We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.52*
and up
Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum
Ranked #7 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chronicling the artists and the music that shaped the legacy of "Memphis Sound," this museum features the Smithsonian's "Rock 'n' Roll: Social Crossroads" exhibition.
Lees Summit, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lots to see and great oldies music through the exhibits. Too bad they don't offer CDs with collections of the songs available via the headsets while you tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    548
    182
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Wish we had passed this stop by an went to the Gibson factory instead. We were just not impressed with the museum. Maybe it's our age group (late 40's), but the items in the museum, many of them we were familiar with an most grew up with. Guess the younger age group would get more out of a trip to this museum.

Helpful?
Thank AlabamaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Museum, Great Value”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were given a headset and sent on our way. We spent 2-3 hours here but could have spent longer if we had more time. Awesome museum, full of music history, lots music to listen too, great displays. Loved it. Would definitely recommend this attraction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aaasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“"I didn't know that!" = Great Museum”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Even during a relatively short visit, there were so many fascinating stories and artifacts, it was hard to leave - and I'm eager to return. As a long-time Elvis fan, I was especially impressed by a knockout jewel-studded jumpsuit that showed what small swivel-hips he once had!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Music Lovers Delight”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A must see for all when visiting Memphis. Loved the self guided audio-tour. Could have spent the whole day just listening to all the music selections...: )

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbiej3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing