We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and complimentary social hour & breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and complimentary social hour & breakfast”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We only stayed here one night but was enjoyable. Staff was very friendly. When checking in we received a complimentary bottle of water for being a Priority Club member, which was nice because most of the hotels do not give anything for being a member. We checked in on a Thursday evening where they had a social event, where there was complimentary beer, wine, soft drinks, and hot food. I believe they have one every Monday through Thursday. The room was nice but a little smaller than the normal hotel room. Room had queen bed, stovetop, microwave, full sized fridge, and a pretty good sized bathroom. We went out to downtown Memphis, which is about a half hour drive, and came back and there was not any parking spaces open. We parked in what seemed to be the Benihana's (the restaurant next door) space. In the morning there was complimentary hot breakfast, which had a good selection of breakfast items. Overall I was impressed by the time we spent at Staybridge Suites Memphis!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeysaurusrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are all happy that you chose our hotel and hope you will return to see us soon. I know we are a bit "land locked" in regards to parking. Since we are surrounded by office buildings, available land is just not there. Benihana's is always gracious to share their lot with us since they are merely feet from our hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    181
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
259
168
33
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful, everything is clean, and breakfast is really good with a great varity. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. We didn't hear noises in the hallway or from the other rooms. Easy to get to and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I certainly appreciate the nice review you gave our hotel and team. It is always a pleasure to hear that we are doing what you expect of a hotel team. I hope you will join us soon for your third visit! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Safe location close to movies, restaurants and shopping. However, be forewarned. The housekeeper will not replace towels. You have to beg for more. Also, I called the front desk BC I couldn't figure out the thermostat ( there's a secret little door to open on the left). When I asked how to work it, the response from the front desk was " I don't know and housekeeping is not here". Breakfast buffet is adequate but I had to ask twice each morning for more half and half, and the spigots on the instant creamer they seem to want you to use were always clogged and gross. Two queens have be queen blocking the closet completely, but the beds are comfortable. Pillows are no good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoesArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am so sorry you had the problems you mentioned with our service. I can assure you that this is not the type of service we want our guests to receive, and I can promise you that we will take care of each of the issues you mentioned. Without guests such as you bringing these to my attention there is always the possibility that they will go unnoticed. I sincerely apprecate your very honest opinion and critique. I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to show you that this is not the norm for our hotel. Thank you again for taking your time to complete your review. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My daughter, mother and I stayed at the Staybridge Suites Memphis the weekend of the 26th. The room is very spacious and clean. The queen suites have new queen beds and linens. It was a very comfortable bed. The towels were a good size and very soft. New, clean shower curtain. Breakfast was a good selection. The entire staff was amazing...always very friendly and helpful. I am a priority club member, so the 2pm late checkout was perfect. My daughter wanted to go down to Beale St and Front St to eat, so it was nice being able to not have to pack our belongings and leave them in the car in downtown Memphis. It's a very quiet location but easy access to Poplar and all the shops and restaurants.

Suggestions....We stayed in room 419 and although it was clean, there are about 5 mold spots on the back wall of the shower in the caulking and around the top soap holder. A quick and easy fix would be to re-caulk that shower. The bathroom was very clean, but seeing mold in the shower negates that. Also both sides of the couch cushions had holes in them. That could be easily replaced or repaired. The linens for the pull out were dirty and had to be replaced, so that should be checked daily if it's not. My only true "complaint" was about the housekeeping policies. Saturday we had to ask twice for light housecleaning (trash removed, towels replaced) after 2pm. But Sunday morning housekeeping was knocking on the door at 11am! It makes your guests feel like they are being rushed out. If they do not have a confirmation of checkout by the front desk, housekeeping should wait until after noon (checkout time) to try to clean rooms that are being vacated that day.

Overall, very pleasant stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay at our Staybridge Suites. I am happy that, overall, you were pleased with your stay, but I would have much prefered that you didn't have the housekeeping issues you did. I sincerely apologize for this very unnecessary inconvenience you had. I have already addressed this issue with both my Executive Housekeeper, and Maintenance Engineer to ensure this doesn't occur again. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I certainly hope you will join us again on your next visit to Memphis. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metairie.la
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

recently i stayed in the poplar ave staybridge suites in memphis, tn . it is in a nice area convenient to lots of restaurants and shopping. very clean , roomy and nicely decorated. great breakfast also! stayed in hot springs , arkansas also and on a thursday night and we had chicken fajitas. salad, chips and salsa for what they refer to as hor doerves. oh and all the beer , wine and soft drinks included . we had a really nice 2 bedroom suite we shared with another couple . it was perfect !

Room Tip: book the 2 bedroom suite to share with another couple and save some $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbsmetairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are so happy that you found Staybridge Suites and are happy with what we provide. It's always great to hear about your good stay with us, but to hear that you had as good a time at the next Staybridge is just icing on the cake. Thank you for staying with us in Memphis, and please come back to see us the next time you are in our city. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The room was more than I expected. Only one thing. Get some garbage disposal cleaners and use one after each guest leaves. It makes the room stink for a while. The disposal cleaners will take care of this small problem. The breakfast was great hot and fresh no powder eggs they were real !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staci s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your last visit to Memphis. We certainly hope it won't be your last, and we'd love to have you join us again the next time around. I appreciate the suggestion about the disposals and we will be sure to try this out. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

All I can say is EXCELLENT!!! Room was wonderful; staff was very nice; breakfast was delish. Great stay, would recommend to anyone who needs a hotel. Thank you for making our trip to Memphis comfortable with regards to accomodations. No odors, no grime - very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We're happy you and your family enjoyed your time with us. It's always great to hear that our guest's had a great time in Memphis. Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our hotel. Please come back to visit us again whenever you are in our area. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
11.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
8.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
10.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East

Property: Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Address: 1070 Ridge Lake Blvd, Memphis, TN 38120 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Memphis
#1 Business Hotel in Memphis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to East Memphis's finest all suite hotel! Our 100% smoke free Staybridge Suites takes pride in our great service and convenient location! Just a short drive from the airport, downtown Memphis, FedEx Forum, Beale Street, Graceland, University of Memphis, Rhodes College, Christian Brothers College and all Memphis attractions. We are conveniently situated off Poplar Avenue and I-240 in the heart of East Memphis business corridor. Our location provides easy access to all major highways including I-240, I-40 and I-55. Within minutes of the hotel you can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment options. Our primary goal is to make you comfortable, and we start with 114 tastefully designed suites and guestrooms. Each suite is complete with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, two telephones with two lines, pullout sofa sleeper and two televisions with cable. We offer wireless high-speed Internet access in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Start your day with our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet and relax with our Tuesday-Thursday evening Social and enjoy a complimentary beer or glass of wine. Work off the stress of a busy day in our exercise room, seasonal outdoor swimming pool or hot tub. Your pet is welcome to join you for a nominal non-refundable fee. Business and airport shuttle service are provided free of charge, daily from 7AM-10PM. All this, plus earn points or miles with Priority Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing