We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The history. The wonderful staff. The smallest attention to detail. Go spend the money once in your life to experience The Peabody! See the duck march at least once. Enjoyed a spacious, beautiful room on 9th floor. We loved walking to all the sites including Beale Street.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    828
    338
    141
    94
See reviews for
700
1,141
102
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Always enjoy staying here. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny but that is part of the historic atmosphere. Always crowded this time of year but plenty of places to eat and relax within walking distance. Recommend a trip to the roof to see the living quarters for the ducks.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttonwillow, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Well as you can guess, we didn't see Elvis, but we did see Graceland, the reason for the visit while passing through on business.
Had heard about the Peabody and was a little reluctant to stay as it was above what I usually like to pay. It is well worth it.
Yes, the ducks coming and going from the elevator is a bit of gimick, but the story that goes with it is good and if you are staying in a traditional hotel, you have got to have a tradition, hence the ducks.
We upgraded our room and were very happy with the size and view.
This is a grand hotel in every sense of the word. An elegant, well preserved lobby that sends you back in time and service to equal it.
Even if you don't want to stay here, walk in and look around.
A great property in every sense of the word, simply stunning.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear travellingcowboy,

Thank you for visiting The Peabody. I am pleased that you enjoyed the tradition and ambiance of the “South’s Grand Hotel.” I hope that you have the opportunity to visit Memphis and The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Don't get me wrong, The Peabody is good as a destination hotel. Somewhere you want to be able to say "I've been there, seen the ducks, yada yada yada". However, if you're there on business; don't bother: go someplace else.
This place is living on its past splendour; and judging from the number of guests I saw, it isn't doing too well. Apart from when the ducks did their party piece, the place was pretty empty.

So, why don't I like it as a business hotel? Two things; both of which are simple to solve.
1. The Wi-Fi is very poor in the rooms (on the fourth floor, in the restaurant and the corner bar anyway). Also, it's different SSIDs in the rooms and in the lobby. Why?
2. It requires you to order room service if you want a cup of tea or coffee in your room. What? In 2014??? No tea making facilities? You're kidding me, right? I need a cup of tea to get me oving in the morning, and I can't wait 20 minutes for room service to deliver it.

Oh, and one more thing; and this one really wound me up. When I move into a room for more than one night; I empty my bag and put all my toiletries in the bathroom: where I need them right? So it was rather frustrating to come back on a couple of occasions to find that some roomy service weenie had decided it was a much better idea to lay out all my toiletries in serried ranks in a completely different part of the room. Like most people, I'm pretty bleary eyed in the morning; particularly if I haven't got my glasses on. Given that I can't wake up with a cup of tea, I just want to clean my teeth, shave, shower and get dressed. I don't want to have to find everything first.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Gareth H,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at The Peabody. January and February do tend to be quieter here at The Peabody as winter is slow season in Memphis. But, even then the hotel is frequently bustling with both business and leisure visitors. We take great pride in the hotels’ history while always looking for ways to improve both in service levels and through building upgrades, including most recently a multi-million dollar guest room renovation. I appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and hope that you visit Memphis again soon.


Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. Beautiful, classic architecture and the rooms were nice. I did wonder upon the ducks coming off the elevator - that was neat to see although the lobby gets packed during the times of day when they are making their march. If you really want to see the ducks, get there a little early. I love the downtown location; right across the street from the ballpark and lots of unique restaurants in the neighborhood. It's also walking distance from Beale Street. If you are going to Memphis, spring for the Peabody. It's a classic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lrg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear lrg37,

Thank you for your kind review. As you mentioned, the Grand Lobby can become quite crowded especially around the Duck March at 11am and 5pm. We like to suggest to our guests that they arrive thirty minutes prior to each march to ensure a great view along the red carpet. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of The Peabody’s close proximity to AutoZone Park, and other Memphis attractions. I hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
858 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The lobby is stunning! I was pleasantly surprised with the recent room updates. The colors were fun, and everything was clean and comfortable. The corner bar has great happy hour specials. It is also a great location for many of the cities attractions.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gers, France
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is one of America's great hotels. It's also been one of music history's great hotels, starting in the 1920s if not before. Wonderful blues records were made here - and "here" is right downtown in the funky city of Memphis (technically in Tennessee but as everyone knows, existentially the capital city of Mississippi). The Peabody is important, gracious, stylish AND lively. I got off the $1 trolleycar where Main meets Union, wheeled my suitcase a block and a half, and went into its grand lobby, which at 7pm was buzzing with people in clusters on well-upholstered sofas enjoying cocktails and gin-and-tonics; the whole place was glowing like something out of The Great Gatsby. The staff are plentiful, mostly young, personable and energetic, the lifts are classy and my room was beautiful. I can't speak for the food: I had to leave too early in the morning to catch breakfast. My loss. I've read other reviews that whined about rooms not being big enough, or how they could see dirt on the sill outside... you have to wonder about people like that. And consider this: the Peabody sometimes offers Saturday classes spread over 4 consecutive weeks, teaching children table manners, service, etiquette, and tableside cooking. Some may sneer that this is elitist; I think it's a splendid, defiant standing-up against the grain of our Who-Cares Society. And consider this too: a very young Elvis signed his contract with RCA Victor Records in the lobby of the Peabody Hotel. Enough said.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room you're allocated, ask pleasantly to be moved to another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Michael G,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your time at The Peabody and appreciate the pictures you included with your review. I hope that your next visit allows for a longer stay at the “South’s Grand Hotel.”

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 138 in Memphis
1,944 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#2 of 138 in Memphis
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing