We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World famous ducks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peabody Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
367 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“World famous ducks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was a fun afternoon visit while visiting family in Memphis. The 5:00 pm time slot is for the ducks to march back onto the elevator and to their rooftop home. They march down at 11:00 in the morning. The crowd was large and the ducks were hard to see for their full walk. The duckmaster had some very interesting commentary.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PamC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,703
    772
    318
    134
    90
See reviews for
634
1,068
100
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed after purchasing a room via a deal finder website, so we got a 'Priceline' room, which is smaller than the average room. However it was still nice. Some improvements are in order though as the Ice Machine on the 4th floor did not work, also parking is a nightmare if you don't Vallet. Be prepared to pay for parking and a 'service fee' (for stuff like free internet (even if you don't use Internet)). The ducks are a must see, just be prepared to not see anything unless you have kids (who can sit on the front row) or get there 45 minutes before the show starts.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmutk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear mmtuck,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at The Peabody. Like other luxury properties, The Peabody has a service fee that includes high-speed internet, shoe shine, local calls, a choice of daily newspaper, usage of The Peabody Athletic Club and morning coffee in The Peabody Deli and Dessert. Because the ducks draw hundreds of visitors each day we suggest that our guests arrive 30 minutes early to ensure a great view. I hope you have the opportunity to visit Memphis again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Once you walk into this place you know you are in a grand hotel. The lobby is simply amazing. The staff is professional & accommodating. The asst. duck master offers historical tours of the Peabody in the morning & afternoon. It lasted over 2 hours, but it was worth every minute. He includes historical info about Elvis, blues, rock & roll, etc. Probably the highlight of our time in Memphis.
The desserts are divine & the Corner Bar has happy hour specials each day with the cutest lady playing requests at the piano. She was adorable.
Beware of the lobby bar...whew...the drinks are very pricey. Have one drink, take it all in & then walk over to the Corner Bar.
Lots of people watching the ducks, so definitely think about taking your drink up to the mezzanine level for a better view.
The clothing store located at the hotel has quite a history as well with guitars of previous clients displayed thru out.
The location is great for many attractions. You can walk or take the trolley to so many things.
We will stay here again when we come back to Memphis!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STLtravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear STLtravel35,

Thank you for your detailed review. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amenities we offer at The Peabody during your stay. The Duckmaster gives tours every day at 11:30am, and we ask that you book your tour in advance with our Concierge. As you mentioned, the Lobby Bar is a great place to see and be seen, but if you’d like a quieter bar atmosphere we suggest the Corner Bar, which features daily happy hour specials. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit to The Peabody.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a moving trip. We upgraded to club level as they had a half price special. It was well worth the extra money. The food they served and the nightly turn down service was great. The room was very nice and the staff very friendly. The duck show was very cute and the rooftop view was amazing. Location was perfect for sampling a little of everything downtown. We also enjoyed a spa day which was very nice. The only negative I could say is that the drinks at the lobby bar were pretty expensive. Go to the corner bar instead.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hdtoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I have been on an 8 week cross country trip with our dog. We decided to splurge on our hotel choice in Memphis. They are very dog friendly and gave us a new dog bowl -with The Peabody logo- upon check in. The lobby is beautiful. Our room, a sunny yellow was very comfortable. We opted for the concierge privileges- they were a bit disappointing for the price. The service was good but the food choices were limited. The hotel staff was excellent.
The hotel is in walking distance of Beale St which was underwhelming. It is about 3 blocks long. A Bourbon St wannabe that falls short of its goal. The night we were there it was very empty.
We visited Shelby Farms Park- great off leash dog area. Graceland-when in Memphis---- And the National Civil Rights Museum--at the site of Martin Luther King's assassination- worth the trip.
We enjoyed our stay at The Peabody.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherlock621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Sherlock621,

Thank you for telling us about your recent trip to The Peabody. I’m pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your room on the concierge level and felt very comfortable. As you said, The Peabody is a pet friendly hotel and accept pets up to 75 lbs. Our guests receive welcome amenities including a dog-bowl, dog biscuit, and walking map upon check-in with any advance pet reservation. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit The Peabody again soon.


Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
294 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Love Memphis. Been there many times. The Peabody is a must stay! Comfortable. Can find great deals on rooms. Lobby was inviting and drinks were fantastic. Love the duck walk! Close to all that is fun in Memphis!! Service was terrific. Bed was comfy! Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Memphis and had to stay here because of the Peabody ducks. So glad we did. We did one of their packages and was worth every penny. The Duck parade was adorable and had a drink while we waited for the parade. Our room was adorable, clean, very nice. Much bigger than we thought it would be. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizwphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Lizwphillips,

I’m glad you chose to stay at The Peabody on your first trip to Memphis. You made a great choice by booking one of our packages. Peabody packages are a great value with many including amenities such as self parking, breakfast buffets and tickets to local attractions. I hope you visit the Memphis and the “South’s Grand Hotel” again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing