We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - Friendly staff - nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn at Court Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location - Friendly staff - nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I recently had a 9 day stay here.

Pros:

Great location
Reasonable rate vs other downtown Memphis hotels
Friendly staff
Breakfast served every morning - It was always the same thing, but it was fine. Most of the other hotels in the area do not include breakfast in the rate at all.
Convient parking - $12/day fee.
Rooms are average - Clean, comfortable and quiet.

Cons - the parking lot was being worked on, but they had valet. It was a slight inconvenience.
No other cons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, I have shared your comments with the staff, who appreciate hearing the pros and cons to improve each guest's experiance. We are looking into providing other options to offer on a rotation for breakfast for those who stay multiple days. We look forward to having you stay with us again, should your travels bring you to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    373
    99
    15
    11
See reviews for
99
418
44
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent Hotel, southern hospitality at its best !!!.
good location, excellent friendly, attentive & polite staff, no doubts the best choice downtown Memphis, main attractions just few blocks away, trolley stations just across the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We appreciate your time to post your kind words about your recent stay with us! I have shared your comments with our staff, who are delighted to hear your feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthWest Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent a couple days in downtown Memphis with my wife on vacation. Choose the Sleep Inn for it's price and location. We were not disappointed! It's a short walk to Beal Street, or take the trolley for a very nominal fee. I think it was a dollar. Far enough off Beal that the location is quiet too! Staff here was outstanding, very friendly and able to field our tourist questions. Only draw back was the rooms are small and rather cramped. The breakfast was good, could use more seating for the size of hotel. We would definitely, and are planning to stay here again. Loved the area, had a great time, didn't get to do everything we wanted to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue Wing 64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Small but cozy. Had everything we needed. Easy peasy to get around with the trolley right out the back door.Parking is plenty out front of the hotel. Breakfast was great and plentiful. Coffee available anytime and we appreciated the convience as we were in and out throughout the day.Service was excellent - no question about that. We would definitely stay here again. You get bang for your buck staying at the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDBacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Best thing about the hotel is the location. Only a few minutes walk from Beale Street and with a trolley stop directly outside. Parking cost extra, but if you consider that part of the room cost it's still good value. Had a minor issue at check in where e room cards were not programmed correctly and had to be redone (something which had to be redone a couple of days into my stay for some reason) but it was not a big deal and staff were friendly and polite. Room was a quite small with a very small toilet and shower, but for our purposes was more than good enough. Breakfast was very busy with limited selection, which was to be expected. Not a big selling point for me but if you expect a lot you will be disappointed. If you want good value which is well located its well worth a stop here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elparaiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We appreciate your recommendation and observations. We have been looking at ways to ease the congestion at breakfast, including the opening of our meeting room when it is not in use, for addtional seating. As for bathtubs, we do have them available in a few of our two room suites. We hope to see you on your next visit to Memphis,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I would strongly recommend this hotel. It is fairly new, and rooms and ambiance are beyond what we expected for the price. Twenty minutes walk from Beale Street, or the Tramway runs right outside.
Breakfast area can be congested.
Shower, not tub in our room.

Charming lady on reception.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB500F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years and have never been disappointed. Jeffrey, the parking attendant was particularly friendly and informative. I told him I would put a kind word on here for him! The $12 parking fee was new to us and only ads to the price of the room. Not a good idea. We may have to find something more economical next time unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kymom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, and acknowledging Jeffery! He has been a great addition to our team. The parking fee of $12 has been in place for several years, perhaps an oversight at the front desk for not collecting it on your previous visits. As with most downtown hotels, not only in Memphis, but elsewhere, there is a parking charge per night, with ours being one of the better values in downtown Memphis. We do hope to have you stay with us on your future trips to Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Property: Sleep Inn at Court Square
Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing