We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, nice, and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Hoover, Alabama
1 review
“Clean, nice, and friendly”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hotel rooms are not exactly on my list of favorite things, but Staybridge Suites in Memphis proved to be one of the cleanest, nicest, and friendliest hotels that I have ever stayed in. The room was kept just like I keep my home which allowed me to relax and enjoy my stay. I could not have asked for more friendly service from everyone who worked there from the desk clerk to the cleaning staff. Mr. Curtis Hynes made sure my family had everything they needed and provided us with a pleasant smile and friendly conversation. Next trip, I will look for the Staybridge name!
Thank you Staybridge Memphis!

Room Tip: I am not sure if all of the rooms are this way, but the bedroom and sitting room with kitchenette we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We're so glad you found Staybridge and had a pleasant experience with us. I know your desire was to be at the hotel where your group was, but, we are thrilled you chose us an alternative. I hope you'll come back to visit us whenever you're in Memphis. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    181
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
259
168
33
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My family and I got in to Memphis much earlier than expected. The front desk clerk (Darryl) was very very helpful. I was allowed to check into my room a little early. The room was great! Very well kept and clean (home clean). The bed was comfortable as well as everything else about my stay there. I highly recommend staying at this location. I know this is where I will be staying whenever I'm in Memphis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Memphis. I'm happy to hear we were able to take care of you early in the day. There are times when that just isn't possible. I appreciate the kind words you have to pass along about your stay with us. Please make sure you come see us again when you're back in the area. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a great hotel! Very clean and spacious rooms. The staff were extremely friendly. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you staying with us while you were in Memphis on business in June. It is a pleasure to have had you as our guest. Please keep us in mind whenever you are back in our area. We'd love to see you again. Thank you for giving the world your review of our hotel. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very clean and the free breakfast was nice. Enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of walking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank caps47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. There's nothing like a good soak in a hot tub after a long day of work or fun. Thank you for giving us your review of our stay, and please come back to visit us when you're back in Memphis. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The folks at the Staybridge were wonderful! Absolutely Wonderful! All staff at the desk and the driver's of the shuttle went above and beyond their call of duty to ensure myself and my cat were happy with our accomodations. They are very friendly and make sure feel right at home with top notch service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joye14216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for you review of our hotel and team. We appreciate all comments, but love to hear about guests who were completely satisfied with both our property and our team members. I will be happy to pass this review along to everyone here. We all look forward to having you back with us the next time you're in town. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I chose Staybridge Suites for the first time due to it being ranked #5 in Memphis and most of the other chain hotels being sold out for the Memorial Day weekend. This was a last-minute getaway to celebrate our anniversary. I kept waiting for "a great experience" there, but I found most things about our stay to be average.
PROS
Two nice flat screen tvs, Very clean room and bathroom, Very comfy bed and pillows, Roomy bathroom with great shower pressure, Free shuttle to places within five miles of the hotel
CONS
No frills- very basic furniture, appliances and decor, Limited selections in the free breakfast buffet (no meat at all!), Small breakfast area (get there early for a seat), Lots of the "extras" unavailable on weekends (evening reception, free popcorn in the lobby, etc.),

I confess to being a Hilton brand junkie, and this place was just not up to the same standard. My husband said it felt like a "bachelor pad"- and he was right! Great place for someone needing the conveniences of home but not so great for luxury and romance. At over $100 a night with such high TripAdvisor ratings, I expected a little bit more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TenDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
I am so sorry we weren't able to exceed your expectations during your stay. We normally have quite the opposite response to our complimentary breakfast and I don't understand why there was no meat on the buffet, but, I can assure you, I will find out and will rectify that problem. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when you are back in our area. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of your stay. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been using Staybridge hotels in various cities in the USA and been very impressed with services and suites to the stage that I became Platinum Member.
The last experience in Memphis was the worst! I don't think I will stay there again nor would I recommend this place.
The room smelled with smoking even though we were promised non-smoking room.
The bed linen looked old, my wife brought linen from outside.
On the third day, we were attacked with large cockroaches in the living room. I informed the front desk who verified similar problems, the room was sprayed afterward.
The worst part, on the last two days, the bathroom produced a terrible smell after 10PM, to the point that we had to avoid the bathroom during these hours, the staff could not fix the problem the following day

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Accidental_tourist38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBSMemphisEast, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
I am so sorry for the experience you had with us. This is quite unlike our hotel in all respects. I will certainly look into the issues you refered to and ensure that they are rectified immediately. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss the issues and what we might be able to do to make amends. Our guest's total satisfaction is our ultimate goal. I would hope you come back to try us again and please visit other Staybridge Hotels when you are traveling. Again, please accept my apologies for this most unsatisfactory stay. Best regards, Bob Cox, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
11.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
8.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
10.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East

Property: Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Address: 1070 Ridge Lake Blvd, Memphis, TN 38120 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Memphis
#1 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to East Memphis's finest all suite hotel! Our 100% smoke free Staybridge Suites takes pride in our great service and convenient location! Just a short drive from the airport, downtown Memphis, FedEx Forum, Beale Street, Graceland, University of Memphis, Rhodes College, Christian Brothers College and all Memphis attractions. We are conveniently situated off Poplar Avenue and I-240 in the heart of East Memphis business corridor. Our location provides easy access to all major highways including I-240, I-40 and I-55. Within minutes of the hotel you can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment options. Our primary goal is to make you comfortable, and we start with 114 tastefully designed suites and guestrooms. Each suite is complete with a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, two telephones with two lines, pullout sofa sleeper and two televisions with cable. We offer wireless high-speed Internet access in all guestrooms and meeting rooms. Start your day with our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet and relax with our Tuesday-Thursday evening Social and enjoy a complimentary beer or glass of wine. Work off the stress of a busy day in our exercise room, seasonal outdoor swimming pool or hot tub. Your pet is welcome to join you for a nominal non-refundable fee. Business and airport shuttle service are provided free of charge, daily from 7AM-10PM. All this, plus earn points or miles with Priority Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing