We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel, good rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Ranked #12 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel, good rates”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is in a good location with a close proximity to downtown Beale Street. It has a trolley stop right outside the back door and for $1 it takes you to Beale Street or you can walk the 5 blocks there. The only downside was the beds were doubles not queens. It had a better room rate than other hotels in the area. The breakfast was adequate and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a train outside so it is a little noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTechMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    394
    110
    17
    11
See reviews for
102
450
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location of this hotel made for a very relaxing trip. We could take the trolley to just about any attraction, stop back in the hotel, then head back out. Breakfast was great. Afternoon snacks were a hit with my daughter. Beds were comfy.
Only suggestion would be bigger/better pillows. They have tiny square pillows instead of standard rectangles. Not sure why.
Also, we were on the 2nd floor next to the ice machine and across from the gym. If I wasn't an early riser, I think I would have been annoyed by the constant noise.
Very close to the riverfront, so it was nice to take a morning walk there.
Close to Walgreens for essentials, etc.
Room was tiny, but big enough. Very good access to outlets, etc. needed to charge electronics.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst doing touristy things in and around Memphis. A clean, tidy, modern hotel which ticks all the basic boxes of cleanliness and service. Wifi was free and solid.

The front desk very helpful with our slightly confused and British requests!

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator and it was not an issue at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpaulw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Have enjoyed the hotel when I roll through Memphis. WiFi has been really spotty for me every time I stay here. If there is any consistency, it's that the wifi could be a lot better. I travel through Memphis a few times a year and its important that the hotels I stay at have solid and dependable wifi. The rooms have been nice and clean when I stay here. The price is fairly good. Not to far from Beale st..

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I come to Memphis a lot in a year and this is my favorite place to stay! Always clean and extremely comfortable beds. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Location is perfect, we like to walk around rather than drive.

I always look forward to staying here and my next Memphis trip!! Ok can't wait!! Soon!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoneandonlyOmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in march 2013. Had a great time. Great staff, room , and location. Walking distance to all important areas including Beale St. If you choose not to walk there is a trolley right out the back door. 1 dollar per person anywhere. Oh yeah, really clean and a nice complimentary breakfast. Will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,359 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a well situated hotel. Being in the centre of town, you can walk almost anywhere from here.

Right out the back door are the vintage trolleys (trams/streetcars) that transport you around Memphis in style, taking you to most of the major attractions in town.

The rooms are well-decorated and above what I would expect from a mid-range hotel.

The bed is comfortable, the shower is good: these two things are make or break for me!

There's a good desk and chair, however, it's right underneath the TV, so if you work and watch like I do, it can give you a crick in the neck ;)

The best bit is what's concealed inside the wardrobe: fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron & board and safe. A very efficient use of space.

Breakfast in the morning is above average with hot food and the usual suspects.

There is parking out front, but it costs $12/night. It's pretty hard to get a park otherwise, so factor that in if you are driving.

Shannon at morning reception was an absolute delight and Michael, a reassuring presence at night.

I stayed here twice in one week and was very happy to do so.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had end of hallway rooms (I stayed twice) and I recommend them for being quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind words expressed in your review about the Sleep Inn at Court Square, and especially about Shannon and Michael! We share all comments with our staff, who look forward to seeing what our guests are saying about their stay. We hope you have safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Property: Sleep Inn at Court Square
Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing