We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay at refreshed Peabody” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peabody Memphis

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at refreshed Peabody”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was a guest at the Peabody for a week of business training. I have to say that it was a nice week. The rooms had been recently renovated. My room even had a new paint smell (which wasn't bothersome). The bathroom had new fixtures and the room was appointed with tastefully and functional furniture. The decor is the opposite of the W chain. Classic architecture and moulding. One of the best features was the service. The staff was always cheerful and helpful. Escorting me to where I needed to go rather than pointing out the direction. The food was good (although not as good as the Westin). I definitely recommend it to those traveling to Memphis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joegibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear joegibbon,

I’m pleased that you had the opportunity to stay at The Peabody during your business training. Thank you for your kind words regarding our newly renovated guest rooms and cheerful staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you visit the “South’s Grand Hotel” again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    772
    319
    134
    90
See reviews for
637
1,068
100
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband surprised me with an anniversary weekend at the Peabody along with the package of me being the honorary duckmaster. It was a wonderful stay with an exceptionally friendly staff. The building is just amazing and the rooms are very comfortable. The decor and interesting little features of the room are very fun. We loved the automatic lights in the baseboard that came on when we got up in the night. The mattress was heavenly with a variety of different kinds of pillows so that you could find the perfect one. We had a room at the end of the hall and only heard other room noise once. We ate breakfast in one of the hotel restaurants and it was very good. We had wanted to have our anniversary dinner in the famous Chez Philippe but we were not aware that my husband needed a jacket to eat there so we settled for the other restaurant on property because it looked nice. It was not anything special and the food was ordinary albeit very pricey. We bought desert in the hotel bakery and went to the rooftop to eat our dessert and watch the boats on the river. We also visited the famous ducks in their penthouse. Being the Honorary Duckmaster was one of the highlights of my visit. It was so much fun. Tip: Those little ducks move fast so have someone with you to take photos of you and the ducks. The duckmaster gives an historical tour in the mornings of the hotel. It was fabulous and not to be missed. The only negative and it is very small would be that the hotel found out it was our anniversary so they told my husband they would be sending up a complimentary gift. He was so excited he did not tell me but waited until after dinner and our carriage ride. When we came back to the room I had noticed that he immediately turned around and went to the front desk. He asked about the gift and they asked him what he wanted. Since they were offering it he felt a little odd asking for anything. They asked if strawberries and cream would be okay and he said that would be great. They never came and we were there two days. Also with our package we were to get turndown service each night and we did not. These are petty things when so much more of the trip was wonderful! The hotel is close to Beale Street and the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear danna6,

Thank you for your detailed review. The Ducky Day Package is a very popular package at the hotel. As you know the package comes with the opportunity of being Honorary Duckmaster, and you now share the title with such celebrities as Natalie Morales, Oprah, Peter Frampton, and Gene Simmons. We are honored that you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary at The Peabody and hope that you return soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Family used to live in Memphis, so we had never stayed in a hotel. Finally, as the wife and I were driving back from New Orleans, we decided to stay one night at The Peabody. Glad we did. This is a grand old place really close to Beale Street and downtown. The room was really nice as was the check in/out. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASA1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pros-
Awesome and convenient location to Beale Street, the trolly, and everything downtown!
Beautiful to look at.
The ducks if that's your thing.
A beautiful upper terrace with incredible views of the city and the Mississippi river.
Friendly staff.
Clean!
Fairly convenient self-parking or valet parking.
Comfortable beds

Cons-
Double beds were just too small for us! Priceline booked us for the double beds (weren't given an option with the "name your price" bargain, but the lady at the Peabody I spoke to on the phone asked if we would like a King or Queen. I said either would be great and told her we were there to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary. When we checked in, we were disappointed to see the double beds.
Paper thin walls! A barking dog (from where I do not know!!!) woke me up repeatedly that morning and I could hear a man snoring over the sound of our TV!! I was extremely tired after a not so restful sleep.
The sink was a pedestal style sink with NO place to set your curling iron, make-up, toothbrush, etc. That was a pain!

Overall it was a good experience. I felt it was worth the $131 (plus tax and hotel fees) that I got it for from Priceline. Would stay again if I land another affordable price. Its just so convenient to where we like to hang out that the sleeping conditions wouldn't inhibit me from going back. Next time I will take a sound machine to drown out the noise and make double sure I've booked a king or at least a queen. I'm glad I got to experience "The Peabody" though!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MS_Lady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear MS_Lady38,

Thank you for telling us about your recent trip to celebrate your anniversary at The Peabody. I’m glad you had the opportunity to enjoy The Peabody’s central downtown location and close proximity to Beale Street and other Memphis attractions. As you mentioned, our rooftop provides one of the best views of the Mississippi River and Downtown Memphis. I apologize that we were unable to meet your upgrade request. Upon your next visit, I’d urge you to book directly with us as we can better meet requests at the time of bookings. We hope you have the opportunity to visit the “South’s Grand Hotel” again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Peabody for a business conference and had a wonderful time. The room was so cute, I had a great view and was very clean. Room service was polite and quick. The hotel is within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. Only about a $25 cab ride from the airport, cabs are quick and efficient to/from the hotel.

The hotel is as relaxing or as happening as you would like it to be. The bar starts to fill in the afternoon, with a delightful chatter filling the lobby. There is also a rooftop bar/party that seems to draw a big crowd. The music can be heard from the rooms, but it seem to quiet down at an appropriate time.

I would love to have the opportunity to stay at the Peabody again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeOfTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff very helpful and charming. Talked us in to upgrading to the 12th floor. Rooms small but very nice with all the trimmings. Service with a smile was abundant. Love the southern feel of the time and place from the South. A very good hotel but not the luxury you would expect that you receive from other high end properties. However you leave feeling well taken care of and that smile on your face that is so contagious.

Room Tip: Upgrade. When you add the offers they almost pay for the cost of the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenHagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear DenHagg,

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you took advantage of your upgrade opportunity and enjoyed your stay on The Peabody Club Floor. As you mentioned, staying on the Club Floor offers many amenities such as valet parking, welcome glass of champagne and hot hors d’oeuvres in the evenings. I hope that you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room & bathroom were not cleaned or freshened despite contacting housekeeping. Bed not made, no fresh towels. The bathroom was tiny.The lobby wait staff in the afternoon were surly. The elevator door hit so hard I was pushed into someone. The best part of the hotel is the lobby ambiance & the delightful concierge staff. Their restaurant suggestions were excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NapoliNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear NapoliNina,

Thank you for staying at The Peabody and for bringing your concerns to our attention. I apologize for the let down in service you experienced. At The Peabody we provide housekeeping and turndown services daily unless instructed other wise. Your experience is not common of a stay at The Peabody, and I have sent your review to our Housekeeping Department as a training tool. I hope you visit Memphis again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing