotel, stylish and classy so staff and environment are totally the best. Rooms beautiful and find dining. Car parking is not expensive, but, of course, the lasting memory of this place is the ducks. Many others will have described them better than I can - they arrive in the elevator from the roof, run along the red carpet and play in the fountain which is the centerpiece of the reception area. They arrive daily at 11,00 and go upstairs to bed at 5.00pm. Get there early if you want the best view.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank howardwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Dear howardwarwick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed you experience in the Lobby Bar so much that you decided to stay the night. The March of The Peabody Ducks is a time-honored tradition that dates back more than 75 years. We always love seeing the looks of surprise and delight on the faces of our guests who are watching the duck march for the first time.

Thank you again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I reserved a room with two double beds about 5 months ahead of time. When I arrived, with the 3 friends that I was meeting up with after not seeing them for 5 years...we were given a room with one bed. When I mentioned that I had a reservation I was told there was a convention in town and my reservation could not be honored. I would have left, but since there was a big convention, we had no other option for a place to stay walking distance to Beale. We made the best of it and used the lower mattress as another bed...had fun on Beale Street and laughed about our situation...they couldn't even give us extra bedding, linens, or pillows because "there was a convention ". I do love the Peabody in term of the decor and of course the ducks...I love going up to the top and visiting them:)...but, I was very disappointed in our room...I told my friends that I would get the money back... I did not wan them to pay for that type of lodging...I did complain and was told numerous times I would be reimbursed...that never happened.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltablue77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Dear Deltablue77,
I am truly sorry to hear about your experience and to learn that you did not receive the room type you had reserved. We try to accommodate all requests, but occasionally have more requests for a certain type of room that we have available. Thank you for alerting me to the fact that we did not provide extra linens. It is our policy to provide additional bedding, pillows, blankets, etc. whenever they are requested. Thank you again. I appreciate the feedback.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
901 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing