We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms but great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn at Court Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Small rooms but great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2007

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times. It has a good location, being just off the main street in downtown area and only about 10 minutes walk along a well-lit, pedestrianised street to Beale Street area. It is a nice location, as one side of the hotel is the parking lot, and the other side opens out onto the main street where the trolley cars pass, and you can sit outside and watch the world go by.

Rooms are acceptable but not that big - a bit small if you're staying for more than a night I'd think. Staff were mixed - the person who checked me in was very 'cold' and unwelcoming, but another member of staff later on was very welcoming and addressed me by name each time we passed in the hotel.

Continental breakfast was OK - bagels, toast, yoghurts, pastries and a do-it-yourself waffle maker, but the lady on breakfast service was quite grumpy and unhelpful. If the breakfast was meant to run until 9am, at 8.30am when things were starting to run out, she refused to replenish anything - even when it was obvious that there was plenty more. I felt sorry for the people who came down after me as they would have gone hungry!!

Overall, 8/10. At least it was clean!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brian_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    373
    99
    15
    11
See reviews for
99
418
44
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2007

As described in other reviews this hotel is a good value in Memphis and in a good location. The first night we arrived from the airport around 11pm and got the last available room. I had made a reservation for a room with a queen bed, and assumed that I had a guaranteed reservation since the reservation included a credit card number but not so, this room had 2 double beds. It faced east, toward the park and was very quiet. The next night we moved to a room with a queen bed, that room faced west, toward the parking lot. After a couple nights there I regretted moving from the first room. The hotel was full for the weekend, which meant the lot was full and noisy with cars going in and out. Plus the river and the freeway was on that side and even though the river was 3-4 blocks and the freeway even farther the river channel seemed to enhance the traffic noise. it was a couple It would have been nice to sleep with the window open since the evening was pleasant but between the parking lot and the freeway noise it was too much. And with the window closed the room was stuffy, so the room a/c had to be on, and that too was noisy. It was a no win either way. Plus the parking lot has some very bright lights on all night, and the drapes had to be FULLY drawn to prevent any of the light from getting in, like a spotlight.

Moral of the story, get a room on the east side if noise bothers you.

Otherwise the hotel was fine, the breakfast above average for the enhanced continental breakfast bar. Would have been nice if they'd had yogurt but other then that the selection was good.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

I stayed at the Sleep Inn Court Square for 5 nights with my boyfriend. We are both in our mid 20's. The hotel was very clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was perfect as Beale street was only a 5minute walk straight down main street or you can even catch the trolley for $1. The mississippi river is infront of the hotel which was lovely to watch the sunset. Walking around in the day was no problem but after dark we preferred to jump on the trolley just to be on the safe side. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Memphis.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

As most have said, the location of this hotel was very convenient. Main Street (behind hotel) was very pleasant to walk along and we even enjoyed riding the trolley that went downtown and along the river. The room rate ($104) was much more reasonable than the surrounding hotels as most of them were two to three times more expensive. While the other hotels may have been more plush, I have to say that the Sleep Inn was very clean and had everything we needed for our two night stay. Our room was very quiet and the staff was quite helpful. They assisted us on several occasions with picking restaurants and finding local attractions. While the hotel accommodations are fairly basic, I can recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Meekos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

Booked through Choice Hotels website after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. This hotel is okay if you just want somewhere to sleep. The rooms are clean and the self service breakfast is alright. The staff however did not once say hello or goodbye to us during our three day staff or offer any advice or travelling tips. Its about a 15 minute walk to Beale Street and whilst it proved to be a very safe walk on first impressions at night I was worried as people do tend to 'hang about' in Court Square. But nobody bothered us and all in all if you book in here I am sure you will be reasonably happy if you don't expext anything in the way of customer service. But if you can stay in the Doubletree or Holiday Inn I think they looked nicer and we went into the front reception of both these hotels and staff seemed lovely. These hotels will be close to Beale Street and Peabody Place.

  • Liked — the free breakfast
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easygoinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

This hotel is for staying in to sleep and that's all. Even doing that is rough as the beds are the hardest we've ever slept in. The TV is about 17" and crap. There is no refrigerator or microwave. The bathroom is European style, which means that if the door is half open then there is no place to stand. The sink is in the hotel room itself, separate from the bathroom. On the plus side, the room is clean and the staff courteous. There is free breakfast, free popcorn, and free malt coffee on the first floor.

The absolute redeeming quality about this restaurant is the location. Right outside is the Main St. Trolley (which can wake you up constantly if you're on that side of the hotel. I bought earplugs and wasn't bothered anymore.) You can catch the trolley to the pyramid arena, or to Beale st. The entertainment district is only a block away though, so there's really no need. A block from the hotel are several restaurants, a cappuccino shop, and the Peanut Shop that was featured on the Food Network's Food Finds. If you go there, get the caramel popcorn.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Hard Beds, Crappy TV, Loud Trolley
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mortal888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

We got a very good price on a busy baseball weekend. There's nothing particularly special about the hotel, except that it's a great location downtown. Close enough to walk to all the major places (or catch the trolley outside the hotel), but not completely in the middle of the action - which is good. Parking IS limited, and we could see how the lack of parking could be an issue for pepole driving back in the evening. We were able to time our return to the hotel while others were still out exploring town, so really didn't have a problem. Aside from the location, everything about the hotel is... OK. Nothing terribly special, but nothing to complain about, either. The continental breakfast buffet had a variety of items each day - but it was the same variety each day, too. The room was clean, but very basic and fairly small. The staff was generally very nice. No raves, but no complaints, either.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Average-ness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRSLAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Property: Sleep Inn at Court Square
Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing