We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value at Downtown Memphis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Ranked #12 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value at Downtown Memphis”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good rate we got with our AARP discount, parking space, and its proximity to Beale Street. The hotel is attractive on the outside and has a nice lobby area. We were assigned a room on the ground floor. The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom clean. The breakfast was the standard but good value. The staff were very friendly and always prepared to help us where needed, e.g. we received discount coupons to the B.B. King Club.
A perfect stay, centrally located – we walked to all sites – the Artists' market was 15 minutes away from the hotel, and the trolley stop is right in front of the hotel.
The only minus was that our room was close to the breakfast area and the windows look out on the park and the trolley. Next time I will ask for room at a higher level.
Overall, definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    394
    110
    17
    11
See reviews for
102
451
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just spent 3 nights at the Sleep Inn at Court Square last month on our first trip to Memphis. Right away when I arrived at the front desk, the hospitality was apparent. She couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. Our room on the first floor was clean and quiet, which was all I could ask for. The complimentary breakfast looked great, though all we had each morning was coffee, cause there were a few other great breakfast joints in Memphis we had to try each day. The location is perfect, right across the street from a park, and the trolley is right out the back door. It's about a 5 block walk to Beale street from here. Would definitely stay here again when we go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WisTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights. The location was perfect for seeing downtown Memphis. There is a trolley stop at the door. From there, a $1 trolley ride gets you all over the downtown area. Room was not especially spacious, but that's expected in the downtown area. Ample parking at front door in the hotel lot, but be aware that it is $12 per day above the room rate. Breakfast area was smallish and very crowded each morning. The WiFi was flaky during our visit. It sometimes dropped the signal and sometimes took so long to load a page that it was unusable. We just had to be patient and try later. We had initially reserved the room for three nights but decided to leave a day early. They very willingly allowed us to drop the third night which was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Hotel has vending and ice machines on the even numbered floors only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good rate we got with our AARP discount, which made it the most economical hotel for us close to Beale Street. The hotel is very attractive on the outside and has a nice lobby area. There was a bit of confusion at check in when we were assigned a handicapped room, and we had not reserved a handicapped room. We asked to be reassigned to another room so that someone who needed the handicapped room could have it. We were given to a room on the fifth floor. One window looked out onto a little area where some people were selling items, and the other window looked out onto the trolley line...wonderful views from both windows; we enjoyed looking out the window at the trolley going by. We could hear it, but it quits running around 11 or so and it didn't bother us a bit. The room was very nice and comfortable, furnshings appeared to be new. There was no bathtub, just a shower, but that was fine. Breakfast (included) the next morning was good enough to get us going for the rest of our journey. Wonderful location, charming hotel - we will definitely stay there again. Oh, and if you are in Memphis on a Wednesday night during the summer months, be sure to see 'bike night' on Beale Street!

Room Tip: Request a corner room overlooking the trolley line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The tram was right outside the front door of the hotel so was ideal to visit around town.
Also was great location to walk to Beale Street and surrounds.
Room was good size and nicely decorated.
Enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MacpacSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We rented rooms at this hotel for a birthday celebration for my mom. A few days before we were scheduled to arrive, I contacted the hotel to see if there was a way we could have balloons put in her room as a suprise. They didn't have anyone that could specifically perform the task, but Ima was so helpful in pointing us in the right direction. She sent us to a store close by to pick up balloons and coordinated them being put in my mom's room before she arrived. She and Brandon were both wonderful. Everyone at the hotel seemed to enjoy what they do. All were happy, polite and very pleasant to be around. The breakfast was very good, the rooms were nice, and the location was perfect. There is a trolley stop right outside the hotel. And downtown is only a few blocks away. I will stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunkist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Having never been to Memphis I was a little weary of booking something in advance only to find we'd be staying in a "rough" neighborhood but we were pleasantly surprised and extremely pleased with the condition and location of this hotel, especially for the price! It was an enjoyable walk to Beale St. with little shops along the Courtyard Square or if you'd rather you could take the trolley - the route ran right behind the hotel. Mudd Island (museum) and the riverfront which was clean and park-like with walking paths was just a few blocks away in the other direction. Yet it was far enough away from the nightlife that you were truly able to relax once you decided to call it a night.

The ONLY hiccup we had was that we arrived around noon and were told check-in was at 3 pm so we walked down to Beale St. and returned around 4:30 pm only to find they still did not have a room ready BUT the manager got on a 2 way radio with the maid service immediately, apologized profusely and stated if he had to he would go clean the room himself in order to get us a room within 15 minutes....5 minutes later our room was ready. :-)

My personal favorite part about the stay was in the morning, we enjoyed coffee and breakfast outside on the tree-shaded cobblestone patio that ran along Courtyard Square. What a nice, calm, relaxing way to start the day!!

We've already decided if we ever return to Memphis this is where we intend to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#3 of 136 in Memphis
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 136 in Memphis
1,907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Property: Sleep Inn at Court Square
Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing