We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff at this hotel are second to NONE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The staff at this hotel are second to NONE!”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I was treated like an honored guest! While on the trip I developed the Flu and needed some additional help and the front desk employee Ameka as well as Charles did not hesitate to help me. Another employee that I do not know their name brought up a blanket to my room. The final statement from Charles topped everything off to perfect - he said "we love our guests here, it's just one big happy family". Wow!! Thanks again Staybridge family!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyColley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you for the kind words regarding our team. I will pass this along to the entire staff. We're happy you chose to stay with us, but only wish you had not been sick during your stay. We would love for you to come back when your feeling 100% and visit us again. Hope you're feeling better! Thanks for being our guest! Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    183
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
261
170
33
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Airmont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2011

The hotel is very nice. the staff is great. They are very helpful and nice. Rooms are clean. I like the breakfast and evening meals. The work out room can use additional machines but its pretty good. I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riceplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
What a great compliment to our hotel and team! We certainly do appreciate the time you have taken to let the world know about the quality of your stay. It means so much for us to get feedback from our guests so we know how we can improve on the service we provide. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope you will return to visit us often. I will gladly pass your comments along to the rest of our team. Thank you. Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisvegas!
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel rates very well on tripadvisor which is what led us to book it. We were in Memphis for a couple of days having driven from New Orleans and on our way to Nashville. The purpose for our time in Memphis was to see the Peabody Ducks, Graceland and Sun Studio over one night and one day with a car so location wasn’t crucial. We found the hotel to be easily accessible from the highways in and out of town and just a minimal drive to downtown. The staff at the reception are extremely friendly and helpful. It is a standard Staybridge layout/design with the rooms and common areas all clean and the common areas in good condition. The room has the standard kitchen configuration with the usual crockery and kitchen utensils. Compared to some other Staybridge hotels I have stayed in recently this one needs a bit of a refurb in the rooms. The kitchenette in particular needs some new bench tops, stove and cupboard draws. The cutlery draw facia kept coming off during our stay. The amenities are all very good and the hotel is well laid out. The gym has free weights and the usual machines. The breakfast is standard bacon, sausage, omelette, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit etc. There is plenty of seating for the number of guests using it. The house keeping staff are a bit hit and miss in terms of friendliness and effectiveness. Our 1st morning they knocked on the door early we said could they come back in ½ an hour which they said was ok, they never came back. We never got the nice greetings you get in other southern states from the staff as you move through the hotel, which is a surprise considering how nice the reception and breakfast staff are. All that said I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Memphis as long as you have a car if you need to move about the city. I will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecrankytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It is important to us to get feedback from our guests so we know where we can improve. I'm thrilled with your reception in our Food & Beverage Department, but am somewhat surprised about the other staff members. We usually get such wonderful comments about our entire team. I will take your comments to heart and bring this to their attention so that we can work on the areas that do need improvement., and will also discuss follow up concerns with our housekeeping department. I do hope you will come back to visit us on your next trip to Memphis, and can witness, first-hand an improvement in the team. Thank you again for your time and effort in letting us know where we can better ourselves. Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stay there for a week, we had a good time. This was our second time in the same hotel, some of the hotel staff have changed but the service and quality of the food and rooms are great.
Will definitely go back anytime there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleckv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Having compliments is great, but having compliments from a repeat guest is even better. I have passed your comments along to the entire staff and have thanked our Food & Beverage department for the great job they do. We hope to see you again on your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Very nice staff! Everyone is friendly. We enjoy the evening reception. We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Alvee, thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure having you here in December. We hope your time in Memphis was fun and memorable. We are thrilled that you chose our hotel for your home away from home, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Our sincere thanks from all the team here at the Memphis Staybridge Suites. Best regards, Bob Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Wow, staying at Staybridge Suites couldn't have been better. It's in a really nice area of Memphis, so no worries about safety. The staff was so friendly and helpful! We got lost coming back from Graceland (if you're going to Memphis, studying a city map first!), so we called the hotel and they we're able to direct us back. Whew! The room was very nicely appointed, very comfortable beds, quiet hotel, and a GREAT complimentary breakfast. Thanks for making our stay in Memphis so nice!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherriej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
What a great compliment! It was the pleasure of the entire team to have you as our guest. It means so much to us all to hear of the successes as well as how we can improve. We hope to see you again soon in Memphis. Thank you for taking your valuable time to give us your feedback. Best Regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st augustine, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We were planing a trip to Memphis, and needed a pet friendly hotel. I searched and found several , but the reviews for Staybridge were so impressive , and the amenities were were exactly what we wanted so I booked with Staybridge. I called to reserve and got a better price for booking ahead. The location was great very close to the family event we were attending. The suite was spacious and beautifully appointed, including a fully equipped kitchen, sitting area with a large TV, a separate bedroom with another large TV, a dressing room with a large sink area, complete with a selection of ginseng and mint toiletries, and a large closet with an iron and ironing board and a separate bathtub and commode. The bed linens and towels were luxury grade. Everything was very clean. Staybridge hosts an evening event with beer, wine and a different selection of food. The evening we attended it was a nacho bar with all the fixings, so plentiful we didn't even go out for dinner. There is also a wonderful breakfast buffet with eggs , sausage, fresh fruit, yogurt, a make your own waffle station, all kinds of muffins and breads, a selection of juices and coffees, all very fresh and delicious. There was ample table space so we never had to wait, and the space is kept spotless by the staff. But wait there's more, a beautiful pool area, a really nice fitness room, and a library complete with computers. Our stay was perfect in every way, our dog was very comfortable too. I will look for Staybridge facilities for future travel plans!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellestaugustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We make every attempt to make all our guests and their pets feel at home. I have relayed your comments about our Sundowner reception and breakfast on to our Food & Beverage team - it was received with welcome arms from them all. We hope you will keep us in mind for your next visit to Memphis, and try our other Staybridge locations nationwide. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
10.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
11.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East

Property: Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Address: 1070 Ridge Lake Blvd, Memphis, TN 38120-9428 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Memphis
#1 Family Hotel in Memphis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#9 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to East Memphis's finest all suite hotel! Our 100% smoke free Staybridge Suites takes pride in our great service and convenient location! Just a short drive from the airport, downtown Memphis, FedEx Forum, Beale Street, Graceland, University of Memphis, Rhodes College, Christian Brothers College and all Memphis attractions. We are conveniently situated off Poplar Avenue and I-240 in the heart of East Memphis business corridor. Our location provides easy access to all major highways including I-240, I-40 and I-55. Within minutes of the hotel you can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment options. Our primary goal is to make you comfortable, and we start with 114 tastefully designed suites and guestrooms. Each suite is complete with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, two telephones with two lines, pullout sofa sleeper and two televisions with cable. We offer wireless high-speed Internet access in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Start your day with our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet and relax with our Tuesday-Thursday evening Social and enjoy a complimentary beer or glass of wine. Work off the stress of a busy day in our exercise room, seasonal outdoor swimming pool or hot tub. Your pet is welcome to join you for a nominal non-refundable fee. Business and airport shuttle service are provided free of charge, daily from 7AM-10PM. All this, plus earn points or miles with Priority Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing