We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Folk come here for the ducks and it's certainly original and worth witnessing. The lobby is classy although the retail spaces on the perimeter give it a sense of a high end mall. We took an offer to upgrade our room on arrival, ending up in the largest room in the hotel, which made it great value. Service is good, although lobby bar prices extremely high. Main gripe would be the distance between customer parking and hotel. Use the Valet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,820
    829
    338
    141
    94
See reviews for
702
1,144
102
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I went with friends to view the Marching of the Ducks. It was a really cool ceremony to see the ducks marching out of the fountain and all the way onto the elevator, and then up to the roof top. we had a really good time, and we will be going back to see it again. I dont recommend staying here because the prices are too high!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiselover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Peabody from November 8-11, 2013. As always I read many reviews before booking this hotel. I was told what to expect about the ducks by a friend who recently stayed here. The hotel lobby is really beautiful and all of the hotel staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is located just a couple of blocks from Beale Street and a short walk to downtown, so everything is quite convenient. It is amazing to me what an attraction the ducks are, not just to hotel guests but even more so to tourists in Memphis staying elsewhere. Frankly, I just don’t get it. These are not exotic animals and watching them jump in and out of the fountain gets really old after you see it once. But whatever, it definitely draws a crowd and is good for the hotel business. Be advised that drinks at the lobby bar are very expensive. Wine is $12.00 a glass, which is normal for a high-end restaurant in Boston, but we did not expect it here. As for the rooms, there were many reviews stating that they were small. This is an understatement. If you choose to say here, definitely book more than a standard room. The décor is very boring and I’ve stayed in motel rooms that had more charm. The room is not only small, but there is no refrigerator which we found very aggravating considering that you had to pay $4.00 delivery charge to have anything delivered to your room. If you order wine for your room expect to pay around $40.00 with all the add ons. Also, the bathroom is ridiculous, so small you can’t fit anything in it, including towels, which have to be stored in the hallway closet. We had to keep all of our toiletries in the room on the desk as the only thing you could fit in that bathroom is maybe a toothbrush. Another issue was the bed - bad. After 3 nights neither of us could walk upright. This hotel does have some charm, but also a number of issues, and I cannot say I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not get a standard room, you cannot move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

we loved our stay here at the peabody. the rooms had the best pillows ever. The staff in the gift shops were very friendly, like most of the people we met in memphis. the ducks were cute... fun for little kids... the only slight misunderstanding we had was that my little brother got locked out the room and they wouldn't let him back in or let him stay in the building as we were out for a bit (he was in sock feet and might of looked at bit dodgy). But once we came back there was no issue with this at all lol. good locations awesome place, expensive but i would stay here again .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SofiaMaria94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Considering this is supposed to be the best hotel in Memphis we weren't that impressed. We found the hotel to be crowded and impersonal and very commercialised. There was a party on the roof where only the rich and famous are allowed in, and being a guest we could go up there. It was like a cattle market :( They insisted we take id (so had to go back to room for passports) and I the I could not take my camera (so had to go back to room to drop off my camera), however other people were taking photos using their phones and I felt cheated because of this. We came away after one drink. Its fair to say we will not be going again either to the party or to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I took my dad to Memphis to walk in the footsteps of Elvis and other music greats. A friend recommended the Peabody, and I booked a slightly larger standard room directly at the hotel using AAA discount. (Staying away from hotel booking websites usually allows you to actually get the room you want.) I was still a little apprehensive about the room size and value in an older hotel but was really pleasantly surprised. The room actually looked indeed like the website and was very spacious with high ceilings. The hotel overall is quite beautifully decorated and being in your room almost feels like being in a private house. Very elegant and detailed decor everywhere but not over the top. The bar / lobby is very pleasant and lively, and we spent a whole evening here listening to 2 different, excellend piano players. Nice bar service. We also watched the ducks go into the elevator which was actually quite entertaining. The pool and fitness area is excellent, so are the breakfast pastries at the cafe (Austrian or German pastry chef, I think.) The hotel was a great choice, well worth the money, and allowed us to get a little feel for the "old" southern lifestyle.

Room Tip: Book directly at the hotel to get the room you want. Use AAA or other available discounts. Parking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffiLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

An overpriced and boring locus in a drab place.I really did not care for my stay here, and would not recommend it. It's not awful, it's just so ordinary, but at extraordinary (high) prices. All the fuss over the ducks and the duck theme did not appeal to me at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmaswimswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
1,949 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#2 of 138 in Memphis
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing