We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an embarrassment to Elvis and Memphis.”
Review of Graceland

Graceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Elvis Presley's Graceland Self-Guided Tour With Transportation
Ranked #3 of 153 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Graceland in Memphis, Tennessee, is the home of Elvis Presley, the King of Rock 'n' Roll. Elvis Presley's Graceland is open daily with tours of Graceland Mansion, Elvis’ custom jets and our new entertainment and exhibit complex, Elvis Presley’s Memphis. The new complex includes a new automobile museum, Presley Motors, and Elvis: The Entertainer Career Museum, the world’s largest and most comprehensive Elvis museum in the world, as well as many more exhibits, restaurants and shops. The tour of Graceland Mansion features an interactive, iPad tour with additional enhancements including photos, video and more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
398 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“What an embarrassment to Elvis and Memphis.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Finding ourselves in Memphis during a 2-week driving trip across our country landed us in Memphis. So of course we felt a visit to Graceland would be appropriate, right? I like Elvis as much as the next guy and thought this would be interesting. Wow, was I wrong! This was not only a waste of our money and time, but makes Elvis look like an idiot. First, Graceland is located in a run down, deteriorating area. Their parking lot is across a busy street from the actual Graceland and is enormous....like for a big theme park. The tickets are quite pricey and not worth it! NO idea what they are doing with the money they are taking in but they sure aren't using it to clean the graffiti off of the brick fence around the property or to take care of what should be lawn / grass around the property. None of the staff were friendly or even smiled. They were cold and said virtually nothing except to scold one of the visitors who touched one of the barriers. We had to wait quite a while for a shuttle to take us across the street, and the shuttle was small so it was slow going just to get there. If you want to see the crazy styles of the 1970s, you'll sure see it, but in my opinion it was nothing worth memorializing. Wow, if you love Elvis, don't go.....it's an embarrassment. I've lost some respect for the King and a lot more for his family who keep this thing running.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,897
    3,415
    1,197
    271
    113
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pincourt, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LONG LIVE THE KING”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Graceland, home of Elvis Presley, was designated a National Historic landmark in 2006. With audio-guide, at your own pace, you enter Graceland through the front door. You will hear commentaries and stories of Elvis and daughter Lisa Marie. You will get a feel of how he lived and entertained his friends. The mansion is on a 14-acre estate and the visit includes his dad ‘s office and Elvis’ racquetball building, turned into a trophy room…what a room – 360o of Elvis and more Elvis…bring some tissue, you will shed a tear or two! At the end of the tour, you will find the Meditation Garden where Elvis and members of his family have been laid to rest. If you take the VIP tour you’ll get another exhibit: Elvis…through his daughter’s eyes. It features Lisa Marie’s experience of growing up with a famous dad and you will find some 200 items assembled by her and the Graceland archives team. Rarely seen mementos are on display. You then embark on a shuttle van to go across the street and visit the Elvis Presley Car Museum with over 33 vehicles from go-cart & dunn buggy to his famous Pink Cadillac. Along the way, you will find a Rolls Royce, Mercedes limousine and a John Deere tractor! Elvis also owned two airplanes – a Connair 880 named Lisa Marie – you can actually go on board this plane to visit. Then you can take a peek at a Lockheed Jet Star customized by Elvis and primarily used by his manager and staff on his concert tours. There’s also an exhibit called: Elvis’ Tupelo – the city where he was born and grew up. You will find a combination of photos, videos and memorabilia in an interactive experience. You also get to see a beautifully made video. This tour is for everyone, whether you are a fan of Elvis or not. Long live the King !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outrageously expensive”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Can't say much about Graceland as we felt it was unreasonable to charge $33 per person for the basic mansion tour and we refused to pay. Already paid $10 to park there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank alysonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“You'll Never Walk Alone”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A rare residence who's iconic status is equal to the man himself. You'll be surprised at the relatively simple surroundings in which one of the worlds first international superstars sought refuge. Elvis has been gone a long time now, but if you've ever been a fan, take your time and really feel this one. He's there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HavanaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Forced to visit against my will... 5 Stars!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Graceland was the last place I wanted to go while visiting Memphis. I am not an Elvis fan and always thought the place was tacky. But everyone else I was with wanted to visit, so I rolled my eyes, grumbled as I shelled out the admission fee, and...

Loved it. I can't verbalize why - you will just have to go to understand. The place offers a deeply personal glimpse into a falling man's fortress from the public eye. The tour felt almost voyeuristic(a la "Being John Malkovich"). The museum has taken great care to make sure you get the most out of your visit. I did not leave an Elvis fan, but I did hope that the King had found his peace. And I left feeling like the experience was incredibly enriching. So glad I followed my friends here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank T. Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Graceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing