We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful theater. Need friendlier ticket takers.”

The Orpheum Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Memphis Ghosts Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 24 Concerts & Shows in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful theater holds musical and stage performances.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater. Need friendlier ticket takers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Love this theater. Great place to take in a concert or show. Would recommend they get friendlier folks taking tickets at the door. Our ticket taker seemed annoyed when we asked where the bathroom was. Never even looked up at us. Young man in the lobby, who also worked there, was very kind and even told us the most convenient location to where we were sitting.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    135
    18
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ambience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great ambience in this facility. It puts you in the mood to see a great play. The lighting and stage is within reach and you seem a part of it. I like smaller venues and not the 50.000 seat venues......

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank saltlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best concert Venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Could be that I saw O.A.R. and Robert Plant in the 2 concerts here, but this venue was amazing. By far the best concerts that I have been to in Memphis, TN.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 930Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had to go to see this beautiful theater. Not disappointing. Don't think there is a bad seat in the place. We sat high up, and that was fine, it would have been nice to be down one but for us the price was better. Make sure to check their site for any deals. We saw Jersey boys which we liked most of, we don't particular like the usage of foul language so that was a negative, but we had been warned.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jw41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere! Jersey Boys Performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just saw the Jersey Boys and it was amazing! The sound in the theater was great.

Amazing atmosphere. The theatre really hold true to its traditional design. It takes you back in time the second you walk through the door.

We bought the cheap seats, and it was still a good view and sound. The seats were a little cramped in the balcony, but we walked around down below and they seemed just as cramped. It's just part of the older design.

They do serve drinks and snacks too. The prices are pretty reasonable, at least for alcohol. $5 per beer. You do have to purchase a plastic Orpheum cup, but it is washable and reusable. Sort of like a Tervis Tumbler.

I hope to attend another performance the next time I am in town!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orpheum Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Orpheum Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing