We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel in a convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Our room was clean and spacious with two very comfortable double beds. A TV, a clean fridge, and coffee making facilities were all at hand. The staff were very friendly and the service, especially at breakfast was very efficient, with lots of food choice. The outdoor swimming pool is not heated so the water was too cold, however its great for catching the sun and offers fantastic views of the Mississippi river and beyond.
The hotel is located within a 10 minute walk from Beale Street or you can take one of the street cars for just $1. There were plenty bars and restaurants nearby and the whole area felt safe. I would definitely stay here again. Elvis forever.

Room Tip: Ask reception for a room with a river view - there is no additional charge!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0B2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 925 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Unlike Nashville there is no option in Memphis to stay out of town, so I stayed here. It is about a mile from the Civil Rights Museum & not too far from Beale Street. The room was clean, breakfast was very good & the swimming pool outside was memorable!

Downside : Lots of staff walking around at reception or in car park talking to eachother, doing nothing or eating their lunch at reception. In a place like Memphis I found that kind of creepy. I was on the ground floor on the main street and had a poor nights sleep. The air conditioning had to come on and was very load. In the evening time there was security and a police car there for a while. My stuff was save but decided 1 night was enough in Memphis!

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up in the hotel. The ground floor was noisy! The air conditioning was also...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tarzangav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a great location for downtown Memphis. We were just steps from the trolley and steps from the walkway to the Mississippi River Mud Park. The breakfast was outstanding. The desk clerk was friendly and the cleaning staff was helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilenemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious with 2 double beds and a flat screen tv. Everything was clean, good quality bedding, pillows and fluffy towels. There was a coffee maker in the room although we did not use it since there is free coffee available all day in the lobby. There was also a fridge, microwave and in-room safe. Free breakfast was okay, usual stuff on offer such as muffins, bagels, toast, cereals, tea, coffee, juice, waffle maker etc. All the action is down on Beale Street and you can walk there from this hotel in about 15 minutes or go on the streetcar/trolley for $1 per person each way or $3 for all day unlimited travel. All the staff we met at this hotel was lovely, they were genuinely friendly and always willing to help with directions, ideas etc. Free wifi in rooms and computer in lobby area. The parking is $8 per day, very reasonable and use your room card to gain access to the parking garage. Elevators from garage up to all floors. The weather was a bit unsettled during our stay and the pool did not appear to be in use. Would stay here again if/when we visit Memphis again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the ice machine and elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeLittleHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. The room was clean and nice, if not luxurious. The best part was the desk staff who were super friendly and helpful with prompt responses to our requests. The breakfast was fairly sizeable for the price- eggs, biscuits, bagels, coffee etc. We had a coffee maker in the room, fridge, and microwave. The only (very small) downside is that, unlike numerous other Memphis hotels, the Comfort Inn does not have an airport shuttle; probably b/c most of the guests rent cars. If you take a cab both ways, this adds about $60 to your stay. I took the very cheap bus in, which took an hour and doesn't run on Sunday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an executive suite which was spacious, clean,quiet, with easy access from I40. For any extra $8 nightly there is underground parking. Most of the downtown and riverfront are reachable by walking or the Memphis Trolley. Breakfast is included. Breakfast fare includes hot entree and full continental. Other hotels are located in same area, but we got price we could not pass up

Room Tip: king executive room gives you loads of space and several easy chairs
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom2831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really nice location in the heart of Memphis. Had a first floor room but it was quiet and heard no noise from outside traffic. Staff was friendly and the breakfast area was clean. Parking was slightly expensive but not bad and easy to get into and out of.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 138 in Memphis
1,980 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $135 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing