We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating trip down musical memory lane!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum

Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.52*
and up
Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum
Ranked #7 of 152 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chronicling the artists and the music that shaped the legacy of "Memphis Sound," this museum features the Smithsonian's "Rock 'n' Roll: Social Crossroads" exhibition.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fascinating trip down musical memory lane!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Rock N Soul Museum was a very nice walk thru the history of rock n roll.It is a self guided tour that took us at least 2 plus hours to complete. They give you head phones with an audio device you listen to as you go. There is tons of memorabilia, pictures, musical instruments, etc. It is a very informative tour. And I think it cost us about $10 each. But when you go to places like this, always ask about discounts. AAA, AARP,military, veterans, etc.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jdublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    914
    527
    176
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of my favorite attractions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

You could spend hours in here just listening to the music and all about the history of music in Memphis and it would be time well spent. A not to miss on a trip to Memphis.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NerdyTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Excellent tour (headsets furnished so you could spend as much time as you liked). Enjoyed every bit of history, all the music, all the jukeboxes, all the displays. SO glad we stopped there. Just a note - stop at the Visitor's Center as you are entering Memphis. We got a ticket for $45 which included Graceland, Sun Studios and Rock 'n' Soul. Would have cost us $59 individually.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MNwintertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Museum that is Sound”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We visited this museum only because it was part of another tour we were taking. It was a pleasant surprise. We were given the audio tour headsets and I found it informative and interesting. I learned some new things that I didn’t know before.

There are some interesting artifacts there such as a Minnie Pearl dress, part of the original Grand Ole Opry transmitter, instruments, jukeboxes, outfits, posters, etc. Don’t forget all the music. You can listen to many different tracks while browsing the artifacts and reading the information cards. There is no better way for you to become familiar with the Memphis sound than to hear it for yourself. The best part is that you aren’t forced to rush through, so you can listen to as much of the music as you like.

Our time here was limited, as it was just a stop on another tour, but we were told that we were free to come back after the tour was over to explore the museum further if we wanted. While we didn’t have the time to do this, it was nice to know the offer was there.

If you are a lover of music, you will find it worth your time and relatively reasonable admission price to go through it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DandVtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
853 reviews
421 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Bring A Sweater! Arctic Cold In Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Seriously. I am from Canada and know a little something about winter and cold but nothing can compare to the bone chilling sub-frost levels that the AC in this place was set to. Imagine wanting to enjoy each and every exhibit that is in here -- and I did being a huge Blues fan -- only to harbour fantasies about bolting out of the building to get some life sustaining warmth LOL. Best part of it all was the nod to something I have experienced personally in attending Robert Cray concerts, namely The Memphis Blues (horn section).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Codiak!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing