We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Large clean room with comfortable beds. Loved the view of the river and bridge from our room. Check in and check out was quick. We had 2 nights paid for by reward points from my husband's employer and we paid for a third night. They took care of everything with that, we had no problems. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. They offer a nice hot breakfast to start your day. Location was walkable to Beale Street and across the street from a park. Unfortunately we were approached by a few homeless for money... At night could hear a train and street noise, perhaps a room on a higher floor would have helped. Overall we were very pleased witih our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    414
    92
    21
    7
See reviews for
176
393
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Comfort Inn on Front Street in Memphis is our favorite repeat-stay hotel. I should add that when this hotel is full, the Sleep Inn (right next door) is a good alternative.
The Comfort Inn has a parking garage w/elevators direct to your floor. The cost is very reasonable, the rooms are excellent. They are spacious, well appointed, and many have great views of the River, Mud Island and other attractive views. The staff have always been great and are very accommodating to upgrading your room if they have the options. We are Choice hotel members so the Comfort Inn & Sleep Inn are our first choices. They are both on the Riverfront Trolly line and just a few minutes walk or cab ride to everything going on in Downtown Memphis.

Room Tip: Look for room on upper floor with views of river - this makes for a nice romantic late night glass o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good location, a block from trolley stop to Beale Street and Civil Rights Museum. Quiet, spacious room with view of the Mississippi out the window. Parking was cheap at $8 a night. Listing said there was laundry available, but there wasn't a laundry room or even pickup service, just dry cleaning. Front desk was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimaphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisMemphis_TN, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us in Downtown Memphis and expressing your kind words. We try to make every stay at our property a legendary experience. All attempts are made to have current information about our hotel and services we provide. Please advise us as to which website you used, so we can correct any incorrect listing i.e. laundry service.
Thank for your feedback, it is importantant to us .
We hope to see you in Memphis at our Comfort Inn in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Krupp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great location! I stayed for five nights while in town for a class. The location was perfect to take in the sights of Memphis in the evening. As others have said, it's a six block walk to Beale Street via the very charming Main Street. Main street is a pedestrian mall from the hotel to within a block or two of Beale Street and has trolleys running both directions that will get you almost anywhere on the river front for $1 per person. The hotel was a little aged but very clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and more than happy to provide directions / opinions to all local places of interest. i will be staying again. When making reservations, the pool is located outside on the 9th floor with a great view of the river. Make sure to try breakfast at the "Blue Plate Dinner" around the corner just off of Main Street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nice, clean hotel on a perfect location to explore Memphis. In the city center at walking distance of Beale street, Gibson factory,... Big spotless rooms, breakfast ok, nice pool. Nice view over Mississippi River.

Room Tip: high floor with riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Convientiently located about six blocks from Beale Street a fairly easy walk to all the sights but the tram network if you don't fancy the walk. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. Underground car park available at an extra cost. Comfortable but decor is a little worn. We were on the ground floor not too bad but some traffic noise. The roof top pool was a great feature. Breakfast self service and more than enough choice.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable with a fridge, iron, coffee maker and safe. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was always a selection of hot drinks and iced water in reception area. Breakfast was self service but a good selection available. It's about a thirty minute drive from airport at a cost of about thirty dollars in a taxi, Graceland is about twenty minute drive. It's about five minute walk to the Mississippi riverboats, overall we found it to be in a good location and would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gas1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing