We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay and the whole experience and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #4 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay and the whole experience and a great location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a planned stop on a two week road trip and we are very glad we stayed here. We splurged on our upgraded king room and it did not disappoint. It was large with a comfortable bed with chairs and a couch. It included a separate dressing area which helped with the smallish bathroom. Our only real complaint was that the air conditioning blew directly on our heads while in bed. We could not divert it away from us.

The hotel lobby and restaurants exhibit old world charm and at the same time were very comfortable. We had drinks in the lobby late each afternoon and stayed to watch the duck parade. It was a lot of fun even though the drinks were expensive.

Breakfast each morning brought delicious food and excellent service. The service throughout our stay was excellent, especially the concierge who helped with dinner and attraction information.

We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear SherandPat,

Thank for your review, and for making The Peabody a stop during your two week road trip. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your upgraded room. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff and service levels. I hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    790
    324
    136
    91
See reviews for
653
1,099
102
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at the Peabody for a professional conference in October 2013. I arrived very late one evening due to flight delay. I think because I came in so late, I was upgraded to a very nice room with a king sized bed and a sitting area. I felt very sorry for the woman at the desk as she was the only one there and there was a long line. She kept radioing for a manager to come help her, but no one appeared. She maintained her friendly and professional bearing in what must have been a very stressful situation for her. (Mgmt - if you are reading - I think her name was Angie)

The rooms were very clean and my room was quiet. I loved the lights on the floors which guide your way to the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking your partner up! Nice safety feature for elderly guests! The bed was comfortable and there was good water pressure in the shower. I enjoyed getting the Wall Street Journal each morning.

I ate at one of the restaurants in the hotel and it was fine, but expensive (typical for in-hotel eateries).

Memphis isn't a very nice town, unfortunately. Not a lot of street life during the day - does anyone actually work downtown? No grocery stores nearby. No department stores or chic shops. It felt abandoned to me - like a lot of US cities which have shops and businesses only in the suburbs and only available to those with cars.

I ate at the Blue Plate Cafe a few blocks from the Peabody and enjoyed their breakfast. The only downside was that they don't open for breakfast until 8 am. The Majestic Grill at 145 S. Main was my favorite restaurant - excellent food, a super cool decor, great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryland_traveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Maryland_traveler27,

Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Peabody during your professional conference and that we had the opportunity to upgrade your room. As you mentioned, one of the fun new updates in our recent room renovation were motion censored lights under the bed to light guests’ path during the night. It is true that Downtown Memphis is much more vibrant during the weekends, but upon your next visit I’d encourage you to visit the restaurants, bars, and shops down Main Street or on Overton Square for local shopping. I hope you return to The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simoniSimoni
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a very beautiful old hotel. This was my first trip to Memphis but I'm sure this is the nicest hotel in the city. We stayed on the club floor in a nice size king room with a view of the Mississippi river. Club rooms offer continental breakfast including bagels, rolls, cheeses, smoked salmon, sweet rolls, hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, coffee, tea, etc. Small bags of chips and cold cokes or hot coffee and tea are available all day. At cocktails there is a cash bar available as well as cheese tray, hot hors devours and veggies. At 9pm or so they offer cookies and milk. They also give you a small plate of sweets when they turn down the bed. We loved the food and would highly recommend the club floor. it was also very quiet. I thought the room was in remarkably good condition for its age and very tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The only complaint is that the bathroom is not very well lit. The hairdryer though was great. Just like my own.
The hotel is very close to Beale Street, which was much appreciated. The hotel is expensive but worth it for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Pretty good view of the river on the 12th floor. Club floor. Also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoniSimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I've never entered a hotel lobby to the sound of quacking ducks as they swim in a hotel fountain! What a brilliant gimmick! Made me smile a lot! Really liked this classic hotel. My sis booked it. Her initial internet search showed it as too expensive, but as prices decreased it became a more affordable luxury stay.

The hotel gym was lovely. There's great cakes to be eaten in the hotel bar whilst watching the ducks swim about.

A lovely hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Victoriapowersjovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Victoriapowersjovi,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you and your sister enjoyed your stay, and were welcomed by the world-famous Peabody Ducks. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some desserts from The Peabody Deli and Desserts as you sat in our Grand Lobby. I hope you have the opportunity to visit the “South’s Grand Hotel” again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was there attending a conference and spent one night at the hotel. The hotel is an old, grand hotel. The rooms are ok. They are comfortable and clean, but keep in mind there are limitations to updating a hotel of this era.

Twice a day, the ducks appear. Arrive early and a vantage location is on the Mezzanine balcony in front of the elevators. The hotel is centrally located just across the street from the ballpark and within an easy walk to Beale Street. If you are in Memphis, especially with young children, take the time to see the Peabody and the ducks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vol_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at the Peabody in September 2013. Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Memphis. Superb accommodation and we were lucky enough to get complimentary upgrade! Perfect location for Gracelands and Sun Studios. Tip .... go to Sun Studios first and get free transport to Gracelands. Staff at the Peabody couldn't have been more courteous or helpful. Make sure you see the 'duck parade' and go take a look at their home on the hotel roof!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Great location to Beale St, FedEx Forum and many other activities. Hotel rooms are clean and very comfortable. Be advised there is a MANDATORY Hotel Service Fee of $11.95/night. The few covers complimentary tea/coffee, newspaper, shoe shines, pool and athletic room, regardless if they were used. Other than the surprise fee, a great place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scsobutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear scsobutter,

Thank you for staying at The Peabody during your recent trip to Memphis. I’m pleased you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location and close proximity to the FedEx Forum and Beale St. As you mentioned, like other luxury hotels, we have a service fee that includes wifi, daily newspaper, shoeshine, morning coffee in The Peabody Deli and Desserts and usage of The Peabody Athletic Club. I hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing