We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you're looking for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Memphis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Memphis
Ranked #58 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Depends on what you're looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I were in Memphis for a few days and chose this place for three reasons: good price, close to the things in Memphis we wanted to see, and good trip advisor reviews. The place is great in terms of being able to be on Beale street in just a couple of minutes. The neighborhood is a little questionable. I definitely wouldn't have felt safe going for a walk around the block after dark. However, we never felt unsafe in the hotel room. The room was big and was clean. It had an ironing board and iron as well as a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. I would say that the breakfast was pretty weak and having to ask for ice at the front desk is a little annoying (especially when he only gives you half an ice bucket full). Overall, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay and go down to Beale, this is it. If you're looking for something really nice and upscale, spend the extra money and stay downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandManLJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    73
    35
    10
    14
See reviews for
28
75
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was the perfect place for us to stop on our trip with our dogs. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. There were ample places to walk the dogs, including a high school just down the block. We will stay here again, next time traveling through Memphis.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a good quality budget motel that we chose after reading Trip Advisor reviews. There were three of us so we had 2 king beds and a very spacious room. It really was a little too far from Beale St as we did not have a car ( $13 taxi ride) but for the price it was ok. Airconditioning was very noisy. The friendliest person was the house maid who was extremely helpful with local knowledge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassiedevil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was close to Beale Street and more on the affordable side. The room was a nice size, and I appreciated the chairs. However, the room was freezing! Evem putting the air conditioner on low in 100 degree weather, I was wrapped up in a blanket. I would advise just to put it on fan. The comfort of the bed was comparable with the price of the room, so be advised if you have back or joint problems. The cable did not work the day that we stayed, and when I called the front desk about it, I got no apology. He acted as if he could care less. On checkin, the bathroom only had about 15 sheets of toilet paper on the roll, it took twenty minutes for them to bring me a roll, the employee didn't even speak, just knocked on the door and handed it to me and walked off. The wifi is extremely poor, I couldn't even check my email. I saw a roach crawling on the wall in the room. There was no coffeemaker or sofa sleeper as advertised. We did not have an iron or ironing board either. Don't bother opening the curtains because all you will see is a parking structure. Also, on coming back to the room at night, we saw a couple of prostitutes working the corner the motel is sitting on. We will not stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a meat & potatoes property, no frills like fitness room, pool, biz center or guest laundry. The rooms were recently remodeled and thus very clean and comfortable. With easy parking right in front, this motel is a perfect economy-friendly place to stay for a night while in town. Very close to downtown, too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcatgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Other reviewers have already commented on cleanliness, so I will focus on the helpful management. We had a problem with our room that required a move to a different room. We received a new room immediately (10 pm), and were not charged for one night. The owners were attentive to any problems we had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Well situated for visiting Graceland and Beale str. Nice big room with all amenities, but a little old. The lobby could use a work over and some cleaning. No ice machine and ice had to be requested at the front desk, only half a bucket available. Nothing special, so I wonder why they have a tripadvisor excellence reward, there are many more inns like this one, that could be rated the same.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor. By error I rated the swimming pool, there is none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hdr2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Exchange Guest Suites
#54 of 138 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown
#11 of 138 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Memphis

Property: Rodeway Inn Memphis
Address: 1199 Linden Avenue, or 1199 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Ave, Memphis, TN 38104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Rodeway Inn Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing