We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Peabody-Memphis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peabody Memphis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #6 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The Peabody-Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fabulous Hotel. Our room was a king suite with lots of room. The bathrom was fairly small, but adequate. The lobby is a great place to sit and watch people and have a dessert or cocktail. The fountain with the ducks and the duck parade is a quick fun activity. Going up on the roof to overlook the city and the great Mississippi river is a wonderful 360 degree view. The shops are great quality finds. The flower arrangement in the lobby fountain is beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again when we return to Memphis. Great restaurants within walking distance and Graceland a short hop away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    750
    311
    128
    87
See reviews for
605
1,015
96
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my time in Memphis and at the hotel. The room I stayed in was a corner room which I assume is larger than the norms. The bathroom was small and the walls between the rooms are thin (be prepared to hear some funky notices). The lobby is pleasant and romantic with piano playing smooth tunes. Expensive bar. Staff are present and attentive but not the most friendly which isn't a bad thing. As previously said on some reviews an alarm went off twice, once at 5am. No explanation or apology was given. The pool is clean and quiet. Gym is dated but had all one needs. An expensive hotel for the city it is in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrunkenMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear DrunkenMonkey,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peabody. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Memphis and at the hotel. I apologize for the disruption our fire alarm caused. A pull station was activated which requires evacuation until the Fire Department has thoroughly investigated the area. Luckily, it was a false alarm, but as you know, we take every step necessary to ensure the safety and security of all of our guests. I hope that you visit Memphis again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Due to the price and hype we were expecting the hotel to be well above average. We were disappointed. Room is very average. Lots of hall noise. Could hear the people in the room next to us. Lots of street noise. The main attraction is the "marching of the ducks." But you can see this without staying there. Marching of the ducks is a man in a red coat using a cane to prod ducks out of an elevator and into a water fountain at 11am and then prodding them back into the elevator at 5pm. The staff was not friendly. We stayed 3 nights and a fire alarm forced us to evacuate twice. We were not told if there was a fire, or just a false alarm and no apology for the inconvenience. Out of our 3 day stay our room was only cleaned twice. We had to go ask for clean towels. Lots of less expensive choices in the same area. Definitely over priced and over rated.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel in this same area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nincy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Nincy P,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Peabody. Being the only four-star property in West Tennessee, we feel that our room rate is a very good value for travelers, especially for our downtown location at the center of Memphis’ entertainment district. I understand your frustration with having to evacuate the hotel twice due to a fire alarm. Your safety and security is of the upmost importance to us at The Peabody, and I am pleased that the system worked exactly as designed. When a pull station is activated for any reason, a full evacuation is required until the Fire Dept can call an “all clear.” I apologize for this disturbance, and hope that you give The Peabody another chance upon your next visit to Memphis.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Peabody was recommended to us to try so we did and was very pleased that we did. Not only was the Hotel fabulous, but also the food and of course "Duck Parade". Beale Street is just about 2 short blocks away if you love The Blues. I would highly recommend this place if ever is Memphis.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The most wonderful thing about the Peabody was the service from the bellmen and doormen! They were gracious, helpful, and professional. One would expect the same from all aspects of the "Grand Dame of the South"... Sadly, from the perfunctory service in the Lobby Bar to the indifferent presentation from room service, even to the concierge (who provided inaccurate info re; dress code in a local restaurant) disappointments abound! The hotel itself is truly beautiful, grand in that charming "old southern" way" but the repairs have not been kept up as was evidenced by the crumbling plaster and water marks on the wall in our room. Even though the delivery of room service breakfast was sad, the meal itself was indulgent and delicious! Forgot to mention the guest in the hall screaming profanities on the cell phone at aprox 2:30AM and
continued for 26 minutes... or the "trash" that was left on the table under hotel magazines...
Certainly for the price one would expect a lovely stay~

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear DWA2010,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate you bringing your experiences to our attention, as they are not common of a stay at The Peabody. I apologize for the complications you encountered with your room. We have located the cause of the issue, and have already corrected it. On your next visit to The Peabody, I urge you to alert the Front Desk if similar issues arise so that we can quickly take care of the matter for you. We never want a guest to leave disappointed with their stay. I hope that you give The Peabody another chance, and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my first stay at the Peabody Memphis. I work in Athens, GA as a conference and convention sales manager, so a good deal of my time is spent looking at other hotel and conference properties in the Southeast.

I was staying at the Peabody for pleasure. I absolutely fell in love with this unique property. Stepping through the doors was like stepping back in history 100 years. It was so classy and elegant. The grand piano playing in the lobby added so much to the ambiance! The service was outstanding!

I must confess that when I heard from several people that I absolutely had to watch the duck march, I thought they had lost their minds. After seeing it, I can assure you it is incredibly entertaining. The duck master and the honorary duck master were so cute and put on a great show.

The gift shop was charming! I was almost late to a concert that night because I couldn't make myself leave the gift shop. I wanted to buy one of everything.

Our guest room felt like I was walking into a spa. I loved the duck theme and the color scheme was so relaxing!

I would go back to Memphis if for no other reason than to spend a weekend at the Peabody. It is an attraction unto itself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kelli M,

Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay at The Peabody. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at the “South’s Grand Hotel” and had the opportunity to witness our Duck March first hand. I hope you have the opportunity to visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny/nj
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Peabody twice. There are some excellent things to say in that it is clean, the room, although only average in size, is lovely, and the lobby and bar with the ducks is fun and full of atmosphere. That said, the bar is extremely expensive with only average size drinks, way too crowded and noisy; the rooms did not get cleaned until 4pm, and that was with our needing to ask that they be done, so we could get ready for our evening out with our family; there is a charge for everything--including the 2 bottles of water ($4) that are in your room with the ice buckets and glasses (not in or on a wet bar), and although there is a nice rooftop with tables, there are no comfortable chairs up there to enjoy the sun and the view. We would have stayed there again, but now that I am on tripadvisor, I see there are other fine hotels to stay at next year.

Room Tip: Tell the desk at check in that you need your room cleaned before a certain time, if you need to go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajrbjr615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear ajrbr615,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stays at The Peabody. As you mentioned the Peabody Lobby Bar has a very lively atmosphere, especially around Duck March times. Like other luxury hotels, special amenities including bottled water, wet bar and snacks are an extra fee. I’m glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our rooftop, and appreciate your suggestions. I hope you visit Memphis again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#9 of 137 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 137 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2638
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing