We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful staff but clean room - ok for a base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Ranked #12 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
London England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreadful staff but clean room - ok for a base”
Reviewed April 12, 2007

Booked through Choice Hotels website after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. This hotel is okay if you just want somewhere to sleep. The rooms are clean and the self service breakfast is alright. The staff however did not once say hello or goodbye to us during our three day staff or offer any advice or travelling tips. Its about a 15 minute walk to Beale Street and whilst it proved to be a very safe walk on first impressions at night I was worried as people do tend to 'hang about' in Court Square. But nobody bothered us and all in all if you book in here I am sure you will be reasonably happy if you don't expext anything in the way of customer service. But if you can stay in the Doubletree or Holiday Inn I think they looked nicer and we went into the front reception of both these hotels and staff seemed lovely. These hotels will be close to Beale Street and Peabody Place.

  • Liked — the free breakfast
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easygoinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    394
    110
    17
    11
See reviews for
102
451
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

This hotel is for staying in to sleep and that's all. Even doing that is rough as the beds are the hardest we've ever slept in. The TV is about 17" and crap. There is no refrigerator or microwave. The bathroom is European style, which means that if the door is half open then there is no place to stand. The sink is in the hotel room itself, separate from the bathroom. On the plus side, the room is clean and the staff courteous. There is free breakfast, free popcorn, and free malt coffee on the first floor.

The absolute redeeming quality about this restaurant is the location. Right outside is the Main St. Trolley (which can wake you up constantly if you're on that side of the hotel. I bought earplugs and wasn't bothered anymore.) You can catch the trolley to the pyramid arena, or to Beale st. The entertainment district is only a block away though, so there's really no need. A block from the hotel are several restaurants, a cappuccino shop, and the Peanut Shop that was featured on the Food Network's Food Finds. If you go there, get the caramel popcorn.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Hard Beds, Crappy TV, Loud Trolley
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mortal888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We got a very good price on a busy baseball weekend. There's nothing particularly special about the hotel, except that it's a great location downtown. Close enough to walk to all the major places (or catch the trolley outside the hotel), but not completely in the middle of the action - which is good. Parking IS limited, and we could see how the lack of parking could be an issue for pepole driving back in the evening. We were able to time our return to the hotel while others were still out exploring town, so really didn't have a problem. Aside from the location, everything about the hotel is... OK. Nothing terribly special, but nothing to complain about, either. The continental breakfast buffet had a variety of items each day - but it was the same variety each day, too. The room was clean, but very basic and fairly small. The staff was generally very nice. No raves, but no complaints, either.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Average-ness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRSLAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We chose the Sleep Inn at Court Square because of it's reasonable price (for the area) and great location.

The hotel was really nice from the outside. It has a big parking lot and it's a nice building. The parking lot has security 24/7. Check in was easy. Our room would have been nice, but it was placed beside a housekeeping closet down a wing on the first floor. It was the only guestroom in that hallway. It was loud towards morning because we were really close to the breakfast area.

The room was moderately sized. The bed was big with clean sheets. The room overall was very clean. The shower stall was small but acceptable. Our room had a big window that opened to the street- we had to keep the curtains closed because of that. There is also a trolley that rolled by fairly often. That was cute during the day, but not at night. We also had a lot of pillows on the bed which was nice as well.

The location was great. We were just a few blocks from Beale Street and Union Avenue. It was a nice walk and the weather was great. Also, the trolley rolls right on by so if you want a ride- it's easy to find one. I think it's only a dollar or two to ride it. The staff was good about giving directions to local attractions. the breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was good enough. I've certainly had much worse. There was a large mix of people staying at the hotel from children to college students to elderly people. Overall it was a decent hotel at a good price.

  • Liked — Location of hotel
  • Disliked — Location of Room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank r0adtripgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Stayed there 03/12/07-03/14/07. We had a room with 1 Queen for $83 (+$5 to park the car). The staff at the check-in desk was very friendly. The room was rather small and the Queen bed looked more like a full bed. The hotel is very clean, quiet and right on the pedestrian mall (Main St.), along which a trolley runs every few minutes. So it was great - we'd take a trolley from the Beale St., ride straight up to the hotel door and use our room key to let ourselves into the hotel lobby. You don't need a car to explore the downtown.

The complimentary breakfast was OK. But the hotel had only one waffle maker and limited seating, so at peak times (8:30-9:00 am) there was a long line of people getting impatient, watching a mom making two waffles for each of her 4 children and for herself. It takes a LONG time to make 10 waffles, so I gave up.

The hotel is popular with foreign groups, and the group we encountered during our second day caused unnecessary commotion, and was somewhat oblivious to the fact that people in our country don't cut into a breakfast line, don't run around and usually do not spill drinks on the floor.

But we'll stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank leave_no_trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

The title of my review says it all. The only things I would add to it would be that the Internet access is a bit unreliable. I had a room that faced the parking lot, and I would guess that the rooms facing main street would be sort-of loud until the trolley stopped running at 1am. I was happy with the friendly and relaxed atmosphere and service, and the clean and comfortable no-frills room.

  • Liked — Cleanliness. Comfortable. affordable. Good location.
  • Disliked — perfumed sprays they use in rooms. Limited breakfast selections.
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We stayed here two nights--the location is fantastic and the hotel itself was a great place to stay. We used the adjacent trolley line to get back from Beale Street, and many other places were in easy walking distance. My only quibble would be the parking--there were no spaces left when we arrived at 4 p.m., so we had to park in the Comfort Inn parking garage. With either parking lot, you have to pay $5 per night--it seems a little petty to make people pay for parking when you are charging an inflated price for a downtown location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Tips/Secrets — the inn is set back from the street, so turn onto West Court off of Front St. to get to the entrance
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank lindaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#3 of 136 in Memphis
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
1,907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Property: Sleep Inn at Court Square
Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing