We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and received great service from helpful and friendly staff, the room was large comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was included which was a bonus and was delicious and plentiful. It was self service mainly continental in style but always well stocked with a different hot selection each day, just a minor down side they only used disposable cups plates etc. the waitresses and staff were so friendly so any minor irritations were soon swept away

Absolutely great location over-looking the Mississippi just a few minutes walk to the street cars and also well within walking distance to the wonderful Beale Street and other attractions of the area.

The swimming pool was very welcome on hot days and although there wasn't a bar at the hotel I would still recommend it very highly as a reasonably priced hotel and would definately stay there any time I'm in Memphis

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river on higher floor, it's a great view, even the side view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. It is always great to hear good news.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 950 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed at Comfort Inn Memphis June 2 - 6. The courtesy of the staff is nothing short of stunning. We had a really good room on 14 overlooking the pools, downtown and the Mississippi. Roomy, great beds, clean in the extreme. Housekeeping was impeccable as well. There are 2 pools to accommodate everyone! Free daily breakfast was eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy and make-your-own waffles. Also, the usual cereal/yogurt/fruit selection. The only shortfalls: smallish breakfast area, initial connection to their wireless net was iffy, guest parking is in a dank basement of the lot and bathroom was small. But as hot as it was, we had a real oasis of respite between walks to music and food! Beale's music and food is a 10 minute walk, as it AutoZone Park, and a Main St trolley ($1 a ride) takes you to the museums (except Sun Studios, which is another bus or trolley). I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 10th - 15th floor with river or downtown view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a very convenient location to see the sights in downtown and is within walking distance of Beale Street. The room was very comfortable and the staff very pleasant. The included hot breakfast of make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, made for a great start to our day. It was nice not to go out and find a breakfast place each morning (especially since it rained every morning!) The internet was a little spotty at times in our room during our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: For a view, book a room on 10th floor or higher. The $10 per day parking fee is worth the price for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here one night as a stopover from a train trip from Chicago to New Orleans. The Hotel is situated close to the waterfront and about 5-10 minutes walk to the famous Beale Street. Staff at the hotel were friendly. The Hotel itself was a typical comfort inn, good free breakfasts and clean rooms. The view from our room was wonderful. Our only issue was trying to get a taxi to the train station in the morning. We almost missed our train because no taxi was available to take us to the Station. I am thinking the distance is too close to the train station for taxis to want to bother with you in terms of fares.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you plan to take a taxi to the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinapsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. As taxis are on a reserve and call basis only, we do have problems occasionally as we can not flag a taxi on the the street if a taxi is delayed. We do aologize for the inconvenience.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel had been recommended to us for being close to all attractions and transport. We were the 14th floor overlooking the pool which was empty as this is seasonal-the temperature was only 46degs. From the window we could see across the Mississippi River, as the Comfort Inn is only a road to cross and you are at the river. Also where you can pick the local Trolley bus up. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast amazing. The only problem was inadequate space to sit, for the number of guests they had staying. Security box and air con in the room.
Just a short walk across from the hotel is the Monorail over to Mud Island, if the weather is nice a full day could be spent here learning about the river, and a mock up of an old steamboat is in the museum. I would stay here again, and agree with another review that Memphis is quite seedy and worn out, but I did feel safe aroung the hotel area.

Room Tip: The higher rooms seem to be better away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Really liked the location, great stop over on our trip to the Smoky Mts., right off the I-40, across from the Mississippi River & Mud River Park, we had a top floor room with a good view of the river. Beds were very nice and room clean. The location was really close to Beal Street and we walked there & back, felt very safe - great time. Kinda pricey!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Comfort Inn in Downtown Memphis and the price was good value for money. The breakfast was delice and was included in the room rate. We had a good view of the mighty Mississippi River. The parking was free and that was nice. The staff was friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kristi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#12 Family Hotel in Memphis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $112 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing