We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - Good Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - Good Value!”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Excellent location to stay to visit the downtown area of Memphis. Great customer service. The front desk was very efficient. They were able to make dining suggestions and even gave us some coupons! This is a typical hotel in a downtown location. I appreciated the onsite security and the locked doors - even though the area felt safe. The hotel is located two blocks from the trolley stop - and we felt safe traveling on it to visit the Beale Street area. The hotel is slightly dated, however, very clean and roomy. We had a wonderful view of the Mississippi River and the bridge... Night lights were fabulous... Nice complimentary breakfast. As a previous poster mentioned the garage is tight, however, we were able to park our Suburban in the garage with no problem and since we did not spend anytime in the garage other than parking the car and getting our bags out, this was not a problem for us and we are taller than the 5'4'' poster.! We also enjoyed eating dinner at the Rum Boogie Cafe and the band was fantastic! We enjoyed lunch at the Blue City Cafe. The gumbo was delicious - but hands down the spiciest thing I have ever eaten. We would definitely stay at this Comfort Inn again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebirds83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    414
    92
    21
    7
See reviews for
176
393
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We have visited America in 2009 and now in Oct 2010 and stayed at numerous hotels/motels... my partner says this is one of the best motels she has stayed in for the value, cleanliness, help from staff and location. By the way I agree with her but if she gives a place 10 out of 10 then it must be good.
It was good to see the counter staff enjoying their job and having a laugh in the morning. Breakfast is free and is more than sufficient with some variety.
Rooms and hotel: Rooms are large and immaculately clean. bed was comfortable.
Staff: were firendly and helpful.

for the value and location , i can't go past the comfort inn downtown memphis

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyHillWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We are so glad we chose this hotel!! When you pull up, looks weird, like a parking garage but the hotel was GREAT!! Very clean rooms, newly remodeled. Bed was VERY comfortable, the staff were VERY nice, always helped us out when we needed it, including telling us where we should go to eat at night. Good breakfast in the morning that was included in the price of the hotel room. Not expensive AT ALL!! Not even a mile from Beale street. You can walk, but why would you when you can take the Trolly for $1.00!!!! We would just walk home after hours, because trolly closed down after 11. I would definitely refer a friend to this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chstanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at Comfort Inn while visiting Graceland for my birthday. The room was very clean and nice (flat screen TV) and every staff member, as well as various local people I met, were extremely friendly and helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. I travel with someone in a wheelchair and even though we didn't get a handicap room, the room and bathroom were large enough to manoeuver the wheelchair with ease. The location was about a 12-15 minute walk to Beale St. Trolleys and buses were all handicap accessible. There was Denny's, Hooter's, TGIF and Subway nearby and despite a few homeless people here and there, we had no problems. Police watch the downtown area at night and keep it very safe. In fact, my brother lost his wallet on the street and someone found it, called his number back in Canada trying to locate us, and he met us near our hotel and returned it to us. I wish I had kept his name and number so I could send him a thank you gift. I loved Memphis and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We chose this hotel as a compromise between price, Tripadvisor reviews and location. Overall, it ended up a quite a good choice!

The price was right, having booked directlly with their web site with an advance purchase discount. Location was pretty good. Quiet for Downtown and an easy stroll or street car ride to Beale Street.

Our room had everything you could need, two great beds, wireless internet, new flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, coffee making facilities, security safe and a view North along Front Street towards the Pyramid-shaped Entertainment centre with Mud Island and the Mississipi on the left.

A self-service breakfast was available each morning and the lobby always had a selection of coffees available.

One or two of the staff were a little salt-and-pepper depending on who was on duty. But, most were courteous and friendly. It's got our recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised at the "niceness" of this hotel. We had a large and clean room with a refrigerator, microwave, free Internet access and a beautiful river view! I liked the bathroom area layout with a door to the toilet and tub for privacy - just like mine at home! The location is close to Beale Street and downtown restaurants. The staff was polite and friendly. I didn't care for the free breakfast but I tend to be picky about food.

We found out during a city sightseeing tour how interesting Memphis is...home to Elvis, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and, of course, location of Dr. Martin Luther King's assassination. But we were a bit surprised at how quiet the city was on the Labor Day holiday weekend with many empty downtown area buildings.

Anyway, we enjoyed the city and the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaMcFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Location is good, but this place needs ALOT of work. The common areas seemed rundown and in desperate need of a scrubbing. The parking underneath the building is dark, cramped and creepy..... very low ceiling.... You really have to watch where you're walking. I almost hit my head and I'm only 5'4".

Our room was huge, but was just ok. The bathtub had some spots that appeared to be patched with spackle or something. We were on the first floor and the sidewalk and street were directly outside our window..... Never had a room so close to traffic.... I was happy that noise wasn't a problem. It was very cold in Memphis when we were there and the tile on the bathroom floor was sooooo cold..... sort of like walking on ice cubes. We put towels down and sort of slid around on those. The breakfast was ok. We had planned to stay two nights.... but.... with the hotel such as it was, in addition to the cold weather, we stayed one night and decided to grab some bbq for lunch the next day and hit the road.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenSMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#13 of 136 in Memphis
843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing