We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, shady location - but extremely safe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Memphis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Memphis to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Memphis
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1199 Linden Avenue, or 1199 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave, Memphis, TN 38104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #54 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, shady location - but extremely safe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were not sure what to expect when we pulled into the parking lot, but we were not expecting Memphis to be as, well, scary as it is to us. We're not soft travelers (we've been to NYC, shady parts of Philly, etc) but we didn't exactly feel safe in most parts of Memphis. This hotel made us feel safe and comfortable, and was in a less scary area than other hotels. The parking lot has cameras, the doors of the rooms have bolts, and we felt safe while staying there. The rooms were fabulous - absolutely to die for at this price. The bed was firm and comfortable, and the room was equipped with a fridge, table, and microwave. Definitely a lot for your money. It is also about 10min away from downtown Memphis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DLTada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you're looking for a budget place to spend the night in Memphis without wanting to go miles and miles from downtown, this might be the place for you. The hotel, though certainly not in walking distance from downtown is only some 10-15 minutes to downtown by car. The outside of the motel is downright grim as is the neighborhood. It's right across the street from the parking lot of a major hospital and the parking spaces are just off the sidewalk so make sure you lock you car doors! The rooms are fair size and adequate. There is a good Internet connection but the room phones cannot accept outsize calls. My wife called during the evening and the man at the desk walked over to my room, knocked on my door and handed me his cell-phone! He told me that since everyone has a cell-phone nowadays, the management decided to limit the phone service in the rooms to local calls.
If you're on a VERY low budget and are not too, too picky, the Rodeway might just be your ticket!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is about 2 miles from Downtown and not a good walk. The hotel is a little run down and not particularly clean, the safety catch on the room door was broken. The breakfast area is cramped and again not what I'd call clean. The staff were indifferent our initial contact the staff didn't appear to understand me and had to refer me to a younger member. Therefore unless you're on a very limited budget I'd avoid this spot.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuckersUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for an inexpensive place that is close to downtown. When you first drive up, I have to say that it does look a bit "scary." However, it is right across the road from a hospital parking structure. I never saw anything outside that made me worry though. But, then again, I'm not going to be prowling around at night on the streets of Memphis. The hotel staff was very nice and pleasant. The room was very large, clean, and spacious. It also came with a mini-fridge in the room. Very nice if you want to keep some drinks in your room. I only stayed one night but I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The room is very spacious, and it's clean, The location is close enough to the downtown. If you don't have a car, it might be a little bit difficult to get around, but otherwise, it's a good compromise between the price and the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I were in Memphis for a few days and chose this place for three reasons: good price, close to the things in Memphis we wanted to see, and good trip advisor reviews. The place is great in terms of being able to be on Beale street in just a couple of minutes. The neighborhood is a little questionable. I definitely wouldn't have felt safe going for a walk around the block after dark. However, we never felt unsafe in the hotel room. The room was big and was clean. It had an ironing board and iron as well as a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. I would say that the breakfast was pretty weak and having to ask for ice at the front desk is a little annoying (especially when he only gives you half an ice bucket full). Overall, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay and go down to Beale, this is it. If you're looking for something really nice and upscale, spend the extra money and stay downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandManLJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was the perfect place for us to stop on our trip with our dogs. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. There were ample places to walk the dogs, including a high school just down the block. We will stay here again, next time traveling through Memphis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#16 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#13 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 134 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Memphis

Address: 1199 Linden Avenue, or 1199 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave, Memphis, TN 38104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 134 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Rodeway Inn Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing