We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveler rating
370
429
130
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
429
130
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrolley linebeale stpocket doormain streetwithin walking distancefront streetmud islandcivil rights museumqueen bedfew blockswafflesrooms are smallmississippi riverwould definitely stay here againparking feewaffle maker
Filter
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 961 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sleep Inn was a cute place to stay but I would consider it just average. Parking can be difficult as the parking lot is too small to accommodate the number of guests between the number of hotels located within the court. The breakfast was average. I was disappointed that they were out of coffee but it did get refilled. As with other Sleep Inn's that we have stayed at, I have found that they only have one individual stocking/cooking/cleaning and there are so many guests to serve, they cannot keep up. The room itself was very small but it was very functional. It was only my husband and I staying so we fit just fine and we spent very little time in the hotel anyway. The location is within walking distance to Beale Street but we are used to walking. It is about 6 blocks so if you are not accustomed to walking, it could be a chore. But the lower cost than hotels closer to Beale Street was worth the walk.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Suzanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the Sleep Inn at Court Square!
I am sorry you found the parking difficult, as we do offer Valet parking to all of our guests at the same rate for the self parking, and do offer alternative off site parking at the Shopper's Garage, kitty cornor from the hotel on Front and Jefferson street. Even if you initially self park, our valet parking is happy to park your car for you if you are unable to find a space. I appreciate you observation on the breakfast flow and have been working on modifying schedules to best accommodate our guests. For those not used to walking, Memphis has a great Trolley system to take you to Beale Street, with the pick up being at the Springhill Suites next door to us, and dropping you off on your return in front of the Sleep Inn. Trolley fare is $1 per person per trip and you can purchase passes from the trolley driver. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sleep Inn the next time you are in Memphis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our second visit to the Sleep Inn at Court Square and it was as good as we remembered.
Our flight connection was delayed and we didn't get there till after midnight but it was no problem and we were quickly in a small but well appointed room that was very clean, nice and quiet. It was above the trolley line, but they stop at 11 and you're on holiday for goodness sake and should be out till then!
Ten minutes stroll to Beale and all it offers, or take the dollar a trip trolley which is a bargain, just outside the back door. The hotel also looks over the pretty Court Square park, which is very nice and has loads of friendly squirrels. It is also a permitted panhandling area, but only between certain times and is very well policed.
The hotel offers a good complimentary breakfast, with cereal, juices, toast, bagels, waffles, preserves, pastries, tea and coffee. It sets you up fine for the day and is another factor in choosing this place.
Staff could not be more helpful and I would heartily recommend the hotel. One good tip if phoning home - buy a 10 dollar card from the Walgreens 2 minutes away and use it from your hotel room. Our calls to the UK in our stay then cost nothing more and it was a very worthwhile purchase!

Room Tip: They are all good. Some overlook the park, some the river. Higher up is probably better though!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derbysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

As mentioned, the hotel is centrally located. Within walking distance, you can see the river. Also, there are nearby restaurants and attractions. Please beware that it can get a little noisy. There are smaller rooms with wonderful showers. Nonetheless, it is one of the best Sleep Inns that I have stayed in. Really, the location and front desk staff are very special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwayusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good rate we got with our AARP discount, parking space, and its proximity to Beale Street. The hotel is attractive on the outside and has a nice lobby area. We were assigned a room on the ground floor. The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom clean. The breakfast was the standard but good value. The staff were very friendly and always prepared to help us where needed, e.g. we received discount coupons to the B.B. King Club.
A perfect stay, centrally located – we walked to all sites – the Artists' market was 15 minutes away from the hotel, and the trolley stop is right in front of the hotel.
The only minus was that our room was close to the breakfast area and the windows look out on the park and the trolley. Next time I will ask for room at a higher level.
Overall, definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5,000,000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at the Sleep Inn at Court Square last month on our first trip to Memphis. Right away when I arrived at the front desk, the hospitality was apparent. She couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. Our room on the first floor was clean and quiet, which was all I could ask for. The complimentary breakfast looked great, though all we had each morning was coffee, cause there were a few other great breakfast joints in Memphis we had to try each day. The location is perfect, right across the street from a park, and the trolley is right out the back door. It's about a 5 block walk to Beale street from here. Would definitely stay here again when we go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WisTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews