We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see Studio”
Review of Sun Studio

Sun Studio
Ranked #3 of 120 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sun Studio - The place where an 18 year old Elvis Presley recorded his first song. It’s well-known in the music industry as "The Birthplace of Rock 'N' Roll" and the most famous recording studio in the world. Opened by rock pioneer Sam Phillips in 1950, this national Historic Landmark is where superstar musicians like Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis, B.B. King, Howlin' Wolf, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison and countless others started their recording careers. Today, Sun Studio still serves as a recording studio in the evenings while hosting public tours during the daytime hours.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Anyone with an interest in music should go here. You learn about Philips who created the studio and seemingly single-handed brought a lot of musicians to the fore who never would have had a voice. Stand on the spot that Elvis crooned, see the piano that Jerry Lee Lewis banged out Great Balls of Fire...

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank PaulJamesSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"johnny cash"
in 1,059 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 1,220 reviews
"jerry lee"
in 714 reviews
"music history"
in 703 reviews
"rock and roll"
in 694 reviews
"great tour"
in 668 reviews
"the million dollar quartet"
in 230 reviews
"small building"
in 114 reviews
"small place"
in 127 reviews
"recording equipment"
in 105 reviews
"music fan"
in 191 reviews
"come alive"
in 90 reviews
"music lovers"
in 194 reviews
"love music"
in 156 reviews
"early days"
in 101 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 138 reviews
"elvis presley"
in 245 reviews
Filter

7,860 - 7,864 of 9,641 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Any music lover would jump at the chance to see where Rock 'N' Roll History was made. The guide had tons of interesting tidbits and lots of enthusiasm. Guided tours typically take place hourly on the half-hour. We saw the sign and assumed we'd have to wait 45 minutes for the next tour. But when we inquired, they said that another tour had been added because the previous one had sold out. We only had to wait a few minutes for it to start. You should know that, compared to the other music museums in Memphis, there isn't really much to see. There is one room of display cases and and the studio itself. It's fine to do once, but I don't think I'd go back. If there were no guide, you could see the whole thing in 15 minutes. The other museums have enough displays to keep you busy for hours, and give you more "bang for your buck."

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank JonesieLinthicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

do yourself a favor and stop here before you go to Graceland learn how it all began many many stars were found here recorded here.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank oldtraveler1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are a fan of Rock n Roll, You must do the Sun Studio tour. All I can say is COOL! The tour guide was knowledgeable and a bit quirky. The tour was informative and fun. We are glad we went.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank TerrylB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great tour. The staff is very knowledgeable. Would have been nice to be less crowded on the tour group. Hard to hear at back, but then you turn around and you are the front

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank soccergirlStLouis_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing