We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orpheum Theatre

The Orpheum Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Memphis Ghosts Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 24 Concerts & Shows in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful theater holds musical and stage performances.
TN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The selection of performances could not have been better this year. Also, the atmosphere of being in an "antique" theatre makes the experience even more enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chinacom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    133
    18
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs AR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Was there to see Leonard Cohen so what could be bad? I was in the balcony and the seats and leg room were tight. It's an old theatre though so I accept those things.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sommerHotSpringsAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful restoration in historic downtown Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visit the Orpheum Theater several times a year, the latest was to see the Broadway production of "Mary Poppins"....which was great! It's the closest thing to Broadway in our part of the world. If you're looking for a tradition to start with your children, this is a great choice! I began bringing my daughter as soon as she was old enough and it is still one of our favorite activities to do together. We are looking forward to bringing my granddaughter as soon as she is ready. The parking lot beside the theater is VERY small so be prepared to walk from the parking garage a couple of blocks away. Get there early, there will be the usual long lines for the restrooms, both up and downstairs. There are plenty of great restaurants close by, if you want to enjoy a good meal before or after your visit to this beautiful historic theater.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsSDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent restored former "movie palace"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A comfortable venue that is just the right size for live theatre performances, classic movies and intimate types of concerts. I love the balcony, but have your walking shoes on!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fiddler in Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great atmosphere. Beautiful old style opera and playhouse. Features many off Broadway productions and many famous plays and musicals. Each year is a surprise at the variety of entertainment.

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orpheum Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Orpheum Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing