We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service, great staff: GREAT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location, great service, great staff: GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Last weekend, I attended a Board meeting here, to plan our national conference to be held in Memphis at The Peabody in 2013. It was abundantly clear we chose well: the meeting venues will work well for our group, the rooms will be completely redone (my room was delightfully comfortable this time, but when we saw examples of the new decor, it's clear things will be kicked up a notch!). We sampled great Memphis restaurants, strolled down Beale Street, took group pictures at the Elvis statue - and The Peabody was always just a comfortable walk away. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus_Blair1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Deercats,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you were able to get a sneak peek of our newly renovated guest rooms, and enthusiastically approved of our updates. We are very excited about introducing our guests to these new rooms early next year, and look forward to your conference’s visit in 2013.

Thanks again,
Angus Blair
Director of Rooms
901-529-3616
angus.blair@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,732
    784
    323
    135
    90
See reviews for
647
1,085
102
615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Peabody for an anniversary weekend and it was an incredible experience. The hotel is vintage elegance at its finest. The front desk upgraded our room to the 2 story Romeo & Juliet suite...stunning! Later, wine and pastries were sent to our room. What a delightful surprise! The staff at the hotel is one of the warmest, friendliest and helpful that we have ever encountered outside of Disneyworld. The ducks add to the ambiance and are a must see! The duck design throughout the hotel is charming. The Lansky Bros stores have a bevy of well designed upscale stores on the lobby level that are full of history. You must go into the men's store to see all the guitars from famous store patrons! (Elvis, of course, their most famous client.) Put the Peabody on your bucket list! It's a must for everyone to experience! Quack-Quack!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blanche&milver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus_Blair1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear blanche&milver,

Thank you for giving The Peabody the honor of playing host to your anniversary weekend. It sounds like you had a memorable experience enjoying wine, pastries and our romantic Romeo & Juliet Suite. Thank you for your kind review and for sharing pictures of your stay with us. I hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Angus Blair
Director of Rooms
901-529-3616
angus.blair@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently stayed at The Peabody Memphis for a board retreat. The hotel staff is friendly and courteous; the meeting space more than adequate and the food and beverage service far better than most hotels.

While our small group was there primarily for business, we did enjoy The Corner Bar ($20 Jack Daniels flight on Thursdays) and the March of the Peabody Ducks.

The hotel's close proximity to Beale Street, dining/nightlife, attractions and the trolly service make it a desirable location for our 2013 Conference. Look forward to returning in May.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestinationIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus_Blair1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear DestinationIrvine,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Memphis and we able to enjoy several of our amenities even though your travels were business related. As you mentioned, The Corner Bar offers weekday specials which are perfect after a long day of conferences and meetings. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peabody, we look forward to your conference’s visit in 2013.

Thanks again,
Angus Blair
Director of Rooms
901-529-3616
angus.blair@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Peabody for a planning retreat for a conference coming up next spring. I was lucky enough to get a sample of the remodeled sleeping rooms. They are gorgeous! We look forward to bringing a big group back next year to experience the fantastic hotel along with the treasures of Memphis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived in Memphis after a long drive from Nashville in the pouring rain. We found the hotel without too much difficulty, we then found the car park but having parked the car it was extremely badly sign posted as to how to actually get into the hotel. Having dragged our bags round for what seemed like ages, we eventually found the entrance. The hotel is extremely ornate but the decor is dark which makes the whole ground floor quite cloying. We found the reception staff patronising and almost rude and the same comments apply to the concierge. I don't know who these people think they are. The room for such a grand hotel to my mind was pokey with hardly any room to get around the bed and the bathroom was small and old fashioned. There is no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The best thing about this hotel is the marching ducks which march from where they are in a fountain in the ground floor of the hotel up steps out of the fountain along a red carpet and into the lift to be taken to their usual enclosure. This occurs every day at 5pm and anyone is allowed to watch not just guests.

We visited Gracelands of course whilst in Memphis. This too was disappointing being much smaller than I had imagined and in a run down part of town. If you want to see everything i.e., the mansion, the car collection and the plane then it will cost you $70 each. We just did the mansion and grounds and this was $32.00 each. Elvis is buried in the grounds and you can visit his grave. The tour was interesting but it is all very commercial and tacky.

We visited the famous Beale Street in the evening which is only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Unfortunately it was very quiet as it was a Monday night and raining. We enjoyed ourselves despite this. We ate in a place called Silkys which was fun and not too expensive and then proceeded to another bar to listen to some good music. I would imagine a great time could be had on a week-end with people partying in the street but that experience was not to be for us unfortunately. Please message me with any questions you may have on the hotel or Memphis and I will be happy to answer if I can.

Room Tip: I would not stay in this hotel again and I would not recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyBarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus_Blair1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear JoyBarnet,

Thank you for visiting The Peabody during your tour of the Deep South. I apologize for the complications you encountered while parking your vehicle. Being a historic downtown property, The Peabody’s parking garage was added many years after the initial opening in 1925. Because of this, the parking garage is actually adjacent to the hotel, but complete with a covered, air-conditioned walkway to the entrance of the hotel. I appreciate your comments concerning our sign placement. We will review these positions to ensure the directions we give guests are clear.

Being a Forbes Four star hotel, our goal is to offer the optimal level of service. In order to ensure freshness and serve our guests, coffee is available in The Peabody Deli and Dessert from 6 a.m. to 9 a.m. Upon your next visit, if you’d like a coffee pot in your room our housekeeping staff would be happy to provide it, upon request.

I’m pleased you were able to enjoy The Peabody’s close proximity to many of Memphis’ biggest attractions including Beale Street. I hope you visit Memphis again soon.

Kind regards,
Angus Blair
Director of Rooms
901-529-3616
angus.blair@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I went here to attend a conference, but the ducks were a draw. The crowds at the times of the ducks' arrival and departure to and from the lobby were larger than I anticipated. It wasn't easy to see them either from the floor or the balcony. My room had Southern and historic charm and was comfortable. Don't expect modernity--this is a true historic property. Downtown Memphis can be sketchy and this hotel is in the heart of it. I enjoyed reading the historical duck footed brass inlays around the outside of the hotel...as well as the brass note markers on Beale Street only blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldfinger13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus_Blair1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Goldfinger13_11,

Thank you for staying at The Peabody during your trip to Memphis. Like you said, the world famous Peabody Duck March can draw large crowds, especially during the weekends. That is why we like to suggest to our guests that they arrive 30 minutes prior to each march for the best view. The duck footed inlays around the outside of The Peabody are members of The Peabody Duck Walk Hall of Fame. Each year on our anniversary, we induct a person who has played a prominent role in Memphis and at The Peabody. Thank you for interest in our history, I hope that you stay at The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Angus Blair
Director of Rooms
901-529-3616
angus.blair@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I just returned from my first stay at the Peabody. Quirky, yes, but in a most entertaining way. Don't miss the Duck Parade! My room was expansive and most excellently appointed. In advance of my stay I had requested that all down filled pillows be removed from the room. Upon entering my room I was delighted to discover that my request had been granted - no reminder needed as is the case in all other hotels I have stayed in. The bathroom was on the small side; amenities were ample and the fixtures obviously new. The only negative was the 4:30am wake-up call thanks to either a fire drill or a false alarm. The staff is extremely helpful, personable and professional - from bellhops to front desk staff to housekeepers, all were a pleasure to deal with. On my first day I asked a staff member where I might find a cup of coffee; the gentleman was kind enough to walk me to the Peabody's most excellent deli. (Don't miss a trip to the deli - the pastries are worthy of any Parisian patisserie.) Breakfast buffet was included with my stay; the offerings were modest in variety but of very good quality.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues you might want to be aware that you will need to navigate stairs between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus_Blair1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear AndiCNJ,

Thank you for your comments, and for staying at the “South’s Grand Hotel.” I am pleased that you found your room to be “excellently appointed.” At The Peabody, we take every special request seriously, and were delighted to remove the down filled pillows from your room. I sincerely apologize for your 4:30 a.m. wakeup call by way of our fire alarm. Thankfully, there was not an actual fire. The alarm was triggered by smoke from a service elevator motor. Thank you for your patience and understanding as our guests’ safety is a top priority. I hope that you visit Memphis again soon, and that you choose to stay at The Peabody once again.

Thanks again,
Angus Blair
Director of Rooms
901-529-3616
angus.blair@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing