We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere!”
Review of Itta Bena

Itta Bena
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 6/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #16 of 1,690 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Second
Description: Up the fire escape above BB Kings Blues Club lies Memphis' "hidden gem" Itta Bena. Named for the town where legendary BB King was born, Itta Bena embodies the charm and inspiration of fine southern dining. Itta Bena restaurant and bar invites you in for a cool libation and southern cuisine with a Delta twist. From our Grilled New Zealand Lamb Chops to our Jumbo Shrimp and Grits and decadent desserts, Itta Bena has something for everyone. So come as you are - no jackets required, for great food in a relaxed atmosphere with unrivaled southern hospitality.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Enter a different world when you visit Itta Bena. There are no signs, you walk up there unmarked stairs from three rear it through an unmarked stairway in BB Kings club to
enter a different world of tablecloths, muted lighting and murmured service. Soft blues plays in the background.
The she crab soup is a must. Dishes were will presented and prepared.
A unique and delightful experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank tomitomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 453 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Our conference host chose this place for dinner and me and my wife were happy that we enjoyed. Food and drinks were right and tasty, ambience is fine. Waiters did their best as we were group of 70 people.
The Filipino origin waitress was very kind and spent time on our table to give us more information about the city and life.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ov45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

When I made reservations, I did not know that this was a white-tablecloth place, but even in our tourist shorts and sneakers we were fully welcomed. The food choices were extremely fresh and we were brought samples of things that we had questions about. Trying to avoid pasta, I ordered the Cajun pasta dish, substituting with spinach. The wait staff did not blink an eye and it was delicious! The manager even came out and chatted with us a bit and served us a pecan liqueur with dessert that was just amazing. Highly, highly recommended!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

Have been many times but found this disappointing. It's obviously more focussed on dining than the music but the food misses. Unfortunately you don't have any sense of being in a music venue, you can't see or hear the band which is only one floor below.
The soup and crab cakes were just adequate

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

We were lucky enought to get in early to dine without a reservation. The staff was wonderful - almost too attentive but who can complain about that? The ambience was perfect, a quiet location above the madness of Beale Street. Lovely quartet playing in the background was great, not too loud where you still couldn't have an intimate conversation. Had the scallops and grits and the cajun pasta and they were both sublime. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Itta Bena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing