We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed July 20, 2007

This hotel is a terrific experience. Usually, I find that Embassy Suites are showing their age a little, and while this one might have been a little rough around the ages (faded carpet), overall it was a pleasant exception! Wonderful service, fabulous "Manager's Reception", very comfortable beds, and a much better than average breakfast. On our way back, we stayed at the Hampton next door because this one was booked...Hamptons are always nice, but there was no comparison to this Embassy Suites!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kmooretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    231
    144
    107
    82
See reviews for
346
160
27
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My husband, 3 children and I recently visited Memphis for a weekend family getaway ( to enjoy the Memphis Zoo, eat great bbq, etc.......) and were pleased with our accommodations. I phoned the day of our arrival and asked for a goody basket to be placed in our room as a way of thanking my husband for working so hard for our family and providing the trip. I specified some treats that he enjoys snacking on and the hotel staff was very eager to please. We did indeed have a basket waiting in the room and it brought smiles! Not one word of complaint or indication that I was asking for too much!! Also, the hotel is offering the build-a-bear workshop package that we took advantage of. Our children loved having their own "welcome" gift waiting for them!! The only negative was the limited room service hours. It closed at 10:30pm which was a bit early for those of us wanting a "midnight snack". Also, the pool and spa areas were not the cleanest they could have been. (water smelled odd and looked dirty). VERY PLEASANT STAFF

  • Liked — staff very eager to please; manager's reception and breakfast
  • Disliked — pool and hot tub
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank louisianascarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My family and I drive during our summer vacation and Embassy Suite, Memphis was a stop to the coast.
Overall the hotel is good, staff is accommodating, rooms looks to be fairly up to date and clean, beds were comfortable and was not sloping in the middle.
The pool was over chlorinated though, as you walk into the pool area, not only can you smell it but your eyes feel it, this seems to be typical with alot of in-door pool (except for our subsequent stay in Embassy Suite, Winston-Salem).
Paid for the internet access, $9.95. Was it worth it? NO.
In-consistent speed, had to turn or and rescan numerous to try to get a faster speed. We were typically getting complimentary wireless and those I expected to have issues, but when I pay for it I expected better.
Hotel is located close to restaurants and access to the freeway is great. During the past several vacations, we have stayed in the poorer section of Memphis, the middle section and the area that this hotel is located I would consider the more richer section. For my family which we tend to go out to eat, the Bartlett section of Memphis seems to be more accommodating as far as distance to where we needed to go..

  • Liked — Location to freeway
  • Disliked — internet access that you had to pay with in-consistent signal
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank d_Q_group
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

we stayed only 1 nite for my son's college registration/orientation. Everything was very nice. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Happy hour was very good with call brands and hot chicken wings, vegies, dip and a chex mix. Breakfast was very good - omelets, waffles, bacon, sausage etc. People and staff were also very nice. There is an italian restaurant in the hotel that was very good. Ruths Chris' and a Flemings are very close - you can almost walk. I have already booked 2 nights in August for fall college orientaion. This had a separate bedroom . We had stayed at Homewood Suites on Poplar and it just had 1 big open room. This was much better!!!!

  • Liked — room, comfy bed
  • Disliked — cold pool water, whirlpool - tooo hot
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Iyuan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Hills, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed at the Embassy Suites July 14. It was a gorgeous hotel in a great location of Germantown. It was only about 15 mins. from downtown Memphis. All the rooms are suites with a seperate bedroom. The room had a table and 4 chairs, a couch, kitchen bar, microwave, fridge and sink in the kitchen area. The inside of the hotel is beautifully decorated with streams and ducks walking around.

One of the best deals is they have a Manager's reception every night with snacks and open bar. You can sit and enjoy the refreshments and meet with the staff. They also include breakfast with the price. Made to order omlets, bacon, pancakes, sausage, cereals, fruit, muffins, breads, bagels and more. It was fantastic! This was a wonderful place as a home base to Elivs Country!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Kind of crowded
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_tre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very pleased. Very nice staff here, from the bellman, to the front desk, to the ladies who cook breakfast each day. The omlets and pancakes were delicious, by the way.

The room was very nice, big, and clean. I did notice that the carpet was a bit dirty, even though they vacuumed--it probably needs to be steam cleaned. On our 2nd day, we had to call and ask for more bath towels and washcloths for the following day--none were left after the room was cleaned. The towels were delivered within an hour while we were out.

Back to the room--large and comfortable. It was great having a seperate bedroom so we could have our son sleep in the pack-n-play in the living room. The bedroom has a "real" door so you can shut that off from the rest of the room. This is exactly what we needed with a child who goes to bed at 8:00 p.m.! I like this much better than so called suites that just have a sitting area next to the beds. There was a little kitchenette area between the 2 rooms with a small microwave, refrigerator, and sink. The bathroom was in this area too. Both the living area and bedroom had TV's and the bedroom had an extra sink.

The hotel is in a safe area, right off of Poplar and 240, so it's easy to find places to eat, shop, etc. or to get to other parts of Memphis. The parking lot is kind of tight and stayed pretty full, but we always managed to find a spot. There is a Hampton Inn on one side and an office building and shopping center on the other. We were on the 4th floor and did not have a problem with noise from the Atrium area. We would be glad to stay here again.

  • Liked — the true
  • Disliked — nothing to report
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We stayed 1 night at the Embassy Suite Hotel. Upon entering, I noticed immediatly that the lobby scenery was breathtaking. The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs during our stay. The indoor heated pool, jacuzzi and sauna were kept clean and the hotel lobby as well. A river ran through the center of the hotel, with waterfalls, palm trees, plenty of greenery,, with ducks and fish there to enjoy their stay as well. The resturant located inside the hotel (Frank Grisanti's) was pricey, but delicious. Come with a big appetite, there is plenty to go around. Our room was large and spacious with a pull out bed in the living room area if needed. The King size bed was comfortable and the pillows did not feel like bricks. The complimentary breakfast had a large variety of food, I suggest getting there early for a hot plate. Omlettes & pancakes are cooked to order, which are delicious. Everything else is first come first serve, but with so much to choose from, you seem to never run short. I am very satisfied with my stay and will be returning to this hotel every time I need to "getaway".

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gwendlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#23 of 136 in Memphis
939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott Memphis East
Marriott Memphis East
#33 of 136 in Memphis
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
Address: 1022 Shady Grove Rd S, Memphis, TN 38120-4119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Memphis Hotel Memphis
Memphis Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing