We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at the Embassy Suites Memphis for two nights at the end of June. The property is well maintained, yet slightly dated. The check in and check out process were quick and painless.

The managers reception was overall pretty good, but the highlight was Freddy the bartender. This guy is a character and likes to hold a conversation! Welcome to the south. The one managers reception that I caught had tortilla chips, salsa, chili and of course the open bar.

The breakfast buffet was the typical sausage links, french toast sticks, mass produced scrambled eggs, cereal, juice, coffee and milk. There is an omelette station where you can have pancakes and grits as well. The lady taking the orders had a bit of an attitude which rubbed me the wrong way.

The pool was overrun with kids that weekend as there were some birthday parties going on. The noise was never too out of hand and I could tell they were happy to be somewhere new.

I noticed that they have a workout room (see pics below), but did not use it during my stay.

This is a great hotel for a family stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trueohioplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    221
    138
    99
    81
See reviews for
329
154
27
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed on the fifth floor. All was better than we thought considering other reviews. Restuarant was good, especially considering the location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susansci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This has always been one of my favorite places to stay. The Memphis location was wonderful. Comfy beds and excellent breakfast. I was able to have my morning workout using the hotel facilities, cool off with a swim and start on my tour of the city. After a busy day, we returned to the Hotel right in time to wind down at the managers reception featuring free cocktails.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel has a great location on the East side of Memphis as Poplar is about 8 miles from downtown and there are malls and shopping both to the east and west of the Embassy Suites. Great room and value for the money. We stayed three nights and the rooms were recently updated with extra granite countertops in the bedroom for a bonus sink as well as very well lighted. I travel a great deal and always enjoy rooms where the temperature can be adjusted quickly and with Memphis weather, our room was perfect. The front staff was very helpful printing maps to find various locations and also from Beale Street to other sites. We enjoyed the donuts on Friday morning and since there was a family reunion going on at the same time as our visit, we were glad to see that the hotel added a breakfast buffet line so we could avoid the line for the omelet station. We also enjoyed seeing the little ducks of all sizes and types that live at the hotel. Is this the Peabody East and if so we enjoyed seeing them.

Room Tip: We always ask for rooms close to elevators and this hotel has two sets of elevators so in addition t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiefs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Embassy Suites Memphis is the best deal for your money plus it's great service and quality accommodations! From the Staff to the spacious rooms and pleasant atmosphere, you can't go wrong here. Did I mention the delectable breakfast and the sweetest breakfast staff ever? I felt like I was wanted and very much at home. Hats off to this great hotel. I always stay Embassy Suites!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My first time going to Embassy Suite Memphis it was beyond my expectations the rooms were very clean and roomy we went for my son birthday they worked with us on our check in time the people there were very friendly the manager's reception was really nice able to drink as many drink for two ours and they served nachos with salsa, cheese or chili and the breakfast was really good so many things to choose from not only did you get you're breakfast cooked in front of you and they had buffets set up was enough food for everyone. Also ducks and all the ponds in the floor with big fishes and te relaxing waterfall the view inside the hotel is very relaxing this is also were my husband and I spent our 1st anniversary he loved it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanikacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, evening social gathering (free cocktails and soft drinks) and free cook-to-order breakfast every morning.
Beautiful lobby area with waterfall and streams running throughout, and some ducks. Nice Italian restaurant in hotel, and nice bar.
Pool is a little small and only an indoor pool, but the kids loved it anyway. The Embassy was a great experience and I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: higher up seemed to be less noisy, not a very good view from the room window on the left side of hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31Voldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
0.6 mi away
Marriott Memphis East
Marriott Memphis East
#40 of 136 in Memphis
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#18 of 136 in Memphis
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
Address: 1022 S Shady Grove Rd, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Memphis Hotel Memphis
Memphis Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing