We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveler rating
370
430
130
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
430
130
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtrolley linebeale stpocket doormain streetwithin walking distancefront streetmud islandcivil rights museumqueen bedfew blockswafflesrooms are smallmississippi riverwould definitely stay here againparking feewaffle maker
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 962 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Having never been to Memphis I was a little weary of booking something in advance only to find we'd be staying in a "rough" neighborhood but we were pleasantly surprised and extremely pleased with the condition and location of this hotel, especially for the price! It was an enjoyable walk to Beale St. with little shops along the Courtyard Square or if you'd rather you could take the trolley - the route ran right behind the hotel. Mudd Island (museum) and the riverfront which was clean and park-like with walking paths was just a few blocks away in the other direction. Yet it was far enough away from the nightlife that you were truly able to relax once you decided to call it a night.

The ONLY hiccup we had was that we arrived around noon and were told check-in was at 3 pm so we walked down to Beale St. and returned around 4:30 pm only to find they still did not have a room ready BUT the manager got on a 2 way radio with the maid service immediately, apologized profusely and stated if he had to he would go clean the room himself in order to get us a room within 15 minutes....5 minutes later our room was ready. :-)

My personal favorite part about the stay was in the morning, we enjoyed coffee and breakfast outside on the tree-shaded cobblestone patio that ran along Courtyard Square. What a nice, calm, relaxing way to start the day!!

We've already decided if we ever return to Memphis this is where we intend to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I arrived into Memphis at 6am on the train from Chicago. I found the hotel easily and asked if, having booked, there was any chance of an early check in - unfortunately there wasn't but the helpful desk manager let me leave my luggage behind the desk and said that although check in was not officially until 3pm, I should be able to check in about 1pm. It was disappointing to then arrive at that time tired and a little smelly (!) to be turned away again by the different desk manager.

Other than this, the stay was excellent - room was lovely and comfortable and very clean. Bathroom was good with a fantastic shower. It was well insulated from the noise of the street and was nice and cool on a hot day.

Location was good - very close to attractions and right on the trolley bus route. Breakfast was self serve but plentiful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Never having been to Memphis, we weren't too sure where to stay, but had read reviews on Trip Advisor, and decided to try it. Of course, there are good/bad "sides of town" everywhere, but when we got to our hotel and it was between two Marriott hotels - I figured we had made a good choice. We arrived before our check-in time, but the clerk, Vanessa, was very helpful. She gave us direcitons to the Rendevous (where we wanted to eat lunch) and said by the time we returned our room would be ready. When we returned, she remembered who we were and when we got to our room - we had been upgraded to a suite! What a nice surpise. The breakfast buffet was good - nothing elaborate, but they did have a machine where you could make your own waffles. We did find out if you want bread, english muffin, etc. for toast, you have to ask the hostess - for some reason they keep it behind the counter. All the employess we dealt with were very nice and helpful. The trolley ran behind the hotel - which was very convenient, however, we walked everywhere we went.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicB423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very nice hotel right on trolly car route. Had corner room on top floor with view of park and trolly line. Very convenient walking to restaurants and Beale Street. Had king bed, vanity and sink outside of bathroom with shower only. Also had microwave and fridge. Only problem was spotty wireless internet especially during afternoon early evening. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor facing trolly car line for great views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cajun_girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I have all good things to say except one...ill save it for last because it wasnt a huge deal. The staff was so nice and very well mannered. They decor was really cool and i was inpressed with the breakfast area. Everything was clean and beautiful. We had no troble checking in or out. We asked for directions twice and both times were detailed and sucessful. I work in a hotel and am very critical..i was very impressed. However...for some reason they put us in a handicapped room..which would have been fine except it was right next to the breakfast are. So it was very loud in the morning which was unpleasant. That room was also really small. I would suggest getting your room on the second floor..away from noise. With that being said..they hotel was so great that it covered up the noisey morning :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quackkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews