We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Peabody Memphis
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Madison Hotel(Memphis)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,454)
Filter reviews
3,454 results
Traveler rating
1,941
885
363
153
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,941
885
363
153
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduckred carpetlobby fountaincorner bargrand old hotelchez philippecapriccio grillclub floorbeale streetrooftop partybeautiful hotelsouthern charmbucket listself parkinghotel lobbyrooms are smallluxury hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,270 - 2,275 of 3,454 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was almost a year to the day since my last stay at the Peabody. Not surprisingly the staff was still all smiles, eager to accomdate and exude the very definition of Southern Hospitality. I stayed three nights and had a greaet corner room that overlooked Union Avenue and the AAA Baseball Stadium across the street. The charm and old fashioned elegance of this grand old lady and the delightful ducks will make your stay memoriable.

The only downside is one I knew going in from last year, the bathroom is small. Don't let that be a determining factor in missing out on all the other great features. My only issue both stays was that there was a little lack of attention to details by housekeeping. Things like not replacing the used glasses and not removing the trash each day. But really that was pretty minor. I enjoy the Peabody and think that you would too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheesehead88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Cheesehead88,

Thank you for visiting The Peabody again. We appreciate your loyalty to the “South’s Grand Hotel,” and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again. We look forward to your next visit to The Peabody.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We traveled to Memphis last week and took your advice and wanted to stay at either your first or second rated hotels there. Stayed at Hampton Inn on Beale and it was ok but we decided to walk over to the Peabody and from the moment I walked into the lobby, I knew I wanted to stay there. So we made the arrangements and it was the best decision ever. Everyone of the personnel there was attentive to any need one might have. The accommodations were fabulous, bedding extremely comfortable, everything perfect, down to the built-in headboard reading lights to the motion sensored footing lights just in case you had to get up at night. The duck tradition was fun and the lobby offered a place to people watch, eat delightful sweets, and drink your favorite libation. Made our trip.

Room Tip: We reserved a corner king bed room and an adjoining two-bed room
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Linda S,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that at the moment you walked in our lobby, you knew you wanted to stay at the “South’s Grand Hotel.” We hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a truly grand hotel from much grander days! Stayed here with a family group for son's graduation from college. We were kindly accommodated with rooms on the same hallway, despite having made reservations somewhat late and heavy bookings for both graduations and a few conventions that were also at the hotel. Overall, service was excellent, from the maids to the desk personnel, to the restaurant staff.

Location is great for seeing sights downtown (most within walking distance; short cab or drive to Gus' World Famous Fried Chicken, Sun Records, Stax, and other greats) and they provided coupons for breakfasts and some cocktails during our stay, so that helped with the cost. The coupons may have been a limited special, but worth looking into, when you're planning or contacting them for reservations. We reserved directly with the hotel and felt we got as good or better a rate as any we found online. Valet parking is expensive (as it is at all city hotels, imho). Self parking is not quite so bad, but it's a surprisingly long, confusing walk from the garage back to the hotel, so be forewarned to get directions and try to park on the level with the elevated breezeway back to the hotel.

Best tip--if you have small kids, get to the fountain area well before 5 and get them to the front to see the ducks march. It seems silly, but it's frankly enchanting and gets crowded. If you have or are an older "child," great to watch from the mezzanine.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, there are no "bad" rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamminedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear jamminedward,

Thank you for staying at The Peabody to celebrate your son’s graduation. It is The Peabody’s goal to ensure every guest has an exceptional stay through gracious southern hospitality and exceptional service. I am pleased to see this was true with you stay. It sounds like you took advantage of The Peabody’s close proximity to Memphis’ most famous attractions and restaurants. On your next visit, even if you choose not to valet park, I encourage you to drop your bags at our valet entrance. Our staff will happily hold your bags, and direct you through our breezeway and to the hotel’s entrance.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Luxe and lovely. I loved staying at this property - boutique but so elegant! I visited in early Jan 2014 during the freezing cold of the 'polar vortex' and despite the weather I am so glad I stayed here... with its location and appointments it has so many pluses! Antique and historical without being fussy and boring.

Very friendly staff.
Lovely and well appointed rooms.
Historic building is gorgeous and the lobby is a must for drinks if you have meetings.
The ducks in the lobby are adorable! They have daily 'walks.'
Restaurants on site are very good but can be expensive.
Easily accessible downtown location works for meetings and cocktails.
FREE wifi.

It's a place to splurge since it is a bit expensive but the service and attention from the staff make it place to stay if you are in town for work meetings since everyone knows where its at. Can't afford to go stay the night? Just go for a cocktail or adult hot chocolate and see the ducks! So cute and unique!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flacaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The ducks made it for me lol. Expensive though! Stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Loved having a few drinks in the loby as well in the big luxurious seats. Beal street just round the corner too

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews