We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My daughter and I arrived, by Amtrak, at 7 a.m. Check-in was not until 3 p.m. When I arrived at the hotel, I told the front desk person (Christie) that I knew we were early. She suggested that we keep our luggage safely in a closet and invited us to participate in the continental breakfast. She also stated that she could have our room ready by 9 or 10. It was ready by 10 a.m. After traveling by Amtrak since 3 p.m. the night before our arrival the next morning, her consideration was very much appreciated. Thanks Christie for making our first day a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paisleyp54235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    400
    93
    21
    7
See reviews for
171
379
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Overall, we were pleased with our stay. Hotel is overlooking the Mississippi River with great views if you stay in the river view rooms. We stayed on the 15th floor overlooking the river. I felt safe in the hotel, as well as garage. It is on the lower end of downtown away from the nightlife of Beale Street. But, it is on the trolley line, which is a short ride to Beale, Civil Rights Museum, other attractions, and restaurants. Actually, if you had the stamina, you could walk to Beale St. with no problem. Back to the hotel- Pros: complimentary breakfast was about average with standard waffles, powdered eggs, sausage gravy, + cold items; complimentary afternoon cookies and lemon water each day; 24 hour complimentary coffee bar. Attentive and friendly front desk staff. Negatives: Cable TV service never worked properly for our entire 3 night stay.(We notified staff, but nothing was fixed-said cable co. had to fix). It was raining terribly for 2 straight days off and on, so we stayed in the room for the duration of the rain with nothing to watch; poor maid service- the maid for our room did not make up beds or vacuum for 2 days, only emptied trash and replenished towels. I do not know if this was due to laziness on her part, or whether they do not clean rooms daily. She did see us and ask if we were on our way out, but when we returned, nothing was cleaned. I thought this was rather strange, as most other hotels make up beds and clean the room on a daily basis. All in all, the other hotel staff's attentiveness made up for this one maid's missteps.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynB436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review.
We make every effort to off our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
I appreciate your feedback regarding lack of housekeeping service during your stay and I have spoken with our executive housekeeper to ensure this problem is resolved. We also apologize for the cable service. I have notified our cable provider and they assure me that the service has been repaired.
Thank you for your positive comments and I have passed them along to our staff.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pros: Hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly. The rooftop pool is not very big but it has everything you need for lounging (which was our plan but it wouldn't be great for a family with small children, very small)

Cons: The hotel was located on the end of Main street, a 15 minute walk from Beale Street (which was our main attraction for visiting Memphis). The parking garage was SCARY. The shower would be hot for a few minutes and then blast cold water suddenly.

Overall, it's a decent hotel although I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KYgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to file a review about your recent stay.
We thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and cleanliness of our hotel.
We are 6 blocks from Beale St. and the Main St trolley 1/2 block behind us runs every 5-7 minutes and can take you down to Beale st or any area in the downtown area. We are sorry you did not get a chance to ride it. We are looking at ways to spruce up our underground parking. It does provide a welcome reprieve from the hot sun and offers elevator service to your floor.

Thanks again for your comments and hope you will visit with us again.
Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

stayed in june nice place you get what you pay for the staff were very pleasant informative we didnt realise you could catch a free bus to graceland from the sun studios or the rocknsoul museum learnt from the staff in fact we used comfort inns for the next few nights on our way to virginia and found the staff execellent in all.would definately stay again loved memphis.the room was spacious plenty big enough for us a nice pool to use too cooled us down! bathroom was adequate beds were comfy a good nights sleep was had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in downtown Memphis.
Our staff tries to make every guest stay a legendary experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Comfort Inn and the sights and sounds of Memphis.
We look forward to serving you in the future.

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here one night. The location is really good, especially for the price of the room. We had river-view rooms. The trolley stop is less than a block away and easy to get to, and the parking is very convenient.
The bathroom was quite small but like I said, it was comfortable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karoline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in downtown Memphis.
We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your visit with us.
It is rewarding to us that enjoyed your stay and our found hotel comfortable.

We hope to see you in the future,

Michael Krupp CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Let me start by saying that this was by far the best hotel staff we have ever had the pleasure of staying with. From the time I called to revise a reservation to our departure from the property everyone was great!!! Our rooms were spacious and clean and the hotel itself was a great location to see the fireworks from Mud Island. We had a few small issues (hair dryer was going out) it was resolved within mere minutes. Cord was missing for a DVD player in one of our rooms - it was quickly replaced so we could enjoy the DVD player in the executive suite. Our breakfasts were tasty and well stocked. We were greeted with warm caring staff and ice cold refreshing water, cookies and muffins. They kept the water clean and fresh and ice cold which was wonderful for this hot weather. We are looking forward to our next trip. This is a family-friendly hotel that has great ammenities and within walking distance to trolley and plenty of fun options. All In all great way to celebrate our parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. Special Thanks to Chris, Earlene, Sha, Evelyn and Rosie. It truly felt like we were among family!!!

Room Tip: This hotel offers free warm breakfast items everyday. Plus refreshments when you enter in the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edbecky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very pleased with this Comfort Inn. Located right near the trolley we found it just perfect to sight-see. Breakfast was good and service at the desk etc.went "beyond the call". We had a smashed windshield when we arrived due to a bird flying into it. They looked up, contacted a repair shop and it was all set-up and completed the next morning.

Room Tip: Book early as this is a very busy hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leora Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Downtown Memphis with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.


Kind Regards,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing