We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay but wireless internet not so good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Stay but wireless internet not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

My family and I drive during our summer vacation and Embassy Suite, Memphis was a stop to the coast.
Overall the hotel is good, staff is accommodating, rooms looks to be fairly up to date and clean, beds were comfortable and was not sloping in the middle.
The pool was over chlorinated though, as you walk into the pool area, not only can you smell it but your eyes feel it, this seems to be typical with alot of in-door pool (except for our subsequent stay in Embassy Suite, Winston-Salem).
Paid for the internet access, $9.95. Was it worth it? NO.
In-consistent speed, had to turn or and rescan numerous to try to get a faster speed. We were typically getting complimentary wireless and those I expected to have issues, but when I pay for it I expected better.
Hotel is located close to restaurants and access to the freeway is great. During the past several vacations, we have stayed in the poorer section of Memphis, the middle section and the area that this hotel is located I would consider the more richer section. For my family which we tend to go out to eat, the Bartlett section of Memphis seems to be more accommodating as far as distance to where we needed to go..

  • Liked — Location to freeway
  • Disliked — internet access that you had to pay with in-consistent signal
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank d_Q_group
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    217
    131
    98
    79
See reviews for
323
151
26
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Mo.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

we stayed only 1 nite for my son's college registration/orientation. Everything was very nice. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Happy hour was very good with call brands and hot chicken wings, vegies, dip and a chex mix. Breakfast was very good - omelets, waffles, bacon, sausage etc. People and staff were also very nice. There is an italian restaurant in the hotel that was very good. Ruths Chris' and a Flemings are very close - you can almost walk. I have already booked 2 nights in August for fall college orientaion. This had a separate bedroom . We had stayed at Homewood Suites on Poplar and it just had 1 big open room. This was much better!!!!

  • Liked — room, comfy bed
  • Disliked — cold pool water, whirlpool - tooo hot
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Iyuan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Hills, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

We stayed at the Embassy Suites July 14. It was a gorgeous hotel in a great location of Germantown. It was only about 15 mins. from downtown Memphis. All the rooms are suites with a seperate bedroom. The room had a table and 4 chairs, a couch, kitchen bar, microwave, fridge and sink in the kitchen area. The inside of the hotel is beautifully decorated with streams and ducks walking around.

One of the best deals is they have a Manager's reception every night with snacks and open bar. You can sit and enjoy the refreshments and meet with the staff. They also include breakfast with the price. Made to order omlets, bacon, pancakes, sausage, cereals, fruit, muffins, breads, bagels and more. It was fantastic! This was a wonderful place as a home base to Elivs Country!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Kind of crowded
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_tre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very pleased. Very nice staff here, from the bellman, to the front desk, to the ladies who cook breakfast each day. The omlets and pancakes were delicious, by the way.

The room was very nice, big, and clean. I did notice that the carpet was a bit dirty, even though they vacuumed--it probably needs to be steam cleaned. On our 2nd day, we had to call and ask for more bath towels and washcloths for the following day--none were left after the room was cleaned. The towels were delivered within an hour while we were out.

Back to the room--large and comfortable. It was great having a seperate bedroom so we could have our son sleep in the pack-n-play in the living room. The bedroom has a "real" door so you can shut that off from the rest of the room. This is exactly what we needed with a child who goes to bed at 8:00 p.m.! I like this much better than so called suites that just have a sitting area next to the beds. There was a little kitchenette area between the 2 rooms with a small microwave, refrigerator, and sink. The bathroom was in this area too. Both the living area and bedroom had TV's and the bedroom had an extra sink.

The hotel is in a safe area, right off of Poplar and 240, so it's easy to find places to eat, shop, etc. or to get to other parts of Memphis. The parking lot is kind of tight and stayed pretty full, but we always managed to find a spot. There is a Hampton Inn on one side and an office building and shopping center on the other. We were on the 4th floor and did not have a problem with noise from the Atrium area. We would be glad to stay here again.

  • Liked — the true
  • Disliked — nothing to report
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2007

We stayed 1 night at the Embassy Suite Hotel. Upon entering, I noticed immediatly that the lobby scenery was breathtaking. The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs during our stay. The indoor heated pool, jacuzzi and sauna were kept clean and the hotel lobby as well. A river ran through the center of the hotel, with waterfalls, palm trees, plenty of greenery,, with ducks and fish there to enjoy their stay as well. The resturant located inside the hotel (Frank Grisanti's) was pricey, but delicious. Come with a big appetite, there is plenty to go around. Our room was large and spacious with a pull out bed in the living room area if needed. The King size bed was comfortable and the pillows did not feel like bricks. The complimentary breakfast had a large variety of food, I suggest getting there early for a hot plate. Omlettes & pancakes are cooked to order, which are delicious. Everything else is first come first serve, but with so much to choose from, you seem to never run short. I am very satisfied with my stay and will be returning to this hotel every time I need to "getaway".

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gwendlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

We just returned from a weekend stay at this Embassy Suites. This was the best hotel stay we have ever had, bar none! The hotel staff were so nice, I was spoiled! We got exactly what we asked for, when we asked for it. They accomodated our every request, with a smile and a pleasant response. The hotel was nicely decorated, with a koi and duck river through the middle that kept my kids entertained for hours, an arcade, and an indoor pool. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, beds were perfect, and decor was very upscale. They have even installed a second sink in the bedroom to better accomodate large families.

The hotel was easy to get to off the interstate but was out of the way so there was no noise in the rooms at all. We all rested really well and had a fabulous breakfast every morning. The evening reception with free drinks and nachos was really nice as we had a drinky-poo while the kids played in the arcade and had a little snack.

We truly felt spoiled and pampered. When we started driving home on Sunday, we realized we had reentered the "real world" with snotty and rude sales people and clerks, dirty bathrooms, etc. Also, we visited the Memphis Zoo which was awesome and kept my family entertained for more than 6 hours.

Kudos to the Embassy Suites Memphis staff for doing such a great job!

Andrea
Nashville, TN

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank needsunandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
0.6 mi away
Marriott Memphis East
Marriott Memphis East
#39 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#19 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
Address: 1022 S Shady Grove Rd, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Memphis Hotel Memphis
Memphis Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing