We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Ranked #11 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We arrived in the evening, checked in quickly and went straight to Beale Street. We came back to sleep late at night an left early the next morning after a quick breakfast. All in all, we did not experience much of the hotel, however, the staff was extremely friendly, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The price/service ratio is very convincing, I would certainly come back to that hotel if I come back to Memphis.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn at Court Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 879 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

The good: trolley stop right outside that can take you all over downtown pretty quickly and inexpensively. Definitely take advantage of the $0.50 lunchtime fare. Hotel staff were decently nice and helpful.

The bad: room was small, bathroom contains the mirror and sink and is also very small, valet staff were rude and aloof. $12 a day to park is ludicrous. Parking lot was very full on the weekend but emptied out by late Sunday. Fitness center looked pathetic. Continental breakfast was pretty bad and barely edible. I ended up going to Kroger to get other groceries for breakfast.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank LizOmaha_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Great proxemity to all the happenings of the city. Five blocks to Beale Street.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murfun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Placed in the middle of hotels of $150 and above this is great....Main Steet Trolley runs outside the door...great places to eat and see...Beale street within walking distance. No frills but a nice place to sleep and clean up.....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoOnTheGoLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

I'll just tell you the pros and cons of this hotel

Pro:
-Being right on the trolley line
-The park behind the hotel
-Great location for walking
-Nice tv's

Cons:
-No valet when you pull up
-Rude guest services
-Security guy sitting and watching a sports game rather than walking the parking lot
-Coffee that is days old and when its fresh still taste AWFUL!
-Horrible "upgraded" continental breakfast, old pastries, old fruit, and well regular continental breakfast items
-No toiletries left in our room had to call for them
-No tissues and half of a roll of toilet paper
-No book in our room that talks about the hotel, so we didnt know check-out times, WIFI access codes, restaurants that deliver, maps of the city, trolley information, these are things that most hotels leave in their rooms for guest, MOST people are visitors and dont know this information.
-Ask for info and was rudely answered and then she walked away.
-Staff standing outside our door at 8 in the morning laughing, talking and carrying on as if no one was staying here, I was awake but my 2 and 3 year olds were not.
-Vanity is right in the room no door or privacy so no getting dressed while my kids are sleeping
-Sharing the supposed Kitchennette with the bathroom as the bathroom vanity, so if you have snacks or anything else there is no room for your bathroom items
-Shower only no tub which should be mentioned since a 2 and 3 year old do not take showers
-No pool
-windows open easily, no bars, no protection some one could fall right out, kind of dangerous I think
-My kids pull out couch bed had a blanket that was probably 10 years old with cigerette burns in it
-No dining table, Suites ALWAYS have some kind of dining table where do you eat?
-The fridge is a joke its the smallest you can get and barely holds anything
-the fridge is in one room and the microwave and coffee maker in another???
-no lighting in the livingroom section just to VERY dim lamps
-Construction going on next to the hotel front and back (not the hotels fault but should be mentioned)
-bums hanging out on the patio of the hotel gambling at night, had the security guard been doing his job this may not have been happening
-no movie channels
-SLOW elevators
-SLOW WIFI, might as well have been dial-up
-Back doors to the trolley line, but the keycard slot to open the doors to re-enter was broke so you had to walk all the way around to get back in
-$12 a day to park or valet and they have their own parking lot right in front not a shared garage where there is NO reason to charge for parking.

And its not like the hotel was dirt cheap or something we paid $166 a night with AAA. I would most definitely have paid extra and stayed somewhere else or you might as well just stay at a motel where these things are expected. If you are here for 1 night and just need a place to crash I might stay here but if you are on vacation and want to enjoy your trip stay somewhere else or you'll be kicking yourself the whole time.

I also wanted to include somethings about Downtown Memphis that might help others that we learned while we where here
-The blue plate (diagonal from the hotel, walk thru the park it's the building on your right, hard to see the sign hidden by the trees) it is very good only open till 2 servings awesome breafast, to die for waffles and pancakes no syrup neccessary, great coffee. These things will not be found at the hotel breakfast
-Westy's Delivers till 1:30am (www.eatatwestys.com) if you want that, they have a little of everything, kind of slow took about 45 minutes, but good. We had hamburgers and they were good homecooking they forgot the lettuce and tomato but still good the fries are delicious! Only about $24 for 2 hamburgers, fries, milkshakes, and fried biscuits (round dough fried with powdered suger) not to bad for delivery
-The trolley stops are directly outside the back doors, 1 going North 1 going South, $1 per adult free for children 3 and under. Ask the driver where anything is and they are sure to help
-Carriage rides where nice, $40 for 30 minutes my daughter was glowing for days (she's 3 and thinks she is cinderella)
-Beale street was really neat, some mentioned the bums but they didnt bother us at all, everyone was really friendly. There were bums but no different than any downtown I've been to. I wouldnt suggest as a women going out a night alone it does seem a little sketchy but with another person I wouldnt be to worried
-The trolley runs till 11:30pm for those who need to know
-Go to Mud Island it is really neat! The museum was really cool and the tram was too. $8 for adults for the museum, tram and island (Island is free if you walk the bridge across that is above the tram, it's a long walk) kids 3 and under are free. The tram ride is only $4 per person including kids
-Hard Rock was neat, the food is so-so. Ribs dry and chicken dry, chicken wings with sauce on the side where good, onion rings where good. Very child friendly, great music, fast and nice service.
-The city was beautiful. I would have chose a hotel closer to Beale had I known or at least better than what I did choose.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The Sleep Inn was a good place to stay with relatively cheap suites and fairly close to Beale Street - although not as close as others said. We have a small child and usually look for suites so we can watch television while she sleeps. The suites were cheaper than other hotels that were closer to Beale St. It less than five minutes off of the I-40 and was only 10-15 minutes to Graceland, Memphis Zoo, etc. Overall, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryanfanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

After a week backpacking this place seemed like luxury. 2 comfy double beds - luxury furnishings everywhere. Big tvs etc. Clean etc. Right in the centre of town. Big hotel feel etc.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 138 in Memphis
1,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $118 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing