We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Nearby Hotels
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Madison Hotel(Memphis)
$231
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$175
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$151
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$259
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$306
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$285
$275
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$119
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveler rating
548
202
51
20
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
202
51
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundryfull size fridgekitchen arealiving roomhome away from homesafe locationgreat place to stayclean roomsmemphis areaking bedfront desk staffstaff was very friendly and helpfulyogurtdefinitely stay here againhayesbenihanastove
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 835 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for a visit to Memphis over MLK Day. Although the lobby was under renovation, we were very happy with the hotel. We had a one room suite with full kitchen. There was plenty of space for the five of us and everything was very clean. The breakfast was the big surprise, however. The first time in my life I have eaten "breakfast included" eggs which actually tasted really good! The breakfast room was very cozy, if a bit small, but the food was outstanding. The price of the room became even more reasonable considering the amount of food the kids ate. Location was very easy to get to Sun Studio, Graceland, Civil Rights Museum, Beale Street and the zoo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for the nice review. I know it can sometimes be an inconvenience when we have to do periodic renovations, but I'm glad to hear it wasn't too unbearable for you. We try to make it as unobtrusive as possible. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back again soon. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It's probably closer to 3.5 than the 4 that I gave it. It's a reflag property so the rooms seemed larger than typical Staybridge properties. The highlight of the hotel is probably the front desk and housekeeping staff. If you need the kitchenette and extra space, then stay here. I stayed in a 1 br suite with 2 queen beds which had 2 flat screen TV's (1 in the bedroom and 1 in the living room). The furnishings, especially the kitchen area just seemed really dated. My pet peeve was no available outlets near the bed for my phone and laptop. There were outlets if I moved the mattress, but that wasn't very convenient.

There are some positives:
Bed was very comfortable, internet and TV worked well.
Bathroom was a decent size, and the shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water.
Full size fridge and big coffee maker in room came in handy.
Free breakfast with hot food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel and team. We are very pleased that you stayed with us and were comfortable during your visit. As you probably noticed during you stay, we are going through some renovations and hope that we can make our hotel even nicer and more convenient for all your needs. Your comments are very much appreciated and we will cerainly do our best to remedy any of the deficiencies. Please come back to see us again whenever you're in Memphis. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we were a little taken back by the renovations but the front of staff were excellent
Our room on the second floor was great and we appreciated the extra room of a suite
Guest laundry ++++
We requested a taxi into town and the hotel got us a gem, used him both ways, great discussion he was sensational
Breakfast was good
Checkout great
Recommend yes

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Geoffbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit. We certainly appreciate all the great comments. Please come back to see us again. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My iPhone 5 was stolen in the hotel property on July 26th 2013. This was disturbing not only because of the $600 value of the phone, but I also had videos on the iPhone of my Mother describing our family history. My Mother has Alzheimer’s and she can no longer recall those memories. If I can’t get my iPhone back those priceless videos will be gone forever. The theft occurred between 7 and 7:15 am in the hotel breakfast area.

For the hotel GM Bob Cox to ignore my email on August 23 describing my concerns was unprofessional to say the least. It leads to a perception that the GM doesn’t care, and chooses to ignore a serious theft problem, thinking it will just go away. After I contacted corporate guest relations multiple times over several months;I finally received a form template reply stating that they didn't find my iPhone. Only the Memphis Police department seemed to take the theft issue seriously.

The hotel does not have safes in the room and has no immediate plans to install them. I would highly discourage anyone from staying at this hotel. No in-room safes and unresolved theft issues are a recipe for disaster.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

I spoke with this guest personally the morning of the loss. With the dining room full the guest carelessly left his IPhone unattended for more than 15 minutes on a dining room table. It is impossible for the hotel to be responsible for the carelessnes of a guest with a continuous flow of other diners in and out of the dining room for an entire 15 minute period. The hotel team did all that was possible to locate this phone, however, after being left unattended for 15minutes it was not located. Like many hotels, this hotel does not have in-room safes which would not have prevented a careless act like this on the part of the guest whether in-room safes are available or not. I did correspond with this guest on several occassions informing him that we could not accept responsibility for his lack of attention to the safety of his personal items. After numerous emails from the guest, I determined that my correspondence with him was making no difference, so I did eventually quit corresponding. There is no "theft issue" at this hotel. A guest who leaves a valuable unattended in plain sight of multitudes of other guests should simply expect this sort of outcome. I do regret the incident, however, our liability can only go so far. I understand the guests frustration, but, there is nothing more we can do to assist. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure if every Staybridge is as nice as the two I've stayed at, but this hotel was excellent. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Hallways and public areas were also clean. The breakfast spread was excellent, by far the best free breakfast you can get at a hotel. The only complaint I could possibly conjure is the smell of construction that was present in all public areas, but this is basically unavoidable during renovation. Overall, this hotel was fantastic and I went out of my way to stay at a Staybridge, and would in the future.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for all the nice comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and like our Staybridge brand. Please call on us any time we can be of assistance. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews