We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
255 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great front desk”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Dont follow your GPS. We had to call twice to get directions. Front desk was really nice. The room was large and very clean. Good bed with nice sheets. Big bathroom. Great breakfast. Went to Buckley's for dinner, it was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snickerdoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are all very happy that you were pleased with your stay. Yes, we are a bit hard to locate, my GPS gets confused as well. I'm glad our front desk was able to help you in finding us. Now that you know where we are, we would love to have you back. Thank you for taking your time to write your review of our hotel and your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    182
    44
    18
    12
See reviews for
259
170
33
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Best place to stay in Memphis, hands down! When I am not required to stay downtown, this is the only place in Memphis I'll stay. The rooms are large and comfortable, the staff is very friendly, and the food is great!

Pros:
- Large, clean rooms
- Great food and drinks
- Location

Cons:
- My only complaint is that the chef will only pass out cookies to certain groups of people. It's petty, but my group was confused as to why we were left out.
- Wifi can be spotty at times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPOinNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
What a great review! Thank you for such nice comments about our hotel and your stay. I have to apologize for the cookies during the evening social. I will certainly look into this and correct whatever is happening with them. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. We look forward to having you come back to see us soon. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I couldn't come up with one negative comment about this hotel if I tried. My family and I
stayed here over the Christmas Holidays and have decided that this will be our new place
to stay when we come to visit family in Memphis. The room was very clean, the beds were
extremely comfortable , the bathroom was clean and had plenty of space and everyone
we encountered who worked there was friendly, helpful and gracious. (Damon was at the front
desk during part of our stay and was really friendly!) It is located in a nice part of town
and close to plenty of stores and restaurants. I'm hoping that all of our
future stays with this hotel will be as nice as this one was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kruleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
What nice comments about your stay. We all sincerely appreciate the kind words and compliments. I will be happy to pass this along to all of our team. I hope you will join us whenever you are back in Memphis. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, OK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Remember Holiday Inns promise to let them fix it or it's free. And they did!! Upon entering room, went to bathroom. It had a horrible mildewed smell. I had to search to see what it was but didn't take long. Shower curtain was nasty. However, housekeeper in hallway went to get me a new one. Supervisor brought it and offered to put it up. Room was excellent after that. Slept well, even pregnant daughter on sofa bed. Breakfast was well set and replenished. Nice variety except the rubber omelettes...I have seen those at several other brands that choose that same omelette. They just don't work on a buffet! Staff was friendly at check in...new clerk but manager assisted. Breakfast and housekeeping staff friendly as well. Buisness center was great. Will stay again when in the area!

Room Tip: Didn't use Room service....don't think there is any in extended stay hotels. Nor did we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I apologize for the problem you had when you arrived, but, I am happy that we were able to resolve it to your satisfaction and as quickly as we did. I am glad the rest of your stay was comfortable and pleasant. Our omelettes! These are what Intercontinental Hotels Group has determined that we need to serve. I know they sometimes appear somewhat rubbery. Unfortunately, this is the brand standard. I will be more than happy to pass your concerns on to our brand team in Atlanta so that they can have a better understanding of our guests needs. Thank you so much for your comments. I look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Memphis. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Desk clerk who checked me in was rude and unfriendly. That pretty much ruined the experience from the beginning. Rooms was ok but definately needed updating. The meal they served on the Wednesday night I was there was gone at 6:45, when I was told the event ended at 7:30. At least have enough food to last until it ends! However, Jonathan checked me out the next day and he was great. They need more staff member like him.

Room Tip: Ask for Jonathan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
I am so sorry you had such a disappointing experience with your stay at our hotel. I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention and will certainly look into them. If you wouldn't mind sending me the dates of your stay and your name or room number I will find out who the clerk was that checked you in and they will be dealt with accordingly. Please call me @ 901-682-1722 or email me @ sbsmemphis@generationcompanies.com. Yes, Jonathan is truly an associate to be proud of. He always does a superb job with everything he attempts. Again, I am sincerely sorry your stay was not up to your expectations, as it was certainly not up to my expectations. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when you come back to Memphis. If there is anything I can do to help you please feel free to call. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The staff is always great when I stay and I have never had a problem. However this stay, a dirty bathroom greeted me. The shower stall was terrible and there was a towel on the floor behind the toilet. Not a good look!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLFROG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to give us your review. I regret the problem you had in your bathroom. I had already received your email and have taken care of this issue. Again, as I mentioned in my email back to you, this was quite an embarassing situation and we have taken steps to ensure it doesn't happen again. As you mentioned in your email to me, you have stayed with us on several occassions and this is the first time this has occured. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity and stay with us again. Again, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went to Memphis for my Grandma's birthday. The room had a living room kitchen and bedroom (2 Queen beds). The room was clean, except for the mat in the bathtub which was pealing. Breakfast each morning was good as well. I liked the location as it was only about 20 minutes downtown without having to deal with all the noise. I can't remember hearing anything outside of the room the whole trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Memphis. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you had a good visit with your grandma. I appreciate you bringing the mat to my attention. We will certainly get this taken care of immediately. Please come visit us again on your next trip to our city. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
11.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
8.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
10.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East

Property: Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Address: 1070 Ridge Lake Blvd, Memphis, TN 38120-9428 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Memphis
#1 Business Hotel in Memphis
#5 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to East Memphis's finest all suite hotel! Our 100% smoke free Staybridge Suites takes pride in our great service and convenient location! Just a short drive from the airport, downtown Memphis, FedEx Forum, Beale Street, Graceland, University of Memphis, Rhodes College, Christian Brothers College and all Memphis attractions. We are conveniently situated off Poplar Avenue and I-240 in the heart of East Memphis business corridor. Our location provides easy access to all major highways including I-240, I-40 and I-55. Within minutes of the hotel you can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment options. Our primary goal is to make you comfortable, and we start with 114 tastefully designed suites and guestrooms. Each suite is complete with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, two telephones with two lines, pullout sofa sleeper and two televisions with cable. We offer wireless high-speed Internet access in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Start your day with our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet and relax with our Tuesday-Thursday evening Social and enjoy a complimentary beer or glass of wine. Work off the stress of a busy day in our exercise room, seasonal outdoor swimming pool or hot tub. Your pet is welcome to join you for a nominal non-refundable fee. Business and airport shuttle service are provided free of charge, daily from 7AM-10PM. All this, plus earn points or miles with Priority Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing