We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great location, friendly and helpful staff and an excellent room with a comfortable bed. Ten minute walk from the trolly and walking distance from Beale Street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandyCoveRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 950 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Really good location 1/2 block from the trolley. Had a large room with king bed. Nice breakfast and afternoon cookies.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were lucky enough to get a top floor room with wonderful views over the Mississippi River. Watching the sunset was beautiful! The included breakfast was plentiful and the kids enjoyed the waffles. The rooms were large and the bathrooms good. Large beds that were extremely comfortable. It was convenient to everything the city offered, easy tram access to Beale St or a nice stroll to get there. The staff were always helpful and the two times we contacted reception for a bathroom problem and an unlockable safe someone came to our room within minutes to fix them. The only thing lacking is a laundry which is always handy when travelling from overseas. We loved Memphis and the hospitality we received there and would not hesitate to stay here if (and hopefully when!) we ever find ourselves in this lovely city again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a River view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamkatadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The best about the hotel is its location... it is in the middle of Downtown and you can walk to Beale Street. Many homeless people downtown, kinda creepy. Staff was alright. Room was located in the first floor so when cars stood right next to our window, it got really loud. Room was clean. You can park your car for 8 USD in their garage.
Was not a disappointment but I would probably try to find a different hotel or B&B for my next stay in Memphis.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just returned from our weekend stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis. We found the Comfort Inn to be everything we were looking for in a downtown hotel... location, price, and quality. We had a great view of the Mississippi River from our room. Our king room was one of the most spacious hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast wasn't anything too fancy, but they did have a very wide selection that we were pleased with. We walked downtown several times during our stay, it was 0.7 miles. However, if you don't want to walk to Beale Street and the restaurants, you can catch the trolley about half a block away from the hotel. Also, the entrance to Mud Island River Park is directly across the street from the hotel. The Fire Museum is also right down the street, you can see the sign from the hotel. The hotel staff was very nice; they made our stay very comfortable. We will definitely return to the Comfort Inn when visiting Downtown Memphis!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnuts2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great location! Rooms were very spacious and quiet - nice to have a microwave and fridge. The rooms (and the entire hotel - breakfast area, fitness room, pool area, etc) were super clean. Very friendly and helpful staff! Breakfast was excellent (good variety of cereal choices, sausage or bacon and eggs, waffles, fruit, yogurt, pastries and bagels, coffee and juice choices..) Easy walk to restaurants and Beale Street. We particularly enjoyed our meals at Blues City Cafe on Beale St (ribs), Majestic Grille on Main St (maple cream pork tenderloin) and The Butcher Shop on Front St (sirloin and center cut pork chop). One block from Main Street and the trolley line. River is right across the street (beautiful view). Highlights of our trip: National Civil Rights Museum (a must see), Graceland, Elmwood Cemetery (get the audio
tour CD) and the Memphis Botanical Gardens. Our five day stay in Memphis was fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Located by the Federal Building Court Square, this was convenient for walking and taking the trolley to the riverfront and Beale Street. Parking is in an underground garage that is 'beat up' but 'safe'. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Main Street with the trolley was close and Beale Street entertainment was only blocks away. The room view of the city was not much, but was clean and roomy. Price was much better than the Madison and closer hotels. Breakfast was very good and abundant. Better hotels were colocated but the price was much higher.

Room Tip: Ask for riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mthacker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#12 Family Hotel in Memphis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $112 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing