We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Institution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #4 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fine Institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2005

This Hotel is certainly the best place to stay in Memphis, with all the expected facilites of a hotel of this standard, including a good pool and Gym. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were very well furnished. I could take or leave the daily duck parade, but it was a big draw for tourists not lucky enough to be staying at the Peabody. Forget valet parking, it's cheaper and very easy to self park in the car park attached to the hotel, which also has a walkway to the hotel lobby. Breakfast not included but we were happy to pay for the breakfast buffet in the Italian diner just off the lobby. Overall this is a very safe bet for a good stay, and is close to Beale Street but not too close

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,729
    783
    323
    135
    90
See reviews for
647
1,084
102
612
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

The Peabody has style - from the beautiful foyer and seating area where you can see the twice daily duck parade to the very comfortable bedrooms. Great central location, it has parking and excellent service from the staff there who will provide directions for your sight seeing trips. Round the corner from Beale Street - and a real sanctuary after a buzzing day seeing Memphis's great sights. One mini moan - could have done with coffee in the room!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2005

Duck walk nice to see once since we see many ducks in IL. Beautiful hotel close to Beale Street with alot of marble in lobby, elevators, and bathrooms. Staff was very polite and helpful. Very clean and elegant. Disappointments were overpriced rates, very small rooms, very very small bathroom.

Glad we stayed there the first time in Memphis but will stay elsewhere next year. Enjoyed Memphis though and will come back!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2005

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Memphis Peabody during Elvis week and our 36th anniversary. This is probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in , and I have stayed in many 4 star hotels. There was a little mix up with our reservations initially due to the mispelling of our last name, but it was eventually rectified and the rest of our stay was perfect. We were given an upgrade without asking. The room was very clean with many extra touches and the bed was the most comfortable ever, even compared with the special beds of another luxury hotel chain. The service was impecable. The food from room service and the restaurant were all terrific. We were on the top floor with a view of the Mississippi and 3 fabulous sunsets. The lobby is an entertaining luxurious place all in itself. It's a great place for people watching with the duck parade to and from the fountain on the red carpet twice a day. The fountain is very relaxing and you can have a drink as you watch the world go by. The club level is worth it if you can do it, it includes free valet parking, snacks and light meals, 3 times a day, and evening canapes and truffles. Other club levels have not even come close to comparison. Our daughter and son in law joined us on the third day and they too thought it was one of the best hotels they have been to along with the Hyatt in Maui. Staying at this hotel made our trip and our special occasion extremely enjoyable. I hope we can return here one day.

Helpful?
5 Thank harborWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2005

Our overall stay was lovely in this historic hotel of the South. Others have commented on how small the rooms were, but please remember this building is over 75 yrs old and back then beds and people were smaller. The renovation done in 2002 has made the Peabody a wonderful place to stay. The beds were sumptuous and the bathroom was nicer than mine at home. Albeit small, the Kohler sink and granite countertop were beautiful. The towels were thick and soft. Shower pressure is great!
My husband and I had two problems: a) Check-in: room was not ready when we arrived at 6pm and b) Concierge: this person changed frequently and upon asking for a good seafood restaurant, she directed us to a suburban stripmall and said, "I personally would not recommend anything." We're from Chicago and get great seafood, the Peabody is on the Mississippi and I found it difficult to believe not one restaurant had good fish on the menu.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2005

We often stay in grand old hotels, and I had looked forward to the Peabody for a long time. My eight-year-old son and I arrived at exactly the same time as Lisa Marie Presley and her then husband, Nicholas Cage... my son was impressed by the snapping paparazzi anyway. I made an on-the-spot decision to use valet parking and it was well worth it, though somewhat overpriced.

We had inadvertently timed our visit with the 25th anniversary of Elvis' death, and given that seredipity made a pilgrimage to Graceland, which was NOT (and I swear I am not exaggerating) nearly as hot and crowded as the Peabody lobby.

We paid more than $200 for a much smaller than average room with a very dirty bathroom. We were too tired to do anything about it that night, but the next morning I stamped my foot and demanded that the head of housekeeping get herself up to our room, where I pointed out makeup on towels, hair in the shower and crumpled tissues all left by a previous guest, not to mention mold in the grout and so forth. If this had been a $75 Best Western room I think I could overlook some of this, but not for two hundred bucks.

Happened to come down the "duck" elevator just before the arrival of the ducks... it opened onto a red carpet with velvet ropes which held back hordes of tourists. There was a guy in the elevator with us wearing a yellow shirt and he looked out at all those folks (decidedly NOT hotel guests) and said "Quack." Which was quite funny. But the hotel management needs to do something about non-guest tourists packing the lobby so badly that the Peabody's paying guests can't even get across the room. We only caught a glimpse of the ducks.

I noticed on the description on this website that it claims the hotel was fully renovated in 1981.... 24 years ago! I was told by the front desk staff to be sure to request a newly renovated room for our next stay. I think they said anything below the fifth floor, but you might want to check that. After I complained long and hard (though politely) for more than half an hour, a manager gave us ten percent off our bill.

We've been back to Memphis half a dozen times, but we never did go back to the Peabody and I don't think we ever will. Our experience there was an all-around and expensive disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank redchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2005

We stayed one night at the Peabody at the end of June. We walked in to the lobby to make a reservation and were treated courteously. We booked a queen room and found it pleasant. It appeared to have been recently renovated and had plenty of space and amenities. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The bellmen were very friendly and attentive. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and again received good service and good food.
If you are looking for a modern and slick hotel, this may not be the place for you. We had only one night in Memphis and wanted to experience what we thought was the essence of the town and that's what we found there. By the way, although our room was said to have a Beale Street view, it was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank east12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing