We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #4 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Plenty of Character”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an iconic hotel made famous by the daily parade of ducks going up and down from the roof. When the ducks are ready to go up in the lift it is hard to move in the foyer and parts of it are roped off. This is slightly annoying but the ducks bring in business and there are not there for very long. When the ducks are not there the foyer can be seen in all its glory and it is truly wonderful.
It's a big hotel with plenty of public rooms. Self-parking is available but it is quite a long walk each time to pick up the car or to walk back to the hotel after parking it. You need to have your wits around when entering the hotel by car in order to drop your bags before parking the car. The location is great, just a short walk to Beale St with all its great music. Heaps of restaurants close by.
The bedrooms are quite small and in our room the television was in the wrong place meaning we had to turn our necks to see it. Breakfast was a buffet and was adequate although for some reason there was no milk available without asking for it. Also there were no toasters to make your own toast. Since these are very common breakfast items it seems strange that they need to be ordered.
These are minor things however and don't detract from the very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hortus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear hortus,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at The Peabody. As you mentioned, the Peabody Ducks are world-famous and attract hundreds of guests daily to our Grand Lobby. I appreciate your advice to future guests who choose to self park their vehicle in our self-parking garage. We encourage these guests to drop off their bags with a bellman at our front drive, and then park. Our self-parking garage is adjacent to the hotel with a covered, air-conditioned walkway leading to the hotel. I’m pleased you enjoyed spending time at The Peabody and hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    828
    338
    141
    94
See reviews for
700
1,141
102
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S. California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Yes, the walls are thin, self parking is a hike away and it's not cheap. However, this is an elegant hotel built in another time and lovingly preserved. We couldn't be more happy with our stay, the attentive staff and the excellent food.

We took the free 11:30AM hotel tour (reserve a place with the Concierge) and loved it. It was led by Doug the Duck Master who is a Memphis native and has a tremendous amount of knowledge to share. The tour was supposed to be 45 minutes but ours was longer and we appreciated that.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in Memphis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlr575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee , new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed on Club Level which included free parking, afternoon snacks, & continental breakfast. After noon snacks included hard coconut fried shrimp. Awful. Gave me indigestion after one bite. Staff is polite . Room a bit weird. Decor has a modern take. I liked when you got out of bed at night a sensor lit the floor! The headboard also had lighting for reading on each side. Very nice features! TV could not get a voice on many channels. The room safe is tucked into a corner in the closet- very difficult to get to and be able to see. Comfortable bedding. The hotel is quite grand in the lobby and two blocks away from many attractions such as Beale street & Rock & Soul museum.

Room Tip: Consider concierge level for continental breakfast & parking included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear lfbmonkey,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay on The Peabody Club Level. I’m pleased that you enjoyed several of the new renovations to our guestrooms including, reading lights on the head boards and track lighting for the sides of the bed. It sounds like you took advantage of The Peabody’s close proximity to Memphis attractions including Beale Street and the Rock & Soul Museum. I hope you visit Memphis and The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The Peabody has always held a special place in my heart. I remember as a young child coming to see the Peabody ducks. Once I became an adult, we would come for the rooftop parties. Now as a "real" adult, we come to the Peabody for a retreat from "real" life. The Peabody has maintained it's historical ambiance while updating the beautiful rooms. We enjoyed a piano player in the main lobby and the flowers were spectacular. It is an experience you will not have anywhere else. Great night!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lov1ngtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here 20 years ago and thought we'd bring our 14 year old son while on a road trip from Oklahoma. We love the nostalgia of the hotel and the service here. If you self park like I did because I don't like people driving my car or waiting for it,prepare yourself for a walk. I would drop off your bags then park. The ducks are unique and fun to watch. I like staying here, but if you want a convenient hotel that's very nice see my review on the Westin on George W Lee Ave. There was a spot of mold in my soap dish in the shower which I was disappointed to see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Halokla,

Thank you for returning to The Peabody with your son, after staying with us 20 years ago. I appreciate your tips for future travelers about dropping off your bags with our bellmen, if you choose to self-park. I’m pleased you enjoyed staying with us again, and look forward to a return visit.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

While the lobby is beautiful, and the old world charm is charming, the rooms are average at best. The walls are very thin. We could hear the neighbors above, below and on both sides of us just having conversations. Self parking is about $10 less, but you do have to walk several blocks. The ducks were cute. I wish the rooms were just as cute.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Ellie C,

Thank you for staying at The Peabody during your trip to Memphis. I apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. It’s one of the things being addressed with our soon-to-be-completed renovations with new doors and windows in every guestroom. As you mentioned guests have the option of valet or self parking at The Peabody. If you self park we encourage guests to drop their bags at our front drive with a bellman, and follow the signs and short walk through our covered, air-conditioned walkway to the lobby for check-in. I hope that you visit us again soon as we will be completed with our guest room renovations in September.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Pricey, but well located if you need to be downtown.
The daily parade of ducks is well attended, not sure why.
The room was southern opulent but musty, I felt like Rhett butler.
Lobby bar was busy and vibrant.
Texas la brazil is adjacent to the property and had great food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Robert W,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at The Peabody. As you mentioned the Duck March is viewed by hundreds of visitors daily. Being an 80 year tradition, the Peabody Ducks are one of the top three tourist attractions in Memphis along with Graceland and Beale Street. I’m pleased you enjoyed our downtown location and close proximity Memphis’ most popular attractions.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 138 in Memphis
1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#2 of 138 in Memphis
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing