We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous Memphis Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #9 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Marvellous Memphis Holiday”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Comfort Inn, Downtown, Memphis, last week on our first visit to the City. It cost approximately $32 for a taxi from Memphis International Airport to the hotel.

The hotel is very clean, warm and comfortable and our room had a view of the Mississippi River. The Manager and staff are helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel is superb. The breakfast is excellent too with a lot to choose from including cereals, sausage/bacon/egg, biscuits/gravy, waffles, fresh fruit, pastries etc. and a range of cold drinks, tea and coffee.

Just around the corner from the hotel is Main Street, Downtown, and you can either walk along or take a trolley to the attractions of Beale Street and The Peabody Hotel (where the famous ducks march from the elevator at 11.00 a.m. each morning and back at 5.00 p.m.) The Civil Rights Museum and Bus Station are within easy reach too. It costs $1 for one journey on the trolley but if you pay $3.50 you can buy an all day ticket which can be used on the buses as well as the trolleys for the rest of the day and evening. We caught the trolley to the bus station and went to Oak Court and Wolfechase Malls and Memphis Zoo using our all day ticket, it’s really good value. If you are visiting Sun Studio, they run a free shuttle bus to and from Graceland and also stop off at Beale Street on the way back, so that was an added bonus.

I highly recommend The Comfort Inn to anyone looking for a very nice, comfortable stay in Downtown Memphis.

Lilian

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with a view of the Mississippi River
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilianGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently in downtown Memphis and submitting a review to Tripadvisor.
Your glowing comments encourage our staff to always try to offer our guests a legendary stay.
I have passed your comments on to our staff. It made their day!

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    407
    93
    21
    7
See reviews for
174
385
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Located close to the highway and Mud Island Rover Park is across the street. A little seedy but we didn't really walk around there very much. The front desk help wasn't very helpful and more concerned with socializing with friends and coworkers. They have parking underneath the hotel with in and out privileges. Room was just ok, nothing special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank onceuponameal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us in Downtown Memphis.
Our goal is to offer every guest a great stay. I apologize if we fell below your expectations.
Any feedback you can offer me will allow us to improve our performance.

Thanks again for your review and I hope to have opportunity to serve in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
178 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and chose the hotel based upon reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel did not disappoint. For less than $100/night, I had an "executive suite" with comfortable king size bed, desk, sitting area, microwave/fridge/small sink, and a large bathroom. The room rate includes free breakfast and Wi-Fi, and the room included complimentary bottles of water and a microwave popcorn pack. My room was very clean and quiet. Would highly recommend this for the business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you staying with us in Memphis and submitting a Tripadvisor review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities well suited for a business traveler.
We hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey York Co
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights...location is 6 blocks off of Beale which was our reason for coming to Memphis. It was very easy to get to off the interstate, check in was fast, parking is in an underground garage. Our room had a king bed, fridge, microwave and safe and a great view of the river and pyramid. Free internet, great free continental breakfast with waffles, bacon, eggs, sausage, fruit, etc. Coffee and cookies in the lobby if you times it right. The only small complaint was a very loud heater.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for staying with us in downtown Memphis.
Our staff is encouraged by your "great stay" with us.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent the weekend here to go to a concert and visit the city. The concert venue was very close by so this was a plus. Beale St was just a trolley ride away ($1 each way but day passes are available). We got a corner room that had a great view of the pyramid (too bad it is no longer used). The breakfast was the standard Comfort Inn breakfast - lots of options for most everybody. The staff was great and offered suggestions on routes and places to eat. I would definitely stay there again when I go back to visit Memphis (already on the plans!).

The closet area is huge - the bathroom not so much but good enough. Good wifi connection - no passwords required, good strength.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if possible - huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review to Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.


Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Arrived after a hard drive from Nashville in rain and after dark. Front desk clerk Kanyarda greeted me pleasantly and professionally. Asked for a room with view, she said you will like this one on 15th floor. Beautiful view of Mississippi and lights. Clean, comfortable with amenities. We had a car top on our SUV not enough clearance for garage parking, Kanyarda said leave it in check in space. Breakfast good, staff also friendly as well as check out. Great location, close to Beale and downtown, would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you staying with us in downtown Memphis.
Your positive comments are truly appreciated as our staff makes every effort to offer you our guest great accommodations.

We hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I asked for a room with a nice view and it was a wonderful room. It was a corner overlooking the Mississippi - too bad it was so foggy. The room was HUGE with a closet area similar to a walk-in closet. Good internet connection.

We strolled to Beale Street in less than 10 minutes.

We didn't hear any sounds at night and had a lovely night's sleep. Very nice breakfast with a large dining area.

Room Tip: 14th floor southwest corner. Best room on our whole trip across the country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripleToys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you staying with us recently in downtown Memphis.
It is always exciting reading such positive feedback from our guests.
Our goal is to exceed your expectations while visiting with us.
I have passed along your kind comments to our staff.

We look forward to serving in the future.

Thank you again and we appreciate you taking the time to submit a survey to Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing