We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Peabody Memphis
Nearby Hotels
$151
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$167
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,454)
Filter reviews
3,454 results
Traveler rating
1,941
885
363
153
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,941
885
363
153
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduckred carpetlobby fountaincorner bargrand old hotelchez philippecapriccio grillclub floorbeale streetrooftop partybeautiful hotelsouthern charmbucket listself parkinghotel lobbyrooms are smallluxury hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,309 - 3,314 of 3,454 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2006

The Peabody was a great disappointment, you do not get the service for which you pay, the rooms are small particulary the bathroom, we were unable to view the famous duck parade as 30 minutes prior to the parade the Hotel Lobby floods with coach parties, who completely obscure the whole event.
The staff are most unfriendly and consider there own importance greater than their overcharged guests

Stayed: September 2005
8  Thank jmhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2006

The Peabody is a nice hotel but not a world class hotel by any means. No robes or turn down service, parking very inconvenient and not even an inroom coffee maker. They should have a least an all night coffee shop or dinner.
The lobby lounge was very nice and the walk of the ducks added a special touch.
The walls are very thin, we could hear every word from the family next door. The hotel was very clean but the sercive was just ok.
It also seems to squeeze every extra dollar from its guest. A $9.00 extra hotel fee for morning paper and pool useage even if you do not use the pool plus a $16.00 a day parking charge.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank steevshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2006

I was very dissapointed with the Peabody. I was expecting a high class hotel and that is not what I got. The carpet in my room was filthy as I could see from walking around in my socks. Any attempts to call the front desk were met with a phone that just rang and rang with no answer. We could never see the duck parade as it was way too crowded. One day our room was never cleaned and when we called we were told everyone had gone home! Most of the restaraunts were very over priced.

On the upside, the Thanksgiving champagne brunch was good as was our server. The hotel lobby bar was a lot of fun as well. The doormen/women were friendly and provided good service.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank meenaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2006

As a native Memphian, I have attended many functions at the Peabody, and I have generally been underwhelmed by the quality of the service and general attitude of the staff. Now, having stayed overnight, I can attest that the rooms are substandard, like the service. The rooms are very small, especially the bathrooms, and, although the rooms have been renovated recently, the quality of the furnishings is not what you expect for the going rate for this hotel.
The Madison Hotel is a boutique hotel just around the corner from the Peabody, and their rooms and service put the Peabody to shame. The decor in the common areas is art deco and very nice. Also, the hotel restaurant at the Madison is highly rated.
Other hotels to consider downtown are the Marriott Residence Inn, which has a great art deco theme like the Madison, and Talbot Heirs, which is like a B&B in a renovated building, with each room a different decor and floor plan.
Downtown bistro restaurants are McEwens, Lolo's Table, and Stellas. They are all very nice, and the bar at Lolo's is a favorite with our downtown office.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank TAdvisorfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
434
Reviewed January 16, 2006

The Peabody is a classy hotel that is also more expensive than other's in the area. I did not see any specials on-line so I called to get a $235 a night rate. We stayed the first night of our stay just to experience it. When checking in they gave us the Concergie floor but we didn't find it extra special. The next nights we stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites. The lobby, fountain, bar and decor are very nice. The employees treat you as a guest and are very quick to say Hello or Welcome. The rooms are ok, but the bed was Extremely comfortable. It was like sleeping on a cloud. At night we also returned to our room to find a surprise plate with chocolates next to our bed. If other hotels paid attention to just greeting you and the little things they would be just as nice. The newspaper was also delivered in a cloth bag on our door instead of just dropped. If you don't want to pay the price of the Peabody you would get just as much out of the visit by having a cockatail (or more) in the lobby bar and watching the ducks coming at 11am or leaving at 5pm. It is made into a show and is cute to see. Also, take the elevator to the floor where the ducks live. It is also a nice view. If we stayed again we would walk over for a visit and cocktails. We saved over $55 a night staying at the Hampton and even had a kitchen, livingroom, balcony, bedroom and bath. The Peabody is a nice hotel to visit!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews