We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”

Marlowes Ribs and Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 1,446 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Lurgan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Husband and I where celebrating 40 years of marriage staying at Heartbreak hotel, went to Marlows in the pink cadilliac.i had pulled pork, Derek had half a slab of ribs, awesome, were enterained by new York Elvis,, great night, everyone friendly,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libbyreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    289
    112
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Friends, I'm a serious foodie and had seen the Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives episode that featured this restaurant. Imagine my surprise when I checked into a Memphis airport hotel and they handed me a flyer saying that a pink cadillac would pick me up and take me there for free. Where do I sign? I was hungry, tired and full of anticipation when the limo pulled up. The car was not in that great of shape and there was debris on the floor, but the driver was very friendly. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and shown a nice booth. The place is really cute with lots of music and Elvis memorabilia. We decided on a brisket with beans and cole slaw. The sign out front says they smoke the meat 16 hours. Well, my initial response when cutting into the meat was that it was tougher than expected. The BBQ sauce had so much vinegar that it was way too tart. I know BBQ is a very personalized taste, but I have to report I was wildly disappointed. I actually have a spreadsheet called "Bucket List". Marlowe's was on it. As I crossed it off my list I just shook my head.... Very disappointed. (The cole slaw and beans were good though. My waiter was great.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KYMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you are into all that Elvis stuff, you probably won't notice that this is the worst BBQ imaginable. We were traveling through and decided to eat an another BBQ place, but boy was this a mistake. The bbq ribs were overcooked and the pulled pork looked like it had been dished out last week ... very dry and tasteless. The BBQ sauce was in lumps. The baked beans had a skin on top from age. Enough to gag a maggot!! Next time drive your own car and get some decent food elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulL227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Memphis”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and myself tried several BBQ places in Memphis(the city
is well known for BBQ) and the Best BBQ was Marlowes Restaurant and Ribs. The servings are large and tasty. It is only
2 miles south of Graceland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 41Trav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Went here based on DDD visiting here for a FoodTV show and were not disappointed. Parents had pulled pork and brisket and the kids had BBQ spaghetti. Meat was tender and seasoning/sauce had tons of flavor.

Setting and wait staff were corny but friendly. Not unexpected given its proximity to Graceland.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marlowes Ribs and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing