We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a tourist trap”
Review of Itta Bena

Itta Bena
Reserve with OpenTable
Itta Bena is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,457 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Second
Description: Up the fire escape above BB Kings Blues Club lies Memphis' "hidden gem" Itta Bena. Named for the town where legendary BB King was born, Itta Bena embodies the charm and inspiration of fine southern dining. Itta Bena restaurant and bar invites you in for a cool libation and southern cuisine with a Delta twist. From our 16oz. bone in Ribeye to our Shrimp and Grits and decadent desserts, Itta Bena has something for everyone. So come as you are - no jackets required, for great food in a relaxed atmosphere with unrivaled southern hospitality.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
5,255 reviews
2,923 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,870 helpful votes
“Better than a tourist trap”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

You come here because of the BB King name but I think they have made a genuine attempt to have better food than generally available on Beale Street. Good atmosphere and it gives you a chance to choose between the noise down below and the some calm for a little while. Yes, it was safe, nothing adventurous, and the service was friendly and professional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    81
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Great place. We had bbq shrimp, stuffed avacado, mushroom bisque- all great. Entrees were filet, lamb chops, and of course duck & waffles. No disappointments. The staff was very accomodating and the service was fune. Guitar player was very pleasant and the whole experience was pleasant, and a nice change from the hustle and bustle of Beale St.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAHust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Okay, we knew it was a tourist trap but we did it anyway. Very average. Below, even. Most of the courses were bland. Very risk-averse menu for a high-profile restaurant. Pasta was predictable, red snapper entree was only okay and the Caesar salad had no discernible flavor whatsoever. I mean, the Caesar was so dull it was actually weird. Memphis is loaded with good restaurants. If you want to visit B.B. King's blues club downstairs, that's fine. But don't waste your time on money on Itta Bena.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAFCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dishonest Groupon deal - Poor customer service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and were turned away TWICE in a period of eight days. We heard this restaurant was very good and wanted to give it a try. We made a reservation last Friday - showed up on time. The guy at the desk asked if we had a Groupon. We said yes. He asked us to come back on Monday cuz they were not setup yet. We said wow, OK, we'll come back. So a couple days go by. We make our second online reservation for Saturday -showed up on time with our Groupon (which has no restrictions on it for days of the week). We were greeted with a sign that said Groupon Customers Only Monday-Thursday. A second time of being turned away. The same guy came up to us and he basically said, yes - sorry only Monday - Thursday. At that my husband exhibited his anger and frustration with a few less than choice words. And we stomped out. Only to be shouted at: "Don't bother to come back again! You are not welcome here!" Wow - how's them apples. Some customer service. And the day restrictions for Groupon customers are mentioned no where. So we went to Felicia Suzanne instead and had a great meal under the stars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Itta one of the best”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant has the present day charm of the south in an old south setting. It begins with a mysterious way of getting to the third floor dining room located in BB Kings BBQ restaurant. The menu has enough to satisfy just about everyone. If you like BBQ shrimp there's no need to go any further south. The service was outstanding and can hardly wait for the next trip back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloBob324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Itta Bena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing